Old 01-29-2017, 10:57 AM   #81
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,214
Default

ooh, looks very cool and useful!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 12:03 PM   #82
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

added checking if mouse movement stopped before opening new window to assure mouse will always be in center of new window:


If someone wants to test it or give some feedback :
https://stash.reaper.fm/29651/radial_mouse.lua

This new behavior works :
1.When you hover over the menu and little behind it will automatically open that menu on your mouse position
2.Activate your actions via click or on key release (further mouse position does not matter,it will stay opened until you close it)

Be sure to backup your radial mouse.txt in your script folder in order not to lose anything

I like this its very fast (menu/action selection) since you dont need to be precise with what to click,its like gestures, you remember menu is for example right-right,or left-down,right down etc. But obviously if you have 15 menus this is little too much

Last edited by Sexan; 01-29-2017 at 12:16 PM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 12:37 PM   #83
daniel88v8
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 84
Default

radial_mouse.lua:505: attempt to index a nil value (field '?')
i get this error when open the script and try to move the mouse over a menu.
daniel88v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 12:43 PM   #84
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

It opens the same menu regardless of the key (since we can't tell what key was pressed before opening the window), but the next release will be context-sensitive so it can open a different menu if the mouse is over a track, or an item, or an envelope, etc.

If that's not enough (there are about 20 different contexts available), I could also look at adding multiple actions, so you'd have something like:
Code:
Lokasenna_Radial Menu 1.lua
Lokasenna_Radial Menu 2.lua
Lokasenna_Radial Menu 3.lua
...
with separate menus for all of them, and then you could map them to different keys. Seems excessive though.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate

Last edited by Lokasenna; 01-29-2017 at 01:12 PM.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 03:20 PM   #85
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel88v8 View Post
radial_mouse.lua:505: attempt to index a nil value (field '?')
i get this error when open the script and try to move the mouse over a menu.
Sorry fixed now,updated the link above, that was the problem with center button
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 03:31 AM   #86
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

visual feedback
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 03:38 AM   #87
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,247
Default

Hey !

I noticed Radial Menu is available through ReaPack.
But is it just in very early test phase ?
Cause, when i open Radial Menu, i can see it's GUI popping up for a second and then it just vanishes.

Reaper latest beta - 64bit.
OSX 10.12.3
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 03:49 AM   #88
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

Yeah thats the early version (it works but lacks of features that you see on some of my gifs), but this works while you HOLD your key, GUI closes when you release the key. Actions within menus are trigger when you release the key or click on it (release triggering is not in that version). You can download my latest WIP few posts up (but it may have some bugs)

Last edited by Sexan; 01-30-2017 at 03:54 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 03:52 AM   #89
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,247
Default

Aha, i see, thanks for the help !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 05:41 AM   #90
NextLevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 417
Default

@Sexan,

Why does your version change the color of the selected track and items when the menu is active? Not sure I like it doing that.

I like your visual feedback idea from post #88, but it would be nice if it could be turned on/off from an option in settings.
NextLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 06:03 AM   #91
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

Not everything i post here will be in final version I'm just testing ideas here.My version is not for using ,just testing,its version that I constantly update with my ideas.And I mostly edit it to my needs
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 06:45 AM   #92
NextLevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 417
Default

Found a big bug dealing with action IDs. Hopefully I can explain this correctly.

When you enter an Action ID into one of the radial menu slots that is from a custom action or a loaded script(which uses a command id hash) the Radial Menu script is converting it back into a regular id number. These regular id numbers can change whenever a custom action/script is added or removed from the list.

So something needs to be done to Radial Menu script so that it stores the hashed id in the Radial Menu.txt file because when I ran it today none of my custom actions/scripts where being executed.
NextLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 06:57 AM   #93
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel View Post
Found a big bug dealing with action IDs. Hopefully I can explain this correctly.

When you enter an Action ID into one of the radial menu slots that is from a custom action or a loaded script(which uses a command id hash) the Radial Menu script is converting it back into a regular id number. These regular id numbers can change whenever a custom action/script is added or removed from the list.

So something needs to be done to Radial Menu script so that it stores the hashed id in the Radial Menu.txt file because when I ran it today none of my custom actions/scripts where being executed.
Noted.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 07:00 AM   #94
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

I think this is much better than before (I was playing around a little)

(I'm trying to improve selection visibility a little)
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 06:03 AM   #95
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

Track FX Menu (if you create menu with ID "FX"). Its not stored in txt since its dynamic (only main menu is stored in txt but not the fx list):

don't know how to open it floating,been looking for an hour
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 06:32 AM   #96
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

You're really lucky that this was the next item on my to-do list:

Revise saving/loading functions to accomodate all of Sexan's weird ideas

I'm not joking, that's what I wrote down.

In other news, just so nobody thinks I'm sitting around with my thumb up my ass, here's what the setup screen is looking like right now:



Still a lot to do, so it'll probably still be a couple of weeks at best before the next release.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 06:35 AM   #97
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
don't know how to open it floating,been looking for an hour
reaper.TrackFX_Show, use 3 for the last argument to float it.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 06:58 AM   #98
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

hahahaha, looks awesome! Not everything will be in (this my gifs are more like place to save them and to remember them (I'm weird), I will contact you over PM with the final list and code what I've come up to run that weird ideas of mine. But there are not much 2 or 3 ,and most of them are 5 lines of code. But this one definitely

Btw "reaper.TrackFX_Show" I've found that but it does not work, it expect fx index which I do not have
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 07:07 AM   #99
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

What function are you using to get the FX names?
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 07:14 AM   #100
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

