Old 08-08-2014, 06:11 PM   #1
maurin789
Human being with feelings

Default Making a Sound/ Note Sustain

Hey so I'm new to Reaper and I was wondering if there was a way to make a sound hold for a certain period of time. There's one sound that I would like to be held for longer than it is in the track
maurin789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 08:01 PM   #2
Tod

Quote:
Originally Posted by maurin789 View Post
Hey so I'm new to Reaper and I was wondering if there was a way to make a sound hold for a certain period of time. There's one sound that I would like to be held for longer than it is in the track
Hi maurin789, welcome to the forum.

1> Sure there are ways to do that, what kind of a sound is it and how long is it now?

2> Also how long is the sustain part of it now, and how long would you like it?

3> Is it stereo or mono?
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 08:05 PM   #3
dea-man

Is the sound midi or audio?

Do you just want to stretch it?
Old 08-09-2014, 12:34 AM   #4
maurin789

It is an audio sound and I dont want to stretch it because I dont want to distort it. Basically, I have a song on a track and I want the end of the song to continue playing. I want the last sound to just hold for about another second.
Old 08-09-2014, 02:40 AM   #5
dmoss74

have you tried copying a slice of the note, then splicing it at the end, applying a crossfade?
dmoss74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 06:56 AM   #6
martifingers

Have you acually tried tine stretching? It may not distort as much as you think perhaps depending on what's happening in the rest of the mix.
Or, if dmoss74 sugestion doesn't work would applying a long reverb be an alternative? Or a combination?
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 08:37 AM   #7
dea-man

Yes, how about reverb and delay, applied.
Old 08-09-2014, 10:30 PM   #8
maurin789