Old 02-17-2018, 06:42 PM   #1
fwrunner2018
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 56
Default How can I sync midi with audio tracks?

Hi;
I'm new to Reaper and music in general. I'm playing around just trying different things. So I got the idea to add an accompaniment to a song I have as a .flac file. I want to add some kind of drum beat to the music.

When I recorded my midi track (using a virtual drum kit and the built-in Reaper keyboard), I wasn't able to keep perfect timing with the music that was playing on the audio track, so now I need to adjust the midi track to line up with the beat on the audio track.
I can do this by moving one note at a time, but that is going to be very time consuming.

I have watched most of Kenny Gioia's videos, which I found to be excellent, but I don't recall if he illustrated what I want to do. I know he did for snyching different midi tracks, but since the audio track isn't laid out on a grid like the midi notes are, it doesn't seem possible to use the normal method of fixing the timing of notes on one track.

Is there any way to do what I want to do, or do I just need to practice enough until I can keep perfect time with the music?
I think I might buy a real midi controller / keyboard, but I want to see whether I can work with the virtual keyboard first.

Thanks for your help

FW
fwrunner2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 12:42 AM   #2
rothchild
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 592
Default

The tempo is baked in to flac file, so you have to match the reaper project to that. It is dealt with a in kenny vid, but there are so many kenny vids now it makes it tough to find the right bit in the right one!

If the track you're playing to is a fixed tempo then my favourite quick way to work it out is actually this: https://www.all8.com/tools/bpm.htm

There is a JS that does the same thing but I can't remember what it's called.

Tap the tempo, set the project to the correct tempo and then adjust the start point of the flac file so you've got the beats properly lined up to the grid. You'll then be able to use the quantise tools to bring your performance in time with the flac.
rothchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 09:58 AM   #3
fwrunner2018
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 56
Default

Thanks. I have been playing with that, after watching many of the Kenny vids. I have the "Reaper Mania" site bookmarked, then use the small search box to find what I am looking for. Those vids are indispensable for people like me who are just starting out with Reaper.
fwrunner2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 10:32 PM   #4
insub
Human being with feelings
 
insub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 1,048
Default

You may need to tempo map the audio which will align the grid to the audio file.
Kenny's video is really good and covers some preliminary steps better.


I think SonicAxiom's method is more efficient though.
__________________
Everything you need to know about samplerates and oversampling... maybe!
My Essential FREE 64bit VST Effects, ReaEQ Presets for Instruments
Windows 10 64 bit; MOTU 828 MKII, Audio Express, & 8PRE; Behringer ADA8000
insub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.