Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2019, 08:23 PM   #1
paulcola
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Default Can I delete what's in the Time Selection without moving forward items?

When I select part of a track, I want the ability to delete what's in the time selection without the "ripple delete" option (where forward items move back).

I just want a big gap there... is that possible? I can't seem to find it in Actions.

Thanks!
paulcola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 09:54 PM   #2
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,643
Default

try this (go to Actions > Reascript New > type name.lua, Save, paste the code below, ctrl+s to save.)



Code:
start_time, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2(0, false, false, 0, 0, false)

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40201, 0) -- Time selection: Remove contents of time selection (moving later items)

start, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2( 0, true, false, start_time, end_time, 0 )

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40200, 0) -- Time selection: Insert empty space at time selection (moving later items)
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 10:15 PM   #3
paulcola
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusoBob View Post
try this (go to Actions > Reascript New > type name.lua, Save, paste the code below, ctrl+s to save.)



Code:
start_time, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2(0, false, false, 0, 0, false)

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40201, 0) -- Time selection: Remove contents of time selection (moving later items)

start, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2( 0, true, false, start_time, end_time, 0 )

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40200, 0) -- Time selection: Insert empty space at time selection (moving later items)
All I can say is Wow. Thank you! I have never used ReaScript. I have saved it to a key and it does exactly what I want.

Very much appreciated. I thought this would be a built in function. Thank you again!
paulcola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 07:20 PM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

ummmm.... why not just turn ripple editing off... make a time selection on the selected items ...hit Shift+S which is what I have to split at the time selection...

that should give you items in the time selection that will be selected and you hit the delete key....
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 07:27 PM   #5
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

Item: Remove selected area of items

is the built in action, I've made some custom actions because I don't like that the items stay selected

Custom: Remove Selected Area of Items (select right)
Item: Remove selected area of items
SWS: Select next item (across tracks)
Item grouping: Select all items in groups
Time selection: Remove time selection and loop points

Custom: Remove Selected Area Of Items And Unselect All Items
Item: Remove selected area of items
Item: Unselect all items
Time selection: Remove time selection
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 08:00 PM   #6
paulcola
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
ummmm.... why not just turn ripple editing off... make a time selection on the selected items ...hit Shift+S which is what I have to split at the time selection...

that should give you items in the time selection that will be selected and you hit the delete key....
That sounds like a lot more steps than just highlighting and hitting one key. I use both ripple deleting and regular deleting and like having both shortcuts available as needed.
paulcola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 06:41 PM   #7
paulcola
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusoBob View Post
try this (go to Actions > Reascript New > type name.lua, Save, paste the code below, ctrl+s to save.)



Code:
start_time, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2(0, false, false, 0, 0, false)

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40201, 0) -- Time selection: Remove contents of time selection (moving later items)

start, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2( 0, true, false, start_time, end_time, 0 )

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40200, 0) -- Time selection: Insert empty space at time selection (moving later items)
Would it be possible to add an escape key after this? This script has been working awesome, but I have to press escape to remove the highlight. Can you provide the line(s) of code I need?

Thank you so much!
paulcola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 06:54 PM   #8
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,643
Default

Code:
start_time, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2(0, false, false, 0, 0, false)

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40201, 0) -- Time selection: Remove contents of time selection (moving later items)

start, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2( 0, true, false, start_time, end_time, 0 )

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40200, 0) -- Time selection: Insert empty space at time selection (moving later items)

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40635, 0) -- Time selection: Remove time selection
__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com
STASH Downloads https://stash.reaper.fm/u/ReaTrak
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 07:08 PM   #9
paulcola
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusoBob View Post
Code:
start_time, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2(0, false, false, 0, 0, false)

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40201, 0) -- Time selection: Remove contents of time selection (moving later items)

start, end_time = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange2( 0, true, false, start_time, end_time, 0 )

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40200, 0) -- Time selection: Insert empty space at time selection (moving later items)

reaper.Main_OnCommand(40635, 0) -- Time selection: Remove time selection
OMG so perfect. Time saver. Tested, works great. Thank you so much! And thank you for the screen shot, now I know where to find those Command IDs.

Appreciate your time!
paulcola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 07:27 PM   #10
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,643
Default

If you are using scripts other than Reaper's own use

Code:
commandID1 = reaper.NamedCommandLookup("_RSbe31a3de2526d47fa8357af06379275cceb291c2")
reaper.Main_OnCommand(commandID1, 0) -- Script: ReaTrak sections help.lua
just have it's own commandID1 number commandID2, commandID3 etc...
__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com
STASH Downloads https://stash.reaper.fm/u/ReaTrak
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 08:09 PM   #11
paulcola
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Oh, that's good to know! Thank you so much. Editing is already going faster. Thanks again!
paulcola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 03:35 AM   #12
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,769
Default

yes just turn Ripple editing off
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 09:02 AM   #13
paulcola
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
yes just turn Ripple editing off
I wanted a one-key macro. Sounds trivial, but every keystroke I save makes life easier.

The solution provided works amazingly well. I've mapped one key to ripple edit and one to cut a section out without ripple edit, it's magnificent and efficient.

Curious, have you actually tried this? When I turn off ripple editing, I don't know how to delete a section and leave that area blank without affecting future pieces of the file.

Delete doesn't work.
Ctrl-X doesn't work.

How would you do this? I don't need it, but want to know how this is done manually.
paulcola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 09:45 AM   #14
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulcola View Post
I don't know how to delete a section and leave that area blank without affecting future pieces of the file.

Delete doesn't work.
Ctrl-X doesn't work.

How would you do this? I don't need it, but want to know how this is done manually.
All I do is turn off ripple editing, highlight the section and delete. That's it.
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 10:04 AM   #15
paulcola
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Savage View Post
All I do is turn off ripple editing, highlight the section and delete. That's it.
What key do you use to delete the section?
Also, does the clip ahead of it move forward, or do you just show a missing element in your clip?
Finally, after you delete it, does the highlight go away?

Thanks. Learning what's possible.
paulcola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 10:15 AM   #16
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulcola View Post
What key do you use to delete the section?
Also, does the clip ahead of it move forward, or do you just show a missing element in your clip?
Finally, after you delete it, does the highlight go away?

Thanks. Learning what's possible.
No, it doesn't affect anything else. I use the delete key.
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 11:31 AM   #17
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Savage View Post
No, it doesn't affect anything else. I use the delete key.
You can just assign your delete key (or any key) to.

SWS: Split items at time selection, edit cursor, play cursor (during playback), or mouse cursor

or you can make a custom action like:

Set ripple editing off
or (depending on what you want)
Xenakios/SWS: Toggle ripple edit (all tracks) on/off

then
SWS: Split items at time selection, edit cursor, play cursor (during playback), or mouse cursor

I have the razor blade icon assigned to a toolbar button for that action to make it button click easy.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 01:18 PM   #18
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
You can just assign your delete key (or any key) to.

SWS: Split items at time selection, edit cursor, play cursor (during playback), or mouse cursor

or you can make a custom action like:

Set ripple editing off
or (depending on what you want)
Xenakios/SWS: Toggle ripple edit (all tracks) on/off

then
SWS: Split items at time selection, edit cursor, play cursor (during playback), or mouse cursor

I have the razor blade icon assigned to a toolbar button for that action to make it button click easy.
Cool. His question was "does it affect the clip ahead" when i delete and no, it doesn't. I use a Kingston and use modifiers for most shortcuts this way my right hand doesn't leave the mouse
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 01:23 PM   #19
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,769
Default

i'm old and feeble
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 02:24 PM   #20
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
i'm old and feeble
negative
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.