Old 05-04-2021, 11:38 AM   #1
Winko
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 5
Default Cannot change volume of midi notes

Hi


The last two items are the sample, one is a few times louder here, but they play back like the volume is the same
https://gyazo.com/e98cb24b8ec48ed3c5bf38098b8e1c0c


I use a sound file as the instrument:
https://gyazo.com/c1b3a78d66e0dc2f453d40ef2e9a790a


BTW.Is there a way to have it automated that higher notes get lower volume, somehow?
Winko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 12:08 PM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winko View Post
Hi


The last two items are the sample, one is a few times louder here, but they play back like the volume is the same
https://gyazo.com/e98cb24b8ec48ed3c5bf38098b8e1c0c


I use a sound file as the instrument:
https://gyazo.com/c1b3a78d66e0dc2f453d40ef2e9a790a


BTW.Is there a way to have it automated that higher notes get lower volume, somehow?
looks like you are talking about MIDI velocity, not volume (they aren't the same thing).

You need to link the velocity to volume, i'm not sure how that works in Reasamplomatic, never having used it. Maybe you need to turn down the "min vol" knob?

Last edited by domzy; 05-04-2021 at 12:16 PM.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 01:57 PM   #3
Winko
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
looks like you are talking about MIDI velocity, not volume (they aren't the same thing).

You need to link the velocity to volume, i'm not sure how that works in Reasamplomatic, never having used it. Maybe you need to turn down the "min vol" knob?

Thank you. I was afraid this might be a different thing, but it worked on instruments like this:

(hopefully the attachment shows up)

(so I thought velocity=volume)

I tried to lower the volume under 0.0 as I found in a comment I saw after googling a bit for the solution, but it didn't change a thing.
Attached Images
File Type: png a46d3c6f63f7756670aa50c81c1d59be.png (44.5 KB, 10 views)
Winko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 02:01 PM   #4
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,658
Default

yeah, lots of instruments' presets have MIDI velocity linked to volume, but it isn't always.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 05:51 AM   #5
Winko
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 5
Default

OK,
So I had to change this
https://gyazo.com/877e6a91e772f24b3b63dffd585784cc

to other type and I had to adjust the minimum volume.

Now it works OKish, but the snare (also made out of a sound file) acts weird. I put 4 notes and the last is a bit distorted, like it was hit too hard, a bit "harsh" tone to it. I tried lowering the volume but it changes nothing. i changed the sampling method, but this also didn't help.

I'll mess around with it a bit more, and will try to proceed to next steps: how do I set multiple sound files to become a virtual instrument on one track? How can I see different sound file notes on note view?
If anyone has a quick answer to those follow-up, I'd appreciate it. If asking more questions in a "solved" thread is against the rules, please let me know. I hope it's not.
Winko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.