Old 09-21-2020, 08:15 PM   #1
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 180
Default MORE toolbars please !!!

I've run out of toolbars !!

Please can we have more toolbars ??
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 04:48 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,317
Default

Would love to see what you're doing with all those toolbars
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 06:39 AM   #3
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,711
Default

Many smaller, contextual toolbars is a totally valid approach. We've been asking for the possibility of more since they arrived.

Having to do too much reading or evaluating of options can really kill workflow. Working through buttons with images can be much faster and more intuitive.
__________________
My Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 07:44 AM   #4
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 1,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Would love to see what you're doing with all those toolbars
Different toolbars for different screensets, for better focus of each screenset to a different workflow-context.
__________________
Use you/she/her, when contacting me, please. Thanks :) Not mentoring via PMs, sorry.
Ultraschall-API - 1294 ReaScript functions for Reaper - Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 10:09 AM   #5
dagamusik
Human being with feelings
 
dagamusik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
Different toolbars for different screensets, for better focus of each screenset to a different workflow-context.
Exactly it's how i Work and also I have button in a bar to toggle to other bars
dagamusik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 12:11 PM   #6
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 180
Default

I do all of the above, and I even have some toolbar that serve as extensions to other toolbars, with an action that is used to open/close the said "toolbar extension" (it looks like a pseudo menus if the toolbar is used vertically). So yeah I really use them all already... It's not mega hard to implement more, it's not like a new function right ? And the same goes for the number of actions available for calling tcp / mcp layout : 16 is not enough for me, would love to have way more (99 problems, but the pitch ain't one)...

Last edited by Loulou92; 09-24-2020 at 12:17 PM.
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 12:19 PM   #7
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 180
Default

Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 06:38 PM   #8
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,711
Default

@Loulou92 do you have toolbar buttons there to change the buffer size? If so, how? That would be so handy.
__________________
My Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 09:21 PM   #9
dagamusik
Human being with feelings
 
dagamusik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
@Loulou92 do you have toolbar buttons there to change the buffer size? If so, how? That would be so handy.
Following, also interested in that buttons.
dagamusik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 10:12 PM   #10
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 180
Default

Sorry my friends, but these toolbar buttons only send me to the Audio interface page, after having done lots of delay compensation tasks tailored toward keeping all my hardware gear right on the grid, but nothing that could be easily ported to other systems. I still have to enter the buffer values manually, the actions won't enter the values for me, but it's not much, really !!

If you want to get the closest to an actual buffer switch (I'm waiting for a solution, just like you), implement this in a toolbar button, you'll get immediate access to the audio device config :

command 40099 Audio device configurations...

xxxxxxxxxx
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2020, 08:17 AM   #11
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loulou92 View Post
I do all of the above, and I even have some toolbar that serve as extensions to other toolbars, with an action that is used to open/close the said "toolbar extension".
This! And yes +1 for more toolbars please.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2020, 04:37 PM   #12
rncwalker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: South Fl.
Posts: 178
Default

Why need more tool bars when you can control things with your tablet.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=242572

In my post I show where I got my idea from with links to their post.


Robert
rncwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2020, 05:08 PM   #13
bucca
Human being with feelings
 
bucca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 244
Default

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=238699
__________________
who's gonna water my plants ... if not you
bucca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2020, 10:04 PM   #14
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rncwalker View Post
Why need more tool bars when you can control things with your tablet.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=242572

In my post I show where I got my idea from with links to their post.


Robert
Hey Robert, it's a cool system. Yes, we also have Stream decks now (I use these a lot with Reaper, the Streamdeck multi-action allow you to mix Reaper actions with other software actions, for example, your audio interface configuration).

All the alternatives don't mitigate the need of some users to get more toolbars !!!!
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 03:03 PM   #15
Denys
Human being with feelings
 
Denys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Qc
Posts: 184
Default

off-topic, but a direct synchronization between Stream Deck and Reaper toolbars would be sooooo convenient!
__________________
My Bandcamp Page
Denys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.