Old 03-05-2009, 02:04 AM   #1
HeinDa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default "Arrangement" function with Regions

Hi all,
I know i can make regions in Reaper and move them. BUT, sometimes it would be nice to make like a "playlist", say, first play Region 1, then 2, then 1 again. In the very past i used Notator on Atari (yeah ) and it had an arrangement mode doing exactly this. Dont need to be graphical, maybe just a listbox where you can insert your regions in the desired order and it plays them.
Maybe an option to export this playlist as file, or create the result as a new audio track...
Of course, the nicest would be a new Window where you could put your region in a timeline to be played.
What do you think?
Best Dani
HeinDa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 02:39 AM   #2
Wolffman
Human being with feelings
 
Wolffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Down Under
Posts: 2,106
Default

+1 Good idea
__________________
" Serve the song "

https://soundcloud.com/wolffman7
Wolffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 03:38 AM   #3
Deric
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 794
Default

Yes PLEASE Justin!

IMO REAPER is great for recordists, mixers. and producers but is still lacking in useful tools for song writers.

Cubase has this (and it's one of its best features IMO).

You set up a 'Play Order track' - this is a simple list that states which section gets played, and how many times it's repeated, before playing the next section in the list.

Sections can overlap.

Once you're 'happy' with the Play Order you 'Flatten' the project. This automatically puts the sections in the correct places on the timeline according to the Play Order.

Once the project is flattened you can then make further additions, edits, etc, to any sections to differentiate them a bit and make the whole song 'flow' better etc.

Given that the majority of music uses repeats of, essentially similar, sections this seems to make total sense as a way of working to me. You work on a very compact project until you're happy-enough with those sections before refining the whole.

A truly great benefit of this is that you can try out completely different arrangements of a song (i.e. verse, chorus, verse, chorus, bridge, etc, or verse, verse, chorus, verse, bridge, etc) just by using a different playlist.

No more copying-and-bloody-pasting-all-over-the-bloody-place.

It's just so quick!

Having multiple playlists available (in the same project) would be just superb - instant comparisons of different basic structures of a song.

You have ONE project... that can have as many different basic versions as you want. AFAIK in REAPER I'd have to have a completely separate project for each version, and it would take a lot of messing about to make each version...

Please Justin - can we have some tools to make it more friendly (and quicker) for us simple types?
__________________
REAPER? Oh yes...

Last edited by Deric; 03-05-2009 at 03:45 AM. Reason: Can't spell.
Deric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 04:59 AM   #4
Marah Mag
Human being with feelings
 
Marah Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Here
Posts: 3,000
Default

+1 to the OP and to Deric's followup.

Reaper's regions are one of the features that are winning me over to it. (And in case anyone's unaware of this, check out the "smooth seek" options at the bottom of the Snap dialog, which allow realtime but, alas, not automated region/marker sequencing.)

Some kind of play order track would be fantastic. It would help close the gap between so-called linear and so-called pattern-based operations. Most songs are pattern based at some level. And all songs are linear when played. The distinction is kind of artificial.
Marah Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 06:35 AM   #5
dazzathedrummer
Human being with feelings
 
dazzathedrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cambridgeshire. UK
Posts: 1,002
Default

+1

that would be great - almost Ableton like.
__________________
Dazzathedrummer
www.dazzathedrummer.com
dazzathedrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 07:24 AM   #6
politcat
Human being with feelings
 
politcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: stuck in transition
Posts: 1,850
Default

similar requests have come up before

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=24708

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=15207
politcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 11:16 AM   #7
HeinDa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Maybe similar, but not the same.
Would make Reaper also a perfect tool for eg. arranging commercial spots ec.
HeinDa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 01:33 PM   #8
MikeLacey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 762
Default

+1,000,000

That sounds like a BRILLIANT idea.
__________________
Mike Lacey, Leicestershire, UK
MikeLacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 01:53 PM   #9
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,257
Default

There's been quite a few requests for this in various threads (see mine here with an extra twist), I think it's been forgotten with so many other developments in R3...but I as well would like to see it in the new release. So useful for trying new arrangements etc.

