Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2019, 10:12 AM   #1
andreasmaaan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
Default Reaper as active crossover for stereo / quadrophonic

Hi all and thanks for having me on the forum

I'm planning on using Reaper + an 8-channel soundcard to set up an active speaker system with 2 x 3-way mains + 2 x full-range surrounds (so a four-channel system in total).

95% of the time I will be using only the mains for listening to music. The path will (I hope) be:

stereo input (Spotify, Foobar, etc.)
--> Reaper
--> volume control
--> dynamic EQ (for equal loudness curve compensation)
--> crossover (linear-phase FIR-based)
--> min-phase EQ (driver response correction)
--> DAC outputs
--> amps
--> speaker drivers

I understand using Reaper to create crossovers for the mains is pretty straightforward. Is that correct? And will it be no problem to route all audio (system-wide) through Reaper?

Then secondly, I would also like to be able to use the system occasionally to play multichannel content (mostly movies) through my browser, VLC Media Player, etc.

This would look something like:

5.1 or 7.1 input
--> Reaper
--> volume control
--> dynamic EQ (for equal loudness curve compensation)
--> mixdown to 4 channels: FR & FL, RL & RR

Then for the FR and FL:
--> crossover (linear-phase FIR-based)
--> min-phase EQ (driver response correction)
--> DAC outputs (6 channels total)
--> amps
--> speaker drivers

And for RL and RR:
--> high-pass-filter (linear-phase FIR-based)
--> min-phase EQ (driver response correction)
--> DAC outputs (2 channels total)
--> amps
--> speaker drivers

Firstly, is this feasible?

I can imagine there might be difficulties in (a) mixing down 5.1/7.1 channel surround to 4 channels and (b) switching between 2-channel and 4-channel mode depending on the source and (c) dealing with different sample rates. Am I right to imagine this would be difficult?

Secondly, would it be possible to add an IR remote into the chain so that volume control can be implemented in Reaper prior to dynamic EQ/downmixing/crossover?

Thirdly, could this be configured system-wide, i.e. so that all audio being played from all software goes through this configuration?

Finally, could this work in either ASIO or Wasapi, i.e. could I avoid the Windows audio mixer.

I know that's not asking much Many thanks for any ideas.

Andreas
andreasmaaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 10:30 AM   #2
DVDdoug
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,883
Default

I can't really answer your questions but...


Quote:
I understand using Reaper to create crossovers for the mains is pretty straightforward. Is that correct?
It seems extremely dangerous to use a "regular computer"!


If something goes wrong and you accidently send full-range sound or the low frequency band to the tweeter amp, that's the end of your tweeters!


Some people are using the MiniDSP, but that may not be any more economical than traditional active crossovers and, it's still a little more "dangerous".
DVDdoug is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 12:14 PM   #3
andreasmaaan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDdoug View Post
I can't really answer your questions but...


It seems extremely dangerous to use a "regular computer"!


If something goes wrong and you accidently send full-range sound or the low frequency band to the tweeter amp, that's the end of your tweeters!


Some people are using the MiniDSP, but that may not be any more economical than traditional active crossovers and, it's still a little more "dangerous".
Thanks, and yeh, itís definitely not the safest way to do things I realise

However, Iím more interested with this project in experimenting to see whatís possible. The drivers arenít particularly expensive and itís not my main system, plus I work with DSPs and plate amplifier based active speakers as part of my job. So Iím happy to take some risks with it I guess...
andreasmaaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.