Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2019, 01:16 PM   #1
Mark King
Human being with feelings
 
Mark King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 28
Default can Ozone 8 Elements kill a project's audio?

I got Ozone 8 Elements free with a gear purchase. I have a complex (for me) song completed and thought I'd give Ozone a chance on the master track. First of all, I don't think my desktop liked it, because it crashed Reaper. And then it didn't...so I tried again. I hit the "Master Assistant" button to see what it did. It all happened very fast, but I recall it seemed to "blow up" while analyzing the song, and crashed while leaving Reaper up. So I just shrugged, closed down Reaper and did other things.

The next day, I booted up that same project, and no audio. I checked everything, played other projects with no problem. On the project in question, everything looks to be working properly -- meters moving, EQ's showing activity, etc. No empty tracks are soloed, etc. Just no sound from that one project. I've spent a couple of hours farting around with no luck. I have recovered the project from backup. But I hate mysteries! Because they can happen again!

Any ideas? Thanks!!
Mark King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 01:20 PM   #2
Mark King
Human being with feelings
 
Mark King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 28
Default

It obviously hated the song. But knowing that that doesn't help me!
Mark King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 09:25 PM   #3
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,060
Default

Are you sure it did not just shut off / mute the audio?

It is good to find out I understand you wishing to know.

Grinder
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 09:50 AM   #4
Mark King
Human being with feelings
 
Mark King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder View Post
Are you sure it did not just shut off / mute the audio?

It is good to find out I understand you wishing to know.

Grinder
Thanks I made sure audio was passing everywhere -- interface, power amp, etc., Couldn't find anything muted within that Reaper project. Other Reaper projects were playing fine. I believe 1. Something in that particular project (in which Ozone had crashed) became corrupted, or 2. There's a magic hidden switch got flipped in the project's settings that mutes all audio. I recalled the project from backup, but I still have the "bad" .rpp file and it still makes no sound...
Mark King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 12:54 PM   #5
Mark King
Human being with feelings
 
Mark King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 28
Default FOUND IT! Please laugh!

I had been absent-mindedly deleting outs from various tracks to a reverb. I DELETED THE OUT FROM THE MASTER TRACK LOL! Obviously, don't do this. See image.
Attached Images
File Type: png _NOTE_Master_output_was_deleted.png (10.9 KB, 13 views)
Mark King is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.