Old 07-16-2021, 07:02 AM   #1
Sari
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 434
Default Sport Editing without typing the colon

When I import an item and want to place it on the timeline using HMSF position to sync it to image, I usually right click on the item and enter its position. I always have to enter the colon between the numbers.

Is there any way, action, script, etc.. that I can use where I dont have to type the colon?

Thanks.
__________________
PSD Music
Sari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2021, 12:43 PM   #2
Sari
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 434
Default

I did mean 'Spot editing' and not Sport editing'
__________________
PSD Music
Sari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 12:48 PM   #3
AB1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 79
Default

Something like this?

Code:
_, hmsf = reaper.GetUserInputs("Item position", 1, "HMSF", "")
hmsf = string.rep('0', 8 - #hmsf) .. hmsf
hours = tonumber(string.sub(hmsf, -8, -7))
mins = tonumber(string.sub(hmsf, -6, -5))
secs = tonumber(string.sub(hmsf, -4, -3))
frames = tonumber(string.sub(hmsf, -2, -1))
framerate, _ = reaper.TimeMap_curFrameRate(0)
new_pos = (hours * 3600) + (mins * 60) + (secs) + (frames * (1 / framerate))
sel_item = reaper.GetSelectedMediaItem(0, 0)
reaper.SetMediaItemInfo_Value(sel_item, "D_POSITION", new_pos)

Last edited by AB1; 08-20-2021 at 02:00 AM. Reason: Revised code to automatically add leading zeros as required.
AB1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 02:00 PM   #4
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sari View Post
I did mean 'Spot editing' and not Sport editing'
You can edit the main thread title to fix that "Sport" typo. You can find instructions below:
Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Hi grinder,
press "Edit", then "Go Advanced" button,
and now you can edit the Title.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 09:35 AM   #5
fakemaxwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 586
Default

I recently made a feature request about this: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=256296

No traction, but hopefully one of the devs gets a look at it.
fakemaxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 02:01 AM   #6
AB1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 79
Default

Revised my code above to automatically add leading zeros as required.
AB1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.