Thanks for the reminder!
__________________
The media are misleading the public about Syria:
https://www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/...tcK/story.html

Last edited by Bevosss; 03-09-2009 at 02:04 PM.
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 06:24 PM   #10
jamester
Human being with feelings
 
jamester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 2,185
Default

+1

I have absolutely requested this in the past. It's one of the few Cubase features I'm jealous of...
jamester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:41 PM   #11
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamester View Post
+1

I have absolutely requested this in the past. It's one of the few Cubase features I'm jealous of...
If it gets done *please* keep in mind the minor oversight in the Cubase method, random recording while in playlist mode. I do understand that there may be complexity involved in a random access playback while recording contiguous audio though... but JCS can do it.

+1.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 06:12 PM   #12
griz lee
Human being with feelings
 
griz lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: in a hotel room near you
Posts: 1,175
Default

oh yes....

+1

...I remember going out to 'masterlist pro' or something similiar from dogidesign for sound designer2 to do this before protools came along. It was way cool, and i've missed it ever sense.
griz lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 12:25 AM   #13
rockmenow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default Region playlist pelase!

+1 much needed!
rockmenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:26 AM   #14
sonicbreeze
Human being with feelings
 
sonicbreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 159
Default

+1

It will also be very useful in Live Performance. Great, If we can also assign different regions to Midi Notes.
sonicbreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 03:29 AM   #15
reaperdeeper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 227
Default

+++++1 would be fantastic
reaperdeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 06:18 AM   #16
Bod
Human being with feelings
 
Bod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 297
Default

+1

I really miss this one from Cubase
Bod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 07:04 AM   #17
stk
Human being with feelings
 
stk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 'rat city, vic au
Posts: 122
Default

+7, a fantastic idea
stk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 07:27 AM   #18
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 940
Default

+1 from me, too!

Regards,
fladd
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 11:29 AM   #19
moonloop
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Yes Please!
moonloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 03:47 AM   #20
boatclub
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: sum
Posts: 158
Default

bump!
+100000

this would complete me! I'd even buy another license just for the sake of supporting this feature!

would love it.
boatclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 03:52 AM   #21
boatclub
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: sum
Posts: 158
Default

is anybody aware of an official feature request made about this in the Issue Tracker?

i can't figure out how to search threads there, so i can't seem to find whether there is one there already about this functionality.

many thanks.
boatclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 05:25 AM   #22
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawrence View Post
... but JCS can do it.

+1.
+1




-Data
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 06:51 AM   #23
boatclub
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: sum
Posts: 158
Default

made this an official feature request!
get your say in... http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=1343
boatclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:41 AM   #24
rennect
Human being with feelings
 
rennect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Russian Federation
Posts: 221
Default

Can this FR be combined with Ableton Live's like Session View somehow?

One video from that thread: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCRwvTYcfts

I don't know how it works in Cubase. Maybe post some screenshots or video?
rennect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 08:29 PM   #25
unqlenol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

+1
Pretty please?

I am migrating from Cubase to Reaper but not without a heavy heart since Reaper does not have a true Arranger track equivelant.
It would be great if Reaper adds spice to the concept.
How about doing it like in some hardware midi sequencers where you can chain 'songs' or patterns and then sequence over the chain on a separate linear timeline? It would be great if, in Reaper we could have a 'cubase-like Arranger' feature where you chain regions and then have the ability to sequence on new tracks linearly over the chained regions. That would be mind-blowing if not completely obvious.

Eg: say you have 5 chainable regions named A, B ,C , D:
The idea would be to say chain 2x A; 1 x C; 4 x B; 10 x D.
Then over that chain you play a lead line that spans the whole chain.
Then you save the re-arrangement as a 'snapshot'. Then you make a new 'snapshot'. When your mind is made up about which one to go with, you 'flatten' the snapshot back into a regular linear sequence.

