Old 08-19-2019, 01:03 PM   #1
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default Does any other DAW offer something like subprojects?

I think subprojects are ingenious so it led me wondering if there is any other DAW out there with a similar feature. Or is it Reaper exclusive?
puddi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 06:46 PM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,866
Default

At least Tracktion has had a similar feature since 2014 or so :

https://youtu.be/tquKSOzhMB0
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 11:51 PM   #3
machinesworking
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puddi View Post
I think subprojects are ingenious so it led me wondering if there is any other DAW out there with a similar feature. Or is it Reaper exclusive?
A similar feature to subprojects, not entirely. Digital Performer offers a similar workflow with Chunks in some ways. Different concept but close, Subproject's are little sub renders of whole projects really, DP has Chunks which are separate Sequences that can be loaded into each other in the same open project, so no rendering, but CPU isn't used on a Sequence until it's loaded into the open Chunk/sequence. Depending on why you're working like this it could be better that way or worse, depending obviously on whether your CPU is taking a hit or not, if it's not, it's faster than subprojects to add in Chunks to each other.

Another advantage of Chunks is there's a dedicated window, with it's own 'player' controls. So you can easily have a set of songs, each loaded as a Chunk in that window, that will continue to load and play, so a live set that keeps going until you hit stop.

I'm gonna have to look into subprojects more though, forgot all about them.
machinesworking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 03:23 AM   #4
Rednroll
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,228
Default

My understanding of the feature is that it's similar to a song arrangement function which I've used in midi sequencers going back to the year 2000 with Opcode's Studio Vision and Akai MPC drum machines. Definitely a great and welcome feature, but likely not exclusive to Reaper. They all just tend to offer a similar feature implemented in a different manner.
Rednroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 03:58 AM   #5
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
At least Tracktion has had a similar feature since 2014 or so :

https://youtu.be/tquKSOzhMB0
Huh, didn't know it had that. Shame I just got frustrated trying Waveform the last time. Maybe I'll have to try it again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by machinesworking View Post
A similar feature to subprojects, not entirely. Digital Performer offers a similar workflow with Chunks in some ways. Different concept but close, Subproject's are little sub renders of whole projects really, DP has Chunks which are separate Sequences that can be loaded into each other in the same open project, so no rendering, but CPU isn't used on a Sequence until it's loaded into the open Chunk/sequence. Depending on why you're working like this it could be better that way or worse, depending obviously on whether your CPU is taking a hit or not, if it's not, it's faster than subprojects to add in Chunks to each other.

Another advantage of Chunks is there's a dedicated window, with it's own 'player' controls. So you can easily have a set of songs, each loaded as a Chunk in that window, that will continue to load and play, so a live set that keeps going until you hit stop.

I'm gonna have to look into subprojects more though, forgot all about them.
That almost sounds better since I'm not really using Subprojects to save CPU but more to reduce the visual clutter.
puddi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 10:17 AM   #6
kris.audioplanet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 29
Default

You can't really load chunks into chunks in DP. Song is used for that but it's a lot less intuitive then in Reaper. I scored Films in DP for more than 20 years. Now I am tryign Reaper pricesely for that reason. The subproject is perfect for me. The only thing I would add to it is playing the movie track without actually having to copy that particular portion to the subproject.
kris.audioplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 12:05 PM   #7
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kris.audioplanet View Post
You can't really load chunks into chunks in DP. Song is used for that but it's a lot less intuitive then in Reaper. I scored Films in DP for more than 20 years. Now I am tryign Reaper pricesely for that reason. The subproject is perfect for me. The only thing I would add to it is playing the movie track without actually having to copy that particular portion to the subproject.
Ah, gotcha! Yeah, subprojects are gold. It's nice to be able to work on a clean slate for certain stuff instead of cluttering up the arrange window.
puddi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 12:22 PM   #8
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puddi View Post
... is any other DAW out there with a similar feature?
If you consider the way it is implemented in Reaper, then it is
Reaper exclusive, yes.

If you consider the way how DAWs achieve modularity, then there
are many modes to do this.

The most versatile way to achieve modularity has Apple Logic:
You can define "folders" which can contain a whole project with
everything: Tracks, audio- and midi-clips. These folders can
contain folders again - like a russian Matryoshka puppet: Folders
can be hierachically put inside of each other - infinitely!

You can also open a folder and simultaneously watch the timeline
inside the folder and synchronized in the parent project.

Apple Logic had this "folder"-feature from version 1.0 on. In that
time - in the nineties - it was named "Emagic Logic Audio". Its
name is derived from this "folder"-logic.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.