Old 08-02-2017, 11:15 AM   #1
MikeMike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Default Redundant System

Hey everyone!

I'm trying to set up a redundant system for a live show using reaper, in case my main computer fails. I've got 2 macbook pros, 2 interfaces, and 1 radial sw8 switcher box. I've done this before in ableton, where I've set up a network via ethernet. I'm trying to do the same in reaper, but I'm not familiar enough with the software to understand what I need to do to make this happen. Can anyone walk me through the process of setting this up?

Thank you
MikeMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 11:24 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,268
Default

Do you want to synchronize the Reaper installations in Real Time ?

I suppose this can be done using OSC.

OTOH, my live setup is "headless" (no mouse, computer keyboard and monitor "on stage"), completely controlled via Midi. With such a setup, just parallel midi input would be enough.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 11:44 AM   #3
MikeMike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Hi Michael!

Thank you for the response! I don't really understand this stuff too well, but yes, we're trying to set up to sync in real time. In case one system fails, the sw8 switcher immediately switches to an identical rig without any delays or blips. Any clue as to how to set this up in the software? I know in abelton, I'd have to hit the "ext" button and enable the "sync" and "remote" buttons for the input and output of my midi ports.
MikeMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 10:15 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,268
Default

Hmm.

For a decent "hot standby" takeover, the systems need to stay synced (regarding all computer and hardware inputs) and the (midi-, audio-, ...) inputs need to be physically routed to both, while the (audio) output needs to be switched by an audio device (a mixer) manually, without touching any of the machines.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.