Old 05-13-2019, 10:23 PM   #1
azza1513
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Default Signal too high

Hi, first of all Iíd like to say Iím new to DAWs , Iím Iím loving reaper and the whole experience of recording.

My problem is that this morning Iíve gone to do some recording of vocals with a condenser mic ( that I always use) and even though all my settings and input levels on my focusrite 2i2 have not been changed the signal was way too high.
. I changed the mic to a sm57 to see if it was the condenser mic but the 57 signal was also higher than usual even though the focusrite gain was set to wear it normally is.

I hope someone can give me any advice as Iím not sure where to Start.
azza1513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:13 AM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,174
Default

turn the gain down on the interface?
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 03:20 AM   #3
azza1513
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Default

yeah thanks, ive done that. I usually have the gain set up around the 12 o'clock position but now anything over the 8 o'clock position the track clips. As ive said I have not changed anything from when i recorded a couple of days ago , so dont know how the signal seems to be more sensitive now.
azza1513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.