The idea could be taken further by chaining chains, or chain snapshots etc...a nesting arrangements type of concept.
unqlenol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 07:23 AM   #26
boatclub
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: sum
Posts: 158
Default

^^^
+100

awesome post
boatclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 07:34 AM   #27
Charango
Human being with feelings
 
Charango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Biarritz, France
Posts: 85
Default

+1 here too, would love this feature
__________________
My latest song

https://soundcloud.com/charango/what-is-left
Charango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 05:03 PM   #28
ADDIKTION
Human being with feelings
 
ADDIKTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 415
Default

+1000, thinking about it for a long time
__________________
Sound Design & Music
ADDIKTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 06:01 PM   #29
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,745
Default

http://www.standingwaterstudios.com/markeractions.php

ok NOT perfect but..

although it takes a bit of time to set up the markers but you can save them as a file /marker list that can be recalled at any point in any project and what's even better is that you can save multiple versions and change their ids so it makes it easy to change the order.

The downside is you can't easily repeat the same section.

Also, in case anyone has not discovered this, moving a region (without holding control) moves everything below it, you can even copy this way too. Very powerful especially since it's very easy in Reaper to pop open a new tab of the same song, save it as arrangement 2 and then use your regions to qucikly move bits around and double bits up to see how it sounds.
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 06:15 PM   #30
ADDIKTION
Human being with feelings
 
ADDIKTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 415
Default

Thanks a lot!

I was on this SWS page just now I will try it, must be great!
thanks again
__________________
Sound Design & Music
ADDIKTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 06:38 PM   #31
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,745
Default

Make sure you go into the quantize settings and turn on the "seek" settings.

That will make sure that the actions don't trigger till the end of the bar, I think you have to put the markers a little before the end of the bar for it to work best but not tried it for a while.
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 02:30 AM   #32
rossh
Human being with feelings
 
rossh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Noosa, Australia
Posts: 253
Default

+1 Count me in!

One aspect of Ableton I really relate to. This kind of idea just makes sense. I'd love to see it!
rossh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 02:49 AM   #33
RichardM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 489
Default

+1 I'd find this useful
RichardM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 07:41 AM   #34
ZooTooK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 34
Default

If a havn't responded to the previously... +1 I'd love to have this.
And also to have several alternate "play lists" - if you're in an indecisive mode ;-) So you can have easily try different version of a song, jump back and forth...
ZooTooK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 08:24 AM   #35
ADDIKTION
Human being with feelings
 
ADDIKTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 415
Default

Thanks musicbynumbers!

To everybody : dont forget to vote here (feature request)
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=1343

__________________
Sound Design & Music
ADDIKTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 08:27 AM   #36
MatticusFinch
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 506
Default

posting in this thread, would like arrangement functions with regions. this functionality would make my "songwriting" process such as it is far more efficient.
MatticusFinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 02:51 AM   #37
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=24533 from 2008 was my quite detailed thoughts on the subject.

Indeed, http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...2&postcount=20 dates this as an FR back to January 2007!

Not that 'first FR in, first FR done' is necessarily a good thing of course.

Last edited by Art Evans; 03-10-2010 at 03:07 AM.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 04:42 PM   #38
griz lee
Human being with feelings
 
griz lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: in a hotel room near you
Posts: 1,175
Default

+1

yes please to region playlist (again). great for editors and composers
griz lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 05:39 AM   #39
karl
Human being with feelings
 
karl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 486
Default

+1

Yes please to this - As someone using Reaper for remixing, this feature would be great!

I'm sure someone else has said it before, but the facility to add functions like 'loop region 4 times' as part of the playlist would be good too.

Then, if you're happy with what you hear, a function to re-arrange the arrangement to conform to the playlist!

Last edited by karl; 03-11-2010 at 05:50 AM.
karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 08:23 AM   #40
shakey.oberon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 996
Default

I'm for it, but not as a substitute for ableton session, I'd still rather have that functionality. Sonar have done it now, could reaper be next?

It would enable a much more creative arrangement process, more about feel than look
shakey.oberon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.