Old 05-04-2019, 04:35 AM   #81
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,806
Default

Can Reaper get interval lines from note to note in piano roll* as well? See the link below, where I added graphics and explanations.

* https://github.com/michaelsjackson/r...orums/issues/1
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 04:43 AM   #82
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,231
Default

That has nothing to do with CC envelopes discussion, at all.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 04:48 AM   #83
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,806
Default

But it has with piano roll, where midi cc envelopes are part of, so why only improving the envelopes but not the notes? Both is better, as the source codes should be same place, you know my friend.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 04:49 AM   #84
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,231
Default

What's the title of this thread? Does it contain "piano roll" in it? It doesn't. So, you're off-topic.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 05:05 AM   #85
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,806
Default

I am in-topic in the off topic, btw. for listening to midi compositions I am not using Reaper at all, loading midi files in Synthesia, loading synths in buze, all in wine in linux, watching the played notes in Synthesia, all wonderful, wonderful display, wonderful sound, even when used cheapest piano vst like S-YXG50, advantage is low cpu consumption, thanks to great reverbs available for buzz, like HALYverb and Funkyverb.

midi > Synthesia > buze > S-YXG50 (piano vst) > HALYverb || Funkyverb.

Piano enjoyment in purest and simplest form.

Now what is missing is the analysis part. What is available is MusicGraph, but as a Reaper user, Reaper could take over this job, wonderfully, getting best composition and analysis environment. Synthesia and buze as best playing environment, if you do not want to compose anything, not analyze anything, just enjoying listening to great midi compositions.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 09:41 AM   #86
matv
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
What's the title of this thread? Does it contain "piano roll" in it? It doesn't. So, you're off-topic.
The dragon sometimes has his red cheeks

Totally off topic, but the forum seems less polite now 2c
matv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 11:14 AM   #87
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 607
Default

I agree with ED. It was completely off topic and should have been posted in Feature Requests not here. It literally had nothing to do with CC Envelopes and isn't relevant to the discussion and testing of this new CC implementation.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 06:16 AM   #88
Allasseon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
There's no modifier for square mode, there's a default curve option for MIDI CC envs in Prefs->Editing Behavior->MIDI Editor that is by default set to square. You don't have to do anything.
Sorry, but I can't find this in Prefs->Editing Behavior->MIDI Editor. Where can I set the default curve mode? Did a search in preferences, no result.
Allasseon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 06:31 AM   #89
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,231
Default

That option is not there in the current CC envelopes implementation. It was in the older one, several dev cycles ago.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 09:56 AM   #90
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
That option is not there in the current CC envelopes implementation. It was in the older one, several dev cycles ago.
Is the CC envelopes feature still planned.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 10:18 AM   #91
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dupont View Post
Is the CC envelopes feature still planned.
schwa's comment about it:
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...0&postcount=72
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 01:43 PM   #92
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
thanks, so let's wait.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 08:13 AM   #93
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,693
Default

REAPER is step-by-step moving away from the plain MIDI standard. First, MIDI events got flags for selected and muted states, then notation was added, and now CC envelopes.

Perhaps this is a good time to completely re-think how REAPER stores MIDI data.

In particular, notes can be transformed into miniature "items" that store more than just a note-on:

* Instead of separate note-ons and note-offs, each note event can store the note length. This will avoid all the problems with overlapping notes that get infinitely extended or chopped off.

* Each note can store its own polyphonic aftertouch events, which will allow REAPER to eventually develop something similar to Cubase's "note expression".

* Each note can store its own notation, so that scripts don't have to search the MIDI stream for a matching notation event.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 11:40 AM   #94
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Perhaps this is a good time to completely re-think how REAPER stores MIDI data.

In particular, notes can be transformed into miniature "items" that store more than just a note-on
This would be absolutely brilliant and really the ultimate goal.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 11:56 AM   #95
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,639
Default

Yep, I like the idea as well.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan R÷mer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 04:39 AM   #96
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bamboozle, North Carolina
Posts: 1,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
* Instead of separate note-ons and note-offs, each note event can store the note length. This will avoid all the problems with overlapping notes that get infinitely extended or chopped off.
yes, extremely important.

this will also allow for items that contain midi notes that extend past the item end. this crucial for pickups and chords whose notes don't all begin at item start/x.1.1.



if i'm trying to split/copy move the above chord, where a strum is simulated, i cannot split on the 3.1.1 without creating unwanted multiple notes. desired behavior: the first 2 notes go in item 1, full length, and the 3rd note goes in item 2, full length.

in the MPC series, "items" were called "sequences" and behaved as described above. you could go from one sequence/item to another and long notes held from the previous sequence would keep playing until their length had been reached (this was overridden by the stop button)

i'm aware of snap offset, but that presents its own problems (overlapping midi items) in the case where you're pasting midi over existing midi. overlapping midi items are horror for people using midi overdub.

Quote:
In particular, notes can be transformed into miniature "items" that store more than just a note-on
"track-based midi." whatever it takes to get the workflow without breaking scripts.
__________________
░ using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
░ striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
░ reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it

Last edited by mccrabney; 07-14-2019 at 04:50 AM.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2019, 12:36 PM   #97
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,693
Default

CC curves are back in v5.983+dev0829!

