Old 06-26-2020, 06:51 PM   #521
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,100
Default

Someone already did this. Might be in the SWS extension or one of the zillions of scripts accessible via Reapack. I‘ll try a search tomorrow at my rig. Or maybe someone else gets there faster than I do.
__________________
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI config
Airon Audio Dia/FX Edit&Mix
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 12:39 PM   #522
hans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 60
Default

Yes, the copy/paste function in Pro tools is something i miss in Reaper.
I have tried the script "Script: mpl_Copy Focused FX data.lua", but it's not copying everything, unfortunately. Copying / pasting using Automation items myself until someone saves us.

I also think that the copy / paste function from pro tools could be further developed with more advanced automation functions like:

"Copy/ Paste all Focused FX window parameters envelopes including automation changes in time selection / to Time selection "
What I mean, is not just only be able to copy the current values like pro tools, but all FX automation and envelopes changes within a time selection.
Maybe an action like this could create a parent Automation Item that includes all FX settings and changes in one item, instead of having to select and scroll to copy 25 automation items.

Hoping to see a solution to this a day!

Cheers

Last edited by hans; 09-05-2020 at 01:07 PM.
hans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 01:27 AM   #523
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,100
Default

Wouldn't that be nice.

We are approaching what 2-track editors and Protools was doing in terms of selections and visualization with the new Razer Edit stuff. That is currently a work in progress in the Pre-Release forum section. They named it "Razer Edit" but it's a development from what we commonly called area selection.

That may be a good ticket to do what we need since it's so specific and has decent API stuff to perhaps implement this "copy all automation of currently focused FX in razer edit selection" , or something like it. It could be that someone already thought of this.

You may wish to bring this functionlity up in the Pre-Release section. Some folks are already coming up with scripts in this thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=241604

In that thread, just look at Julians post and how he's already adpated one of his scripts to razer edits: https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=131

Edit: Posted in the thread. Let's see if anyone's already done this.
__________________
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI config
Airon Audio Dia/FX Edit&Mix
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 09-09-2020 at 01:42 AM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 04:17 PM   #524
illution
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 13
Default AutoSync Waveforms in timeline

Similar to "Pluraleyes" it would be great to be able to align waveforms from camera audio & 2nd system audio by lining up the peaks of the clapperboard or transients.
illution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 04:28 PM   #525
mrlimbic
Human being with feelings
 
mrlimbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by illution View Post
Similar to "Pluraleyes" it would be great to be able to align waveforms from camera audio & 2nd system audio by lining up the peaks of the clapperboard or transients.
mpl made a script that aligns takes based on audio but it's more like what vocalign does for matching vocal takes and adds stretch markers to the takes to fit each other. It wouldn't take much to adapt that to a more basic "sync takes" if you took out all the stretching parts.
__________________
Vordio - Post Production Toolkit
http://vordio.net
mrlimbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2021, 11:39 AM   #526
mrlimbic
Human being with feelings
 
mrlimbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 651
Default

Vordio 6.0 is now officially released. Took longer than I expected but the new website is now ready.
https://vordio.net/

What's new in 6.0
https://vordio.net/vordio-6-0-release/

Convert
https://vordio.net/convert/

Remote workflow
https://vordio.net/remote-workflow/

Compare/Reconform
https://vordio.net/reconform/

__________________
Vordio - Post Production Toolkit
http://vordio.net
mrlimbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2021, 09:01 PM   #527
sbungay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Default Predefined spectral edit..

Inserting a spectral edit is time consuming. I have an annoying sinus click that I need to remove hundreds or thousands of, and at 10 to 15 seconds each the time consumption for this is enormous. BTW, RX Click removal does not recognize these particular sounds as as mouth noise, but I am playing with the settings to see if I can get it to filter them out.
Anyway, being able to create a predefined spectral edit (LowerFreq, UppwerFreq, duration) that can be inserted at the hot-spot of the mouse by using a user-assigned key-combination would be fantastic!
sbungay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 01:01 AM   #528
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,100
Default

MPL created a few scripts a while back in a thread that discussed enhancements to spectral editing that may be of use to you. Perhaps they're a solution to this problem. It's worth a look.

