Old 10-17-2010, 09:24 PM   #1
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default 3.72rc5

v3.72rc5 - October 17 2010
+ MIDI recording: fixed some overlapping note issues with replace and overdub recording modes
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 06:01 AM   #2
SiKo
Human being with feelings
 
SiKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: dusty hot place
Posts: 1,492
Default To be complete ...

This is the changelog since 3.71:

+ API/ReaScript: added SetMediaItemPosition/Length, with the option to suppress screen redraw
+ API/ReaScript: better portability between Windows and Mac (strip Windows newlines)
+ API/ReaScript: API functions for item/marker setting should now perform better on OSX
+ Armed actions: show special cursor and tooltip only when clicking will trigger the action
+ Armed actions: do not cancel armed action on undo
+ Feedback routing: fixed stopped monitoring with feedback
+ Feedback routing: decreased memory/CPU use
+ MIDI recording: fixed some overlapping note issues with replace and overdub recording modes
+ MIDI editor: moving CCs/events now updates pre-quantized positions
+ MIDI editor: reduced memory use when opening/closing many editors
+ MIDI editor: fixed memory leak when reusing MIDI editor and switching between MIDI items
+ MIDI editor: fixed stuck velocity display on reopening some MIDI editors
+ Media items: disabled "copy loop of selected area" action for MIDI items
+ Media items: recalculate autocrossfades for beat-based media items when changing time signature
+ Media items: selecting items via shift+click respects option to select all grouped items
+ Media items: allow copying loop of selected area when the time selection includes the item end
+ OGG support: improved stability/playback of corrupted OGG files (libvorbis 1.3.1 bug)
+ Performance: Reduced thread locking when recalculating item information
+ Shift+click time selection on items now obeys edit cursor moving preferences
+ Shift+click item selection now use range of clicks rather than range of items
+ Shift+click item selection no longer unselects other items (hold ctrl in addition for this)
+ Stability: Improved MIDI note previewing threadsafety
+ VST: better resize notification support
__________________
... yOu aNd mE are ...
SiKo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 06:26 AM   #3
Subz
Human being with feelings
 
Subz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiKo View Post
+ Shift+click item selection no longer unselects other items (hold ctrl in addition for this)
not that i really care but this is the reverse of standard Windows behavior


shift un-select, ctrl shift adds,

Subz
Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 11:47 AM   #4
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subz View Post
not that i really care but this is the reverse of standard Windows behavior


shift un-select, ctrl shift adds,

Subz
So true...

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 11:55 AM   #5
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

So we need a tick-box option in the prefs to reverse the above modifier, yes?

Everybody is happy then as they can choose how they want it to work

>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 12:13 PM   #6
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subz View Post
not that i really care but this is the reverse of standard Windows behavior


shift un-select, ctrl shift adds,

Subz
I don't think that's exactly what is meant in the changelog. In Reaper previous to this release, it didn't add contiguous selections, it would unselect the previous selection and make a brand new selection. That's what this fix refers to...

Old behavior here, notice that when I go to add to the selection it cancels the old selection? That's not Windows behavior. Now it doesn't unselect the old items when trying to add to the selection, which is more like how Windows behaves...

[img]http://img710.**************/img710/6754/oldshiftclick.gif[/img]
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 04:20 PM   #7
Subz
Human being with feelings
 
Subz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,963
Default

thanks Adam

i get it now!

the new way is definitely a improvement on the old way anyhoo

Subz
Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:04 PM   #8
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,587
Default

"Meet the new shift, same as the old shift." - Won't Get Reaped Again.

[okay, not accurate, but I had to get it out of my system].
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 07:05 PM   #9
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiKo View Post
+ Shift+click item selection no longer unselects other items (hold ctrl in addition for this)
Great to see this very old bug finally sorted out.

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:19 PM   #10
lawrs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Great to see this very old bug finally sorted out.

Shane
There's one more that needs to be sorted out!

[img]http://img833.**************/img833/5074/shiftclick.gif[/img]

There should be an option to enable expanding time selection to left without moving right edge. Hope the devs will put some consideration into this.
lawrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:22 PM   #11
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,259
Default

@lawrs: I expand time selections by grabbing their edges and dragging, isn't that an option for you?

Cheers
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:32 PM   #12
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
@lawrs: I expand time selections by grabbing their edges and dragging, isn't that an option for you?

Cheers
Definitely, I think it's not so much that you can't do what he's trying to do, just that what does happen in that scenario sort of catches you off guard.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:49 PM   #13
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiKo View Post
+ Shift+click item selection no longer unselects other items (hold ctrl in addition for this)

1. place three items next to each other
2. click item 1
3. hold shift
4. click item 3 (and keep holding shift)
5. click item 1

Expected: Item 2 and 3 removed from selection.

Current result: All three items still selected and on step 5 REAPER is setting the left edge of the timeselection to the current mouse position. This shouldn't happen ("Allow modifying edges of time selection over items in tracks" disabled in Preferences/Editing Behaviour/Mouse).


Why do we need to revome items from a selection one by one with ctrl+click rather than unselect them in one go via single shift+click (as we can do it with files in Windows Explorer)?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 11:04 PM   #14
lawrs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
@lawrs: I expand time selections by grabbing their edges and dragging, isn't that an option for you?

Cheers
There are many workarounds to what I'm asking. But since the next version is about improving the "shift+ selection " features, I really hoped that some attention could be placed into making the shift + time selection behaviour consistent for both left and right.

Does anyone put the current "shift + click left empty area to expand time" selection to any use? It just seems that the current behavior is redundant and often not used by many. But as always, I might be wrong.
lawrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 07:43 AM   #15
Gazgoldstar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 22
Default

Hey Lawrs,

I am having the same frustrations you are having with the inconsistent shift + time selection. I have found a workaround using custom actions but otherwise I am completely at a loss to understand the current implementation. I think it is important for Reaper to improve on its predictable behaviour if it is to successfully encourage new users who like me grew sick of Logic/Cubase's inconsistencies.

Cool,

Gaz
Gazgoldstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 05:04 AM   #16
lawrs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
maybe there will be an option we can do for this (not to move the edit cursor)...
still keeping my hopes up..
lawrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 06:26 AM   #17
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

There already is sort of an option for that but it doesn't seem to be obeyed...



I guess because the shift+click is still registered as a regular click that places the edit cursor as well.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 07:18 AM   #18
lawrs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Yeah .. perhaps an additional option "not on shift+click empty area to expand left time selection" could be implemented..
lawrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.