Right now I'm getting them from act function
Code:
mnu_arr[-3][mouse_act-1].lbl
but that has prefix JS:,VST: etc. probably because of that its not converting. I am reading them from table but this is the populating function:
Code:
local function get_fx() 
mnu_arr[-3] = {}
    if sel_track then
      local cnt_fx = reaper.TrackFX_GetCount(sel_track)
        for i = 1, cnt_fx do 
        local _, name = reaper.TrackFX_GetFXName(sel_track, i-1, "")   
        mnu_arr[-3][i-1] = {["lbl"] = name, ["act"] = i}        
        end
    end
end
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 07:20 AM   #101
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Code:
local _, name = reaper.TrackFX_GetFXName(sel_track, i-1, "")
There's the index.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 07:26 AM   #102
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

lol,I have been using that and it would not work, thats is "mouse_act-1",after 10 minutes of not working I've tried doing everything else (getting names and stuff and nothing). And NOW out of the blue it works....

I've commented it out when it did not work and now again and it works
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 07:57 AM   #103
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,015
Default

@Lokasenna and Sexan:

Watching this thread and its development is pure pleasure!

Just want to say "Thank you!" for your effort and enthusiasm!
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 08:01 AM   #104
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

I like the idea of using menu names ("FX") to access the extra functions rather than adding lots of extra mouse commands, gestures, etc. Definitely something to talk about.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 09:00 AM   #105
NextLevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 417
Default

That new version looks like its going to be amazing!

I don't mind waiting for it, but do you think in the mean time we could get a fixed version for that issue in my last post? Most of what I'm assigning to Radial Menu buttons are custom actions and scripts.

Cheers!
NextLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 09:06 AM   #106
NextLevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 417
Default

Oh, one other little thing, for the new version is it possible to have text color added to the options menu?
NextLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 09:33 AM   #107
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Text color could be added, sure, but I was just going to include some basic "if the button color is THIS bright, use black text, or if the button color is THIS dark, use white text" logic to do it automatically - look at how the Default 5 theme handles track labels and custom colors for an example.

I'll have a look at fixing your issue above if my toddler leaves me alone long enough.

Edit: She did. Updated, that issue should be fixed.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate

Last edited by Lokasenna; 01-31-2017 at 09:52 AM.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 10:27 AM   #108
NextLevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 417
Default

yay! fixed, thank you so much.
NextLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 11:07 AM   #109
babag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,227
Default

haven't been through the whole thread as it's so long but wondering if anyone else would like to be able to navigate the radial menu by rotating it into position with the mousewheel. in other words, hover the cursor over the menu and scrolling the mousewheel causes the menu to rotate.

thanks,
BabaG
babag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 11:20 AM   #110
Sumalc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 743
Default

@Lokasenna and Sexan, thank you very much for all.
Sumalc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 11:58 AM   #111
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babag View Post
haven't been through the whole thread as it's so long but wondering if anyone else would like to be able to navigate the radial menu by rotating it into position with the mousewheel. in other words, hover the cursor over the menu and scrolling the mousewheel causes the menu to rotate.

thanks,
BabaG
Isn't that just adding an extra step every time you want to do something? If you already have to hover the cursor over the menu, why not just hover it over the option you want to pick?
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 01:36 PM   #112
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

I also don't see any practicality in it. The point of the menu it is to be fast as possible thats why I've tested and tested lot of my ideas and many of them got deleted,but mouse wheel is even slower than linear menu... The fastest way is the newest "gesture" based movement thats all about muscle memory and I assure you it VERY fast when you get used to it.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 08:33 PM   #113
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,676
Default

Wow this has to be one of the coolest developments I've seen from the scripts guru team. Awesomeness in full effect!
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 05:01 AM   #114
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

Automation modes and envelopes (some of them)

Last edited by Sexan; 02-01-2017 at 07:06 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 05:16 AM   #115
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 834
Default

Thanks for sharing this beauty.

One problem:
The link provided in the first post is the old version.
I synchronized the Reapack and it's not there.
__________________
Outboarder Scripts
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 05:23 AM   #116
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

You mean you can't find it in ReaPack or its the old version in ReaPack (btw I don't know and cannot fix the ReaPack thing because its Lokasenna repo)? This is in deep development and there will not be any "stable" version some time, maybe only versions for testing.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 05:38 AM   #117
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 834
Default

Ok I found it (thru VPN).
Marked as Uninstalled. Installed version 1.65

every time I synchronize(without VPN) I got plenty of errors:
Couldn't connect to server (7): Failed to connect to raw.githubusercontent.com port 443: Connection refused
Maybe the github doesn't like middle-east banned countries.
__________________
Outboarder Scripts

Last edited by Outboarder; 02-01-2017 at 05:44 AM.
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 06:01 AM   #118
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Hey !
Cause, when i open Radial Menu, i can see it's GUI popping up for a second and then it just vanishes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Yeah thats the early version (it works but lacks of features that you see on some of my gifs), but this works while you HOLD your key, GUI closes when you release the key.
Holding won't help


Really eager to see final version.
So I'll be back when it's finished.
Thanks again for all the efforts.
__________________
Outboarder Scripts

Last edited by Outboarder; 02-01-2017 at 06:11 AM.
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 06:06 AM   #119
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,585
Default

Oh thats the other problem. Enter edit script an go to the end you will see (startup or diff < 0.6) try increasing it to 0.7 OR check if CAPS-LOCK is on

Last edited by Sexan; 02-01-2017 at 06:57 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 07:17 AM   #120
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Small update, I just lengthened the "hold" time so the issue seen a couple of posts above this one should stop.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.