Old 11-27-2017, 10:39 AM   #1
Lena705
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1
Default Use Reaper in live shows?

Hey yall,
I love using Reaper, it´s great, however:
I want to play some live shows and I am looking for a way to not just replay a song, but to add like some synths to it with a MIDI controller.
Ableton live is supposed to be the best DAW for that but I dont really want to move away from Reaper for a few live shows, if possible.
If anyone has any tutorials/ advice/ different DAWs I could use better fot that I´d be very grateful!
Thanks in advance!
Lena705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 10:49 AM   #2
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 309
Default

Look up Project Tabs

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=189501
__________________
Reaper 4.78, Cubase 10, StudioOne Pro 4
OSX 10.13.6, MR816X
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 03:59 PM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,281
Default

For live playing VST instruments, search the Forums for "LiveConfigs". I am a very happy power-user of this kind of stuff.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 04:42 PM   #4
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,466
Default

Use only the 3rd party plugins you've tested extensively. If you've ever had a crash, track down the offending plugin and keep it far away from your setup. For greatest stability, stick to Reaper plugins where possible.

Reaper will work fine for this, but you'll need time to plan and test, as there are many different approaches.

I'll suggest SWS action markers for performing actions at the start and/or end of tracks and setting certain tracks to auto-arm so that they can be played through as soon as they are selected.

Once you have a working setup, don't forget to turn Lock on, so you can't accidentally change anything.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool

Last edited by foxAsteria; 11-27-2017 at 06:42 PM.
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 06:37 PM   #5
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,682
Default

And this is my approach to structuring projects for live shows in REAPER: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=181159.

Last edited by cfillion; 11-27-2017 at 06:51 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 12:45 PM   #6
ajaym
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 157
Default

Reaper is pretty rock solid and you can most certainly perform live with it. Assuming you have a generous amount of memory then using the SWS extensions you can set Reaper up to load multiple projects simultaneously and then use MIDI messages like program change etc. to switch around tabs, thus instantly changing your MIDI stack. This I think is preferable to loading projects 'on demand' but it does take more memory. A laptop combined with the KMI K-Mix makes a killer combination since you have an audio interface, full mixer, and control surface the size of a paperback book with enough ins and outs for most live work. You do need an additional MIDI interface mind you with this setup, if you have legacy gear to connect, but one or two el-cheapo USB MIDI adaptors plugged into a tiny four port hub are cost-effective and simple.
If you have a huge amount of USB-connected devices and are using a laptop, I can recommend the 'Plugable' 10 port USB2 hub which has performed solidly for years here in the studio.
ajaym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.