Old 02-28-2018, 12:43 PM   #1
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,481
Default Knob Stack Problems (value-specific frame issues)

Hi.

Over the last few weeks I've learned how to use Knobman to build "...knob_stack.png" files for my color theme. Everything is going well except for one aspect. I've made special layers in Knobman which are meant to be displayed only when the parameter has a very specific value. I'll use "tcp_pan_knob_stack.png" as an example. In this stack, I have special layers which are intended to be displayed for only specific parameter values (100% left, center, 100% right.) I'm having trouble getting these layers to display at only their respective values. The "100% left" layer displays when the parameter value in the tooltip shows 100% left, but also at 99% left and 98% left. The same type of problem arises for center and right pan values.

I've tried using higher frame counts when rendering the stacks in Knobman (up to 501 frames, and always an odd number), in conjunction with its "bit-mask" feature, which ensures a layer is only displayed on a frame-by-frame basis. Still, I can't get the frames to display properly.

So, to break it all down, the variables at play are:
- the number of frames in a knob_stack.png required to get REAPER to display the correct frame intended for specific parameter values (100% left, center, 100% right)
- parameter specific frame counts (pan stack vs. volume stack, etc.)
- parameter specific bit-masks in Knobman.exe

I really want to get this to work, because it lets you check a parameter value at a glance without the need to look at its readout text. Plus it looks nice. But there's no use in implementing value-specific frames unless I can guarantee that the special "parameter value frames" are displayed only at *exactly* their intended values, and no others.

Has anyone else had experience with this? Any luck getting it to work correctly?

Thanks,
Mike
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.

Last edited by mikeroephonics; 02-28-2018 at 01:46 PM.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 04:50 PM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,632
Default

the issue is going to be about matching the frames in knobman to the divisions that reaper uses for a given knob...

so think... say reaper uses 100 divisions from full pan left to full pan right, ..ok?

so if you have 100 frames in the stack that would match up

but if you have more or less in the stack then you'll get some off set...

I don't know how many divisions reaper uses for each knob... someone might know...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 05:17 PM   #3
hwhalen
Human being with feelings
 
hwhalen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 902
Default

Another approach is to manually edit the *_knob.png. Put the special stuff with the first and last of the images. Be certain that everything is 100% ready with your knob before you do this of course.
__________________
My Music
Noise From My Head
On The Links
hwhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 07:50 PM   #4
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,481
Default

I'll get back to the knobstack issues soon enough. i'm working on some other theme elements now. I think the main problem is working out how many values a given parameter has and then using rendering the corresponding knobstack with the same number of frames. There are more than 201 pan values, even though you may expect exactly 201 (100%L, 99%L, 98%L..., 0, 98%R, 99%R, 100%R).
There are smaller values like 0.2, 0.4, 0.6, 0.8L/R.

It might come down to manually editing the knobstack .png like you said, hwhalen. I'll try to work it all out.
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 10:50 AM   #5
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 971
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeroephonics View Post
I'll get back to the knobstack issues soon enough.
If you come to it again, have you tried "FrameMaskEnable" in knobman already? That makes it possible to show a layer only at one particular frame. I used that for the tcp-knobs in my default-mod to show a dot when volume is at inf and pan/width is centered.
The dots are each on single layers.

Also, in "preferences" in knobman you can choose "Oversampling to x4". I don't know what it does exactly, but you get a better resolution, but IIRC, this also has an impact on the size of the stack.

HTH,
Peter
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.