COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :

Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > NINJAM Discussion > NINJAM User Discussion

Old 12-15-2020, 06:44 PM   #1
merk
Human being with feelings

Default Question About Syncing Count Between Clients

Ninjam is great. I have been jamming with a friend for a few months with it. We are playing electronic music. I have a modular synth and he has some samplers. This makes it important for us to be perfectly in sync.

After a couple months of struggling to stay synced, we started looking deeper into Ninjam's settings and behavior. What we noticed is that while our bpm seems to stay the same and in sync, the start point of our clocks was different. I asked my friend to count his clock and what we discovered is that while he was counting 24, 25, 26, my clock was at 10, 11, 12. Not only that, but I don't believe they are even advancing on the same tick.

This makes me wonder what is the point of the count advancing and the metronome? It seems that there can be no useful function for them. I don't understand why you would want to start your DAW at the beginning of a cycle either. It is useless to do that if my cycle is starting in the middle of my friend's cycle.

I also discovered that the count can be paused by bypassing the Ninjam plugin.

Am I missing something here? Is it possible that this used to work and now it does not? Or vice versa, it is a feature that never got implemented properly?

Finally, does anyone know of an alternative plugin that does the same thing, but better?

Thanks for any help, advice, or just general instruction to make things work better.

- merk
merk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2020, 12:17 AM   #2
pljones

The NINJAM tick is the only tick.

You can't try syncing to anything else, it won't work.

If NINJAM says it's "1" out of "16", then it's "1" out of "16".