Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2018, 08:21 PM   #1
Nonlinear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 243
Default "Toggle show envelopes for all tracks" disarms envelopes

Been working on a mix for hours drawing in automation and now all of a sudden all the faders have stopped moving. I can HEAR the level changes (although I'm not certain it's consistent) but the faders are not moving and their numeric values are static.

All tracks and Global set to "Read".

Closed project, restarted Reaper and project - no change.

What happened here?

v5.80
Windows 10


UPDATE: I traced this problem using a new project. All fader movement stops after "Show/Hide" envelopes has been used even though "Read" is still on. I found a forum discussion about it going back years (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=41476). Apparently it was never fixed or has returned? What's the story here?

Last edited by Nonlinear; 05-02-2018 at 12:43 PM.
Nonlinear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 10:15 AM   #2
Nonlinear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 243
Default

OK - found the problem here. All automation tracks were set to "Read" but were not "armed" (found that in another forum post here).

So now I have to know, 1) how did they become "unarmed" and 2) why is Reaper set up like this when the right-click function to disable automation is called "Bypass"?

Usually "armed" means "ready to record". Suggest a better term for this checkbox would be "Active".

Last edited by Nonlinear; 05-02-2018 at 11:10 AM.
Nonlinear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 12:39 PM   #3
Nonlinear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 243
Default

Found more about this. The problem is with the Reaper Action "Toggle show all envelopes for all tracks".

This action hides/shows the envelopes but it ALSO "disarms" them. When you toggle the envelope display back ON the action DOES NOT "Re-Arm" the envelopes.

That's a problem. It's labeled as if it's just affecting the display but it's turning off automation!

Also - the Action List has has an action to "Unarm all envelopes" but there is no action to "Arm all envelopes" . Why is that?
Nonlinear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 01:15 PM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,210
Default

There's "SWS/S&M: Arm all active envelopes for selected tracks" which you could use perhaps.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 01:53 PM   #5
Nonlinear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
There's "SWS/S&M: Arm all active envelopes for selected tracks" which you could use perhaps.
Yep, just added that one to my Toolbar but it's a workaround for what I feel is a flawed function. "Toggle show envelopes all tracks" should have reciprocal action. As currently implemented it does not.

Like I said above, it also seems odd to me that there is a Reaper action to disarm all active automation but no action to arm all active automation. "Arm selected tracks" is as close as it gets.
Nonlinear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 04:32 AM   #6
abducted
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Hi, I have the same problem as Nonlinear : I just want to be able to show or hide all the envelopes for all tracks, and not disarm them. Is there a solution ? Maybe a script?
abducted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 10:55 PM   #7
Delucci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 136
Default

Bump, experienced this today, pretty annoying.
Delucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 04:47 AM   #8
Jules.W
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 78
Default

Hi,

I have the same problem here and I would like to know if you find a solution for that?

The fact is that the SWS action didn't work if envelopes are hidden...
You have to show all enveloppes and then punch the action buton to make it work... that is pretty long to do.

Is there any way to let all the automation arm in the whole project?
It strange that it doesn't exist?

Any idea?
Best.
//J
Jules.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 05:26 AM   #9
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,347
Default

Maybe a script could be done to save all arm states of all track envelopes and restore them after toggling visibility of envelopes. But why to do a script when maybe tomorrow the bug is fixed? Or maybe it takes some years to fix it... then it would make sense to create the script.

Envelope: Toggle hide/display selected envelope This action respects envelope arm. But it only works for one envelope.

Envelope: Toggle show all envelopes for all tracks This action unarms all envelopes(BUG)
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER

Last edited by heda; 03-15-2019 at 05:43 AM.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 05:18 AM   #10
canyonsound
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Default

I've just encountered this too - pretty frustrating and counter-intuitive!
I wasted a long time wondering what was going on...
canyonsound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 05:23 AM   #11
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,163
Default

That needs to be fixed. Using arm all active envelopes is not going to be the same if you had some envelopes already unarmed and others armed. The hundreds of scripts Reaper has do absolutely amazing but things happen. This one obviously needs to be fixed to not disarm anything when you're toggling show and hide.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 09:14 AM   #12
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
Envelope: Toggle show all envelopes for all tracks This action unarms all envelopes(BUG)
Ya bug, heres my workaround...


At least for the settings I use, as long as that ^ option is enable the envelopes do not get disarmed.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 09:20 AM   #13
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
Ya bug, heres my workaround...

At least for the settings I use, as long as that ^ option is enable the envelopes do not get disarmed.
ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
after suffering this for years......
thank you
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 05:52 PM   #14
Distressor
Human being with feelings
 
Distressor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 102
Default

We have to allow "write automation" to "read automation"?????
This makes absolutely no sense at all.

This sould be renamed.

"Arm for recording" actually is a bypass for the control (fader, etc).
If we really need this it should be renamed to "control bypass" or "fader bypass".
Something that reflects what this actually does.

"Bypass" is the bypass for the envelope itself. This should be renamed to "bypass automation" or "bypass envelope" to prevent confusion.

The options in the preferences should be renamed acordingly.
At the moment it is really hard to find this "feature".


While we're at it Reaper needs the missing "automation off for selected track(s)" feature.
We can set tracks individually to read, write, touch etc. Why not off?
I used to use that all the time in Logic.

The mpl script breaks any purposely bypassed envelope states.
It's not the worst substitute but also not perfect.
Distressor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.