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...6&postcount=16

It is easiest to install anyones scripts via Reapack, an extension that manages scripts(and js fx and some extensions).
__________________
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI config
Airon Audio Dia/FX Edit&Mix
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 12:35 PM   #529
Rodilab
Human being with feelings
 
Rodilab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Paris
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gksound View Post
Hello! There's one feature in Pro Tools that is extremely useful for post production mixing and unfortunately isn't present in Reaper as far as I know.

Let's suppose there are a few instances of one plugin in a session. I'd like to be able to copy settings of one instance of the plugin and paste them into another instance of the plugin while being in preview automation mode and them write in the automation for the newly pasted settings to selection. It is like creating a plugin preset and recalling it in another instance of the plugin but instead of saving it to disk it is saved to clip board and all coping and recall is done via hot keys. In Pro Tools these keys are Shift+CMD+C to copy and Shift+CMD+V to paste.
"mpl_Copy Focused FX data" and "mpl_Past Focused FX data", available in ReaPack, works fine

Last edited by Rodilab; 02-28-2021 at 12:54 PM.
Rodilab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 05:03 PM   #530
hans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 60
Default

"mpl_Copy Focused FX data" and "mpl_Past Focused FX data" works about maybe half the time, unfortunately.
hans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 01:48 PM   #531
Lynx_TWO
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 130
Default Option to load everything into memory and process there

My system has 192GB of fully buffered ECC ram (as I expect many workstations do given how inexpensive RAM has become) so it might be useful under certain circumstances to have the option to simply load _everything_ into the RAM, kind of like setting up a RAM drive.

I also wish there was an option to auto-select all the buffering options to avoid any hiccups regardless of latency. It’s annoying when you have a client listening to the mix and resultant master all in real-time, and you add that last FX that you know is gonna be money; then the jitters come and make it look like your system must be old (since the average person has zero clue about the kind of stuff we need to do these days to keep up)
Lynx_TWO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2021, 05:12 AM   #532
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,100
Default

We requested RAM caching just after I tried it out on PT back when Avid introduced it. The ability to load sessions off a shit USB stick or a network drive and still have instant playback and snappy response was impressive.

That's quite an undertaking. Even just 1 GB of RAM cache just for audio would be an enormous help one might think. My rig has 32 GB and even that would be plenty for the audio portion of my sessions. Video not so much but they sit on an SSD anyway.

Apart from playing sessions from a slower source, how big would the performance gains be ?

We all store audio sessions on SSDs these days. Should we just increase the media buffer sizes in Prefs/Audio/Buffering ?

Or is a RAM cache outside of what Windows/MacOS already provides that big of a boost ?

I'd love to know what developers with experience think.
__________________
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI config
Airon Audio Dia/FX Edit&Mix
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 03-12-2021 at 05:20 AM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2021, 11:43 PM   #533
Wills01
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: France
Posts: 207
Default To become a big DAW

Reaper probably includes the widest and best list of features (if we add extensions) but if we see the channel strip in the mixer, the floating fx windows, the Starting Window... we see that ergonomic aspect is not at the right level to be compared with majors Daw (PT, Cubase, StudioOne... ). Please ... introduce a fine channel strip as in Cubase, studio one or Cakewalks, the possibility to view small Gui of plugins in the fx windows(not only the name)... the second point, for me, is a bad process when Reaper bugs. It seems that bugs are mainly due to plugins... it could probably be possible to introduce a safety detection in order to avoid crashes ... the last point is a detail but important... I am waiting for an operationnal action to introduce or to cancel a measure or an interval... now, the action which is named « introduction a silence » doesn’t work properly...
__________________
On ne peut progresser sans douter de son talent
Wills01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 10:44 AM   #534
mlouisgordon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 8
Default iXML BWF metadata columns in Media Explorer

We use Reaper's Media Explorer almost exclusively when we are sound designing and pulling SFX from our library. We have tens of thousands of sounds, many with metadata embedded in their iXML and BWF chunk. We would love to be able to read and sort by these fields in the media explorer.
mlouisgordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 12:42 AM   #535
Rodilab
Human being with feelings
 
