Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2019, 01:44 PM   #1
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 483
Default The following effects were in the project file and are not available. effect configur

I updated my Reaper program. Then proceeded to download a plug, which I placed in my plugin folder. I then went to preferences, VST and somehow clicked the wrong thing/things in "Edit" So I open
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 02:04 PM   #2
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 483
Default

Sorry I will start again. I updated my Reaper program. Then proceeded to download a plugin, which I placed in my plugins folder. I then went to preferences, VST and somehow clicked the wrong thing/things in "Edit" So I opened the project to which I want to apply the plugin. As it opened I was told The following effects were in the project file and are not available.
One is my mt power drumkit track. It is not working but I see this message: effect configuration is preserved. Melodyne is missing on the vocals and back-up vocals.
I went back to preferences, plugin and added all the folders with plugins I could find.
I have tried to keep all my plugins in one folder but some of them get installed automatically somewhere else. Others are arranged a bit higgledy-piggedly because I had no idea where the plugins were when I started using Reaper. Anyhow, I started by reloading the mt power drumkit fx. This worked but the sound was nothing like the loop with fills I had originally introduced.
I opened another project and the same thing happened: The following effects were in the project file and are not available. Different things were missing but once again the power drum kit was making no sound but "effect configuration is preserved" was there. I tried clicking on fx again but this time the MT drum kit could not be found. I used the Windows search feature and it showed me some wave files and some other audio files with the MT name but did not point to a folder where the MT might be.

I don't dare open any other projects because any midi effects (drums, piano, organ, ...) might get lost.
Does anybody have any ideas please? I have all the zip files with the plugins. Should I reinstall everything? Can I do anything with this " effect configuration is preserved" feature. I think it is the missing Melodyne that is worrying me the most, as I spent a lot of time fine-tuning vocals and backups.
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 02:06 PM   #3
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 483
Default

I did a search in the forums to see if anyone had had a similar problem.
And looked all over the Internet before finally giving up and come slinking back to Newbieland with my problem!
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 02:28 PM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,765
Default

Not sure if this helps but...

Assume you have a project with plugin X in use on some track. For some reason that plugin goes missing or gets uninstalled. You open the project at a later time and you'll see the message you quoted in the FX chain about the effect missing but the configuration is preserved.

So you reinstall the plugin, have reaper rescan VSTs and it finds it just fine, however when you return to the project and that track's FX chain, reaper for whatever reason didn't reassign that saved configuration to the plugin and fix things.

What I have successfully done in the past is to select that plugin in the FX chain, CTRL+C to copy it to the clipboard, then immediately CTRL+V to paste a copy of it into that same chain, this should force reaper to link it back up to the working VST then you can delete the failed instance.

I've not tested this fully such as confirming the FX params were all properly restored but it did proverbially work and got me out of a tight spot with an old project where I had deleted the VST because I forget I had used it.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 02:44 PM   #5
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 483
Default

Thanks a lot for your reply.
Another thing I have just noticed is a lot of my fx have goine missing!
For instance I had a VST and VST3 version of Melodyne but the VST has disappeared?
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 02:48 PM   #6
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 483
Default

It gets worse.
A lot of the plugins that used to be in the "instruments" section are now under Developers, and when I click them they do not open and are not added to my fx chain? Oh, this is awful.
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 03:02 PM   #7
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 483
Default

Even weirder. I have a portable version of Reaper on an external hard drive. I opened that up and everything seems to be as normal. All the instruments plus drum kit there, two versions of Meloldyne and even the new plugin I downloaded today. Could I import that into my usual Reaper version?
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 03:39 PM   #8
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,469
Default

it sounds like you recorded some tunes using the portable version and now you want to play them using the standard install. They will have different references to your plugins. I would advise you to stick with one version of Reaper (portable or standard) until you are a bit more confident of how your plugins are organised.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 03:57 AM   #9
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 483
Default

No I have never used the portable version.

I downloaded it last year and placed it on an external hard drive and copied my plugin folder onto the same drive but never used it.

I have always recorded tunes with the standard install on my computer. I have a plugins folder on my C drive. The only possible aberration is the fact that I saved my projects on the external hard drive in case anything goes wrong on my computer and to save space on my computer.


So the present situation is that my projects seem to be normal on my external drive. All the instruments plus drum kit there, two versions of Meloldyne and even the new plugin I downloaded today. I don't understand how the plugins I have in my plugins folders on my computer are successfully opened in my portable Reaper,...as I am sure I did not copy them all into my plugin folder on the external drive

Anyhow, any ideas what I do now? Just keep on using the portable Reaper, export portable Reaper configuration and then import into standard Reaper, return standard Reaper to factory settings,... If I stick with portable Reaper should I not put another version of this on another external hard drive in case I run into the same problem in future?
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:14 AM   #10
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 483
Default

Or should I import my May 2019 configuration into my standard install?

Would that make any difference?

By the way, apparently I have to update my portable Reaper as I have never used it should I open the new version file, tick portable install and then browse to my external hard drive, will it automatically update the portable Reaper?

Should I copy the entire portable R onto my computer and experiment with the update then?
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 03:12 AM   #11
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,469
Default

Have you tried comparing the plugin paths of the portable install to your standard version? If you make sure they are both referencing the same folders that should mean you see the same plugins in both.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 06:00 AM   #12
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 483
Default

Thanks Domzy. A wise suggestion.


Cross my fingers, the problem is solved. I took the plunge and imported my May configuration not knowing what effect this would have but everything is now back to normal. I think I will do this configuration exports twice a month in future.

Thanks everyone for your suggestions.

That leaves two unresolved issues.
I have to update my portable Reaper as I have never used it should I open the new version file, tick portable install and then browse to my external hard drive, will it automatically update the portable Reaper?

Should I copy the entire portable R onto my computer and experiment with the update then?


It's a shame Reaper does not have a feature for easily copying everything (plugins, ...the whole caboodle) to another device (computer, external drive, stick,...)
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.