Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2021, 02:32 AM   #841
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
SEQS doesn't support using other MIDI busses. What's the issue with just using two tracks that you send me MIDI to?

Have the MIDI be generated or recorded on one track (Track 1).
From that track send the first MIDI channel to Vital (Which is on track 2).
And send the second MIDI channel to SEQS (Track 3).
Then from the vital track send audio to the SEQS track (Track 2 -> Track 3). And turn off the master send.

Now everything should work. If necessary, add a MIDI note filter on the vital track.
Thanks, it works this way but it would have been more convenient to use only one track instesd of 3.
Anyway, great plugin.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 03:35 AM   #842
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NL
Posts: 1,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taji View Post
I see your bug fix is working, but I'm still a bit confused. Now the play head is engaged all the time. When I drag a wave file into the view, it starts making noise if the wave file is big enough. Is there a way to configure it so that the play head only engages and emits sound when I send a midi note to it? Maybe as a toggle feature?
The intended use was to modulate post-gain by an envelope (this will provide you with an attack and decay).

Dial the post gain to zero. Hook up envelope 2. Then on envelope 2, enable the "TRIG" button, this will make it respond to MIDI notes. The little highlighted area shows the loop points. It will loop there until the MIDI note has been released. I'd recommend enabling SOFT as well, which smoothens the envelope, since it provides a better looping experience.

I realize this is terrible UX and requires way to many actions from the user given how basic a functionality it is. I will at some point probably add a default ADSR. I'm just doubting where to place it. I always try to avoid tabbed UIs like the plague. Perhaps it'd make sense to have a small strip with basic functionalities like that on the bottom of the waveform.

Quote:
I've figured out a work around. I position the play head just outside of the audible audio area and then set ENV1 to the Position parameter. Then when I hit a note, the play head traverses into the audible audio and sound appears.
That'll work too.

Quote:
One other request: Can you modify the envelope parameters so that they are automate-able as parameters inside Reaper? I want to control the envelope start and stop points for each envelope via a Reaper LFO.
You mean the loop points? Or the modulation depth?
__________________
[Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [Routing Plugin: Thread|Reapack] | [Filther: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [More JSFX: Thread|Reapack]
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 07:39 PM   #843
taji
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
The intended use was to modulate post-gain by an envelope (this will provide you with an attack and decay).
I will try this. Thanks for the pointers.

Quote:
You mean the loop points? Or the modulation depth?
Specifically I want to change the position of the loop points in the envelope via parameter automation. If it's not a good fit, don't worry about it.
taji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 10:59 AM   #844
taji
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taji View Post
I will try this. Thanks for the pointers.
Playing around with it I'm seeing another issue:

- Attach 2st envelope to postgain as per your recommendations.
- I have Bidirectional enabled.
- If I release the note while the playback head in the envelope is moving backwards, the playback head exits the envelope screen to the left, not to the right.

I can live with that, but the next note-on I play (without using reaper playback) doesn't emit any sound. I can see the envelope playback line move to the right, but no sound. I play the note by clicking the virtual keyboard in the midi arrange view.

To fix it, I need to hit play in reaper and then I can hear the audio again.

Does that make sense? I think I can provide an animated gif if needed.
taji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 01:21 PM   #845
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NL
Posts: 1,138
Default

I felt bad for providing only such a shitty solution with the post-gain thing. I have added a basic ADSR envelope now. You can enable it with the toggle.

I have also exposed the loop points for envelope 1; but note that this is with a very dirty hack. Please let me know if any unexpected behaviors pop up (marked the sliders as experimental for now).

Quote:
- If I release the note while the playback head in the envelope is moving backwards, the playback head exits the envelope screen to the left, not to the right.
Whoops! Should be fixed now! It'll continue until the left bound, then bounces back one last time towards forward and exit on the right.

Quote:
I can live with that, but the next note-on I play (without using reaper playback) doesn't emit any sound. I can see the envelope playback line move to the right, but no sound. I play the note by clicking the virtual keyboard in the midi arrange view.
Despite the previous fix, I would still like to reproduce this issue on v0.15. Is it possible you could send me a minimal RPP that reproduces the behaviour so I can study it? For me, I could reproduce the bidi having the envelope exit on the left. But in my case, the next trigger would just trigger again. I suspect that a note may have gotten stuck on your end.

Quote:
Does that make sense? I think I can provide an animated gif if needed.
The bug report makes sense. But I'm having some trouble reproducing it.

Unfortunately, adding the ADSR added 4 more knobs. I'm wondering if I should put the knobs related to sample playback on a horizontal bar under the sample. It seems that the sample eats up a lot of screen space compared to all the rest, and maybe I should allocate some of that room for knobs.