Rodilab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Paris
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlouisgordon View Post
We use Reaper's Media Explorer almost exclusively when we are sound designing and pulling SFX from our library. We have tens of thousands of sounds, many with metadata embedded in their iXML and BWF chunk. We would love to be able to read and sort by these fields in the media explorer.
Very useful !
Rodilab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 01:38 AM   #536
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wills01 View Post
...<snip>
Please ... introduce a fine channel strip as in Cubase, studio one or Cakewalks, the possibility to view small Gui of plugins in the fx windows(not only the name)...
<snip>...
It already started some time ago, first with specific Reaper native plugins (ReaEQ, ReaComp,...) and is continuing by adding support for VST plugins generally (the given plugin has to support this). Take a look at the so called "+dev" releases in Pre-releases part of the forum.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wills01 View Post
...<snip>
the second point, for me, is a bad process when Reaper bugs. It seems that bugs are mainly due to plugins... it could probably be possible to introduce a safety detection in order to avoid crashes ...
<snip>...
You can set all plugins to run in separate processes (few options are available in FX Browser), so then crashing plugin will not make main Reaper app crash too.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2021, 02:20 AM   #537
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlouisgordon View Post
We use Reaper's Media Explorer almost exclusively when we are sound designing and pulling SFX from our library. We have tens of thousands of sounds, many with metadata embedded in their iXML and BWF chunk. We would love to be able to read and sort by these fields in the media explorer.
The "Description" field is filled with the BWAV description if it's available. You can easily by that too in the media explorer.

Does the iXML stuff not show up there ?
__________________
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI config
Airon Audio Dia/FX Edit&Mix
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2021, 04:20 AM   #538
Rodilab
Human being with feelings
 
Rodilab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Paris
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
The "Description" field is filled with the BWAV description if it's available. You can easily by that too in the media explorer.

Does the iXML stuff not show up there ?
There is a column with all the BWF descriptions mixed in.
What would be useful is to have independent columns for important fields (present in BWF descriptions but sometimes present in iXML only).

For example a "Scene" column would allow to sort all files by scene order.
Rodilab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 07:00 AM   #539
Nirmal Dev
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 2
Default Automated Markers

I wish to see a feature that helps to add markers automatically in the first frame of every shot in the video that helps in sound editing. If its possible I'm sure that comparing old and new video cuts and doing re-edits will become easy. Digital Signal Processing on visuals is the challenging phase, or there can be a machine learning back-end to learn the pattern of the workflow, then make suggestions on adding markers based on that. Thank you!
Nirmal Dev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 07:19 AM   #540
Rodilab
Human being with feelings
 
Rodilab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Paris
Posts: 141
Default

You could try this :
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=220796
Rodilab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 10:22 AM   #541
Nirmal Dev
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you!
Nirmal Dev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 03:48 PM   #542
Lynx_TWO
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidweese View Post
Even better, I'd like to see an option to automagically clean the current project directory whenever you close reaper. Everything I do gets rendered, so there's never a reason to keep the source files around.
I think this is a great idea; I would add to it though and say the files should be moved into a folder and then that folder should be moved to the recycle bin. Otherwise if someone has a bunch of other files in the recycle bin and wants to restore the deleted files, it could become a pain to sift through and find the right ones…
Lynx_TWO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 11:58 AM   #543
mlouisgordon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 8
Default

Current Beta (6.28 dev 0505) now has custom metadata columns. Hooray!

Would love if there was a way to have custom column views that could be tied to different Databases:

e.g. an "SFX" database could automatically include:
Artist/Album/Title/Description/USER:Location/USER:Microphone

then a "Music Loops" might show:
Artist/Genre/Album/Title/Description/BPM/Key/
mlouisgordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 10:30 AM   #544
Lynx_TWO
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 130
Default Random thought…

OK, so I know that this is far outside of Reaper’s normal use however, we already have plenty of tools in Reaper for stretching audio, right? BUT when it comes to what to do when slowing down video connected to that audio, it’s always been a different story.

Enter Ai video interpolation.

RIFE is the current fastest and best one that I know of, found on GitHub here:
https://github.com/hzwer/arXiv2020-RIFE

Older (slower) Ai algorithms are DAIN and CAIN

Comparison here:
https://duckduckgo.com/?q=DAIN+vs+RIFE&t=brave&ia=web

Now, I’m not sure if these could be implemented as a render option, and right now as far as I know, no one has implemented these into a software package for anything other than a multiplier of frame rate however, if Reaper had the ability built in to export interpolated video with the same ease that audio gets stretched, ie on a sine curve or similarly variably-adjustable timeline, it would be a massive industry-first.
Lynx_TWO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.