Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Old 04-14-2017, 01:01 PM   #1
DarkKman
Human being with feelings

Default Switch Project Tab with MIDI Program Change (form Forte)

Hi folks,

I'm new to Reaper and going through the Videos from Kenny Gioia which are incredibly useful. I'm trying to jump the gun a little though as I have what will hopefully be a relatively simple workflow for my current setup.

I use Brainspawn Forte for live performance - for me it's great and I'm not ready to try setting up another Host as it's stable and my workhorse for several bands. What I *am* looking to swap out is the VST I use to run backing tracks within Forte; energyXT.

There are a number of reasons for this;
1. It only has one stereo out - this limits me splitting audio for FOH processing.
2. It's only 32bit so needs to be jBridged - this makes it a little temperamental and if Forte crashes it's usually due to energyXT

So, I have recently discovered that Forte comes with the ReWire which allows me to open an instance of Reaper as Slave... Great! This means I can trigger backing tracks from Reaper, hopefully MIDI click track (which I can either use to trigger a Reaper hosted sampler or feed back into my Forte rack - not so important at the moment; just the audio). BUT... How to I change the project in Reaper when I change the scene/song in Forte?

From the research I have done it looks like Reapers project tabs may be the way to go so I can just load up my set and switch tabs for each song/project - BUT... How do I do this? I assumed I could send a Program Change from Forte to Reaper and, while I know how to SEND a program change from Forte when I switch to a scene, I can't for the life of me figure out how to assign a Program Change message to switch Reaper project tab?

So, can anyone point me in the right direct to switch to any project tab in Reaper using MIDI Program Change...