Maybe something more akin to this (just quickly shuffling things around in paint; not sure what imgur did to the colors):



Then again, might get cluttered. What do you think?
__________________
[Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [Routing Plugin: Thread|Reapack] | [Filther: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [More JSFX: Thread|Reapack]
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 02:17 PM   #846
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,333
Default

Personally i prefer it much more as in this pic, the grain controls separated from the others.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 05:11 PM   #847
fotisandstuff
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 12
Default

What happened to Amaranth? I cannot synchronize the latest version via ReaPack; it gets stuck downloading the widgets.
fotisandstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 05:47 PM   #848
taji
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Personally i prefer it much more as in this pic, the grain controls separated from the others.
Agreed. One thing about this plugin that I love is the visualization. However thinking about it, the vertical scale of the audio isn't that critical to it's usability. So putting the knobs there gives you more real estate on the left, it provides contextual indicators for the knobs and at little cost to the UX.
taji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 06:05 AM   #849
taji
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
I felt bad for providing only such a shitty solution with the post-gain thing. I have added a basic ADSR envelope now. You can enable it with the toggle.
New envelope is working great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
I have also exposed the loop points for envelope 1; but note that this is with a very dirty hack. Please let me know if any unexpected behaviors pop up (marked the sliders as experimental for now).
Not needed anymore. I figured out a way to automate the position parameter in Reaper to do what I wanted. Sorry for the ask on this, but if it's a dirty hack, feel free to remove this. I will be more cautious about feature requests in the future.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Whoops! Should be fixed now! It'll continue until the left bound, then bounces back one last time towards forward and exit on the right.
Tested and verified working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Despite the previous fix, I would still like to reproduce this issue on v0.15. Is it possible you could send me a minimal RPP that reproduces the behaviour so I can study it? For me, I could reproduce the bidi having the envelope exit on the left. But in my case, the next trigger would just trigger again. I suspect that a note may have gotten stuck on your end.

The bug report makes sense. But I'm having some trouble reproducing it.
I can reproduce the problem tonight using v0.15. To revert to v0.15, I'm thinking I can download the Amaranth folder to my jsfx folder and overwrite? If so I'll embed the wave file as a preset and upload it to my dropbox account.
taji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 01:48 PM   #850
fotisandstuff
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotisandstuff View Post
What happened to Amaranth? I cannot synchronize the latest version via ReaPack; it gets stuck downloading the widgets.
Nevermind, it synced successfully now!
fotisandstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 03:03 PM   #851
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NL
Posts: 1,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotisandstuff View Post
What happened to Amaranth? I cannot synchronize the latest version via ReaPack; it gets stuck downloading the widgets.
I'm curious what caused the syncing issue. Maybe an internet or git fluke? I guess we'll never find out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by taji View Post
I can reproduce the problem tonight using v0.15. To revert to v0.15, I'm thinking I can download the Amaranth folder to my jsfx folder and overwrite? If so I'll embed the wave file as a preset and upload it to my dropbox account.
No worries. I thought you installed via Reapack. In Reapack it would've only been a matter of right mouse on the package and selecting the menu version and the version you want. But as long as it is solved, I guess things are fine now

I've juggled the UI around a bit based on the mockup. This makes the plugin more compact. I've also added scaling.
__________________
[Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [Routing Plugin: Thread|Reapack] | [Filther: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [More JSFX: Thread|Reapack]
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 03:38 AM   #852
Zeno
Human being with feelings
 
Zeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: HH
Posts: 420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Maybe something more akin to this (just quickly shuffling things around in paint; not sure what imgur did to the colors):



Then again, might get cluttered. What do you think?
Looks much tidier. Overall seems a bit more intuitive in the user interface.

What would also look cool would be graphically displayed filter types, instead of dropdown textboxes. The space would be there now. With a similar handling as in vital, you could even save the space for the knobs of the filters. What do you think? :P

Last edited by Zeno; 05-13-2021 at 03:43 AM.
Zeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 04:18 AM   #853
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
I've juggled the UI around a bit based on the mockup. This makes the plugin more compact. I've also added scaling.
Nice but pitch is not together with grain controls, it would be nice if it was at the same group of controls.

Also while at it could i ask for few new additions? Like having a mode for the grain rate to be synced to beats. Also the size in ms is quite small, would be great if it was up to 1000ms as most granular plugins. Last it would be great if we could choose different grain envelopes and visualize them, since it's really important for the shape of each grain and can be used on different situations.

EDIT: Just to have some fun or inspiration Unfiltered Audio has released a monster realtime granular fx yesterday, you can download and try for free. It's fully functional for 15 days.
It has some amazing features and I love the stretch function, i think it's two buffers where the one is writing the samples and the other is reading them slower or faster which makes this real-time stretch effect.

https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/p...udio_silo.html

Last edited by Vagelis; 05-13-2021 at 04:37 AM.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.