I would like to make a few more suggestions:

64-bit PPQ for high resolution:
At present, REAPER appears to store ticks as a signed 32-bit integers. (Functions such as MIDI_Get/SetAllEvts store ticks as 32-bit integers, and the maximum PPQ that can be entered in Preferences is 2^31-1.) This means that PPQ is limited to a maximum of about 32000, if 4-hour long MIDI items with fast bpm have to be accommodated.

How about storing ticks as 64-bit integers instead, and using something like 2^50 bits as default PPQ? This would give MIDI a resolution that is almost as fine as REAPER's 64-bit floating time values, would remove all problems with snapping to grid, and would make MIDI sample-accurate. Users would not need to deal with ticks and PPQs any more, except when importing and exporting MIDI.

(A few other DAWs such as Digital Performer have already taken this step.)


Position instead of offset:
In the MIDI stream (as given in the item chunk or MIDI_Get/SetAllEvts), the positions of MIDI events are stored as tick offsets relative to the previous events:
Code:
E 0 b0 01 5e
E 960 b0 01 60
E 960 b0 01 5c
E 1080 b0 01 52
E 840 b0 7b 00
In contrast, the positions of envelope points are stored as absolute time positions:
Code:
PT 0 1 0
PT 0.5 1 0
PT 1 1 0
PT 1.5 1 0 0 1
Would it not be much easier for MIDI to work with tick positions relative to the start of item, rather than with offset from previous event?
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 10:45 AM   #98
Quasar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 605
Default

Awesome!
Quasar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 06:41 PM   #99
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,291
Default

i had a little time to test the cc curves! it's fantastic

1) I wonder if this could be possible: at this moment seems like when we editing 1 envelope and drag a point horizontal it wont move vertical and then if we start drag vertical it won't move horizontal. Could drag do both: move X and y?


2) could we have an option just like we have for envelopes so that reaper "prevent mouse edits of single envelope from moving past other cc points" and have a different behaviour then this when passing an adjacent point




Thanks
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:14 PM   #100
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
i had a little time to test the cc curves! it's fantastic

1) I wonder if this could be possible: at this moment seems like when we editing 1 envelope and drag a point horizontal it wont move vertical and then if we start drag vertical it won't move horizontal. Could drag do both: move X and y?


2) could we have an option just like we have for envelopes so that reaper "prevent mouse edits of single envelope from moving past other cc points" and have a different behaviour then this when passing an adjacent point


Thanks
Agree with both of these. It should feel as though we're in the Arrangement envelope lanes in every way -- points should move both X and Y and not pass one another.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:44 PM   #101
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferropop View Post
Agree with both of these. It should feel as though we're in the Arrangement envelope lanes in every way -- points should move both X and Y and not pass one another.
Yes, I agree with both of you. There shouldn't be much (or any?) difference working with CC envelopes and automation envelopes imo. Consistency would improve too.
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:39 AM   #102
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,639
Default

yep, +1 from me as well
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan R÷mer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:48 AM   #103
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
1) I wonder if this could be possible: at this moment seems like when we editing 1 envelope and drag a point horizontal it wont move vertical and then if we start drag vertical it won't move horizontal. Could drag do both: move X and y?
Go to Mouse Modifiers -> CC event -> Default left-drag, and UNclick "On one axis only".
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:59 AM   #104
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bamboozle, North Carolina
Posts: 1,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puddi View Post
Yes, I agree with both of you. There shouldn't be much (or any?) difference working with CC envelopes and automation envelopes imo. Consistency would improve too.
except could we PLEASE not allow for this (i know about "don't move envelopes with copy," but you can still end up in this situation if you left an envelope selected):



i'll often be editing a section of my project, only to zoom out and see that i'd created a mess like this out-of-zoom due to it being in the time selection

this is another example of edge-case functionality being better supported than more fundamental, single-envelope editing, and it'd be good to head it off in midi cc envelopes
__________________
░ using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
░ striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
░ reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it

Last edited by mccrabney; Yesterday at 04:16 AM.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:35 AM   #105
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,291
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Go to Mouse Modifiers -> CC event -> Default left-drag, and UNclick "On one axis only".
Thank you!
Will look at it later .. would be nice if shift could bypass this option.

And other modifier to bypass the other option I asked earlier (if ever implemented): prevent mouse edits of single envelope from moving past other cc points"

Edit: some of this might be already implemented, .. will check later .. thanks

Last edited by deeb; Yesterday at 08:39 AM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:38 AM   #106
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,291
Default

I am sure there must be a reason, why CMD + clicking does not make a point and only after start Dragging?

Also , seems like modifiers for creating points according to snapping and another for free of snapping would be cool. Maybe it already exists. .. will check later ..

Last edited by deeb; Yesterday at 07:05 PM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:47 PM   #107
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 87
Default

Be sure to add the option to add points without moving the edit cursor. Because in other sections of mouse modifiers there is such an opportunity (media item, midi editor notes, etc.)
__________________
My scripts for rendering
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.