Old 04-13-2019, 09:05 AM   #1
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default toolbar_midi_step

Hello guys.
How does toolbar_midi_step icon work?
It seems inconsistent comparing to other icon sliced buttons, which usually are a pairs for on and off states, each one covering neutral, hovering and pressed state.

In case of toolbar_midi_step, it's only one icon covering off, hovering and on states.
It means hovering version must be the same for both on and off (which is not a case for all other toolbar icons).

In addition toolbar_midi_step is not mentioned on https://www.reaper.fm/sdk/walter/images.php page.

Thanks in advance for any comments.
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 11:33 AM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,838
Default

Afais, toolbar_midi_step is not included with the default themes, so it's probably somebodys personal image? That would explain why it's not listed in walter images either.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 10:43 PM   #3
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 831
Default

It's obviously an omission from the doc : it should figure as well as the other MIDI related ones used in the default MIDI editor toolbar (MIDI piano roll). if we reset it, the toolbar_midi_step.png file is seeable as the last but one icon. So, if it is present in the theme images folder it will be used, otherwise it's the default one, findable in the \data\toolbar_icons subfolder, that will be displayed.

Beside this, it is indeed a "one graphical file icon" compared to most of the others default icons figuring in the list that use two for the same toggle task. Don't ask me why some need just one file and others two : one of the numerous mysteries of Reaper UI...

Now, about it's usage, it seems to activate all the MIDI inputs available in Reaper when using step recording (§ 13.26 in the manual), but I can't say much more about it, as I never use it.

HTWH...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...

Last edited by cubic13; 04-14-2019 at 11:19 PM.
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 01:22 AM   #4
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default

Thank you for answers.
Asking for how it does work I meant how this icon is being applied to the theme (not about how step recording works). In Reaper there are gfx elements which are being used when alternative element doesn't exists. I was suspecting this is what applies to this situation. Ie there is alternative naming for this icon which conforms convention being applied to other sliced on/off icons.

Currently, it seems to me like a bug. however never reported? Isn't it obvious enough?

BTW a lot other toolbar icons missing from documentation. For example those switching midi editor view between pianoroll, midi events etc.

with regards
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 08:38 AM   #5
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubic13 View Post
So, if it is present in the theme images folder it will be used, otherwise it's the default one, findable in the \data\toolbar_icons subfolder, that will be displayed.
Ah, that's where it lurks, thanks cubic13.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 03:33 PM   #6
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubic13 View Post
It's obviously an omission from the doc : it should figure as well as the other MIDI related ones used in the default MIDI editor toolbar (MIDI piano roll). if we reset it, the toolbar_midi_step.png file is seeable as the last but one icon. So, if it is present in the theme images folder it will be used, otherwise it's the default one, findable in the \data\toolbar_icons subfolder, that will be displayed.

Beside this, it is indeed a "one graphical file icon" compared to most of the others default icons figuring in the list that use two for the same toggle task. Don't ask me why some need just one file and others two : one of the numerous mysteries of Reaper UI...
Yeah... another mistery: why some toolbar icons like toolbar_grid_on/off (in fact it seems like all 2-files ones) are not present in mentioned by you data\toolbar_icons directtory? I've checked AppData/Roaming/Reaper as well as install location of Reaper and found no one.

It seems like those 2-file icons are compiled within the application while others not. And those "others" are kind of simplified.
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 11:57 PM   #7
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXyM View Post
...
It seems like those 2-file icons are compiled within the application while others not. And those "others" are kind of simplified.
It's obviously what is happening, otherwise, we would at least see the related graphic files in the \data\toolbar_icons subfolder. I just checked again : there is no file that have the same name as the ones mentioned in the official image list. Not one... In my Cubicpack themes, I have an example of this : I'll take the Options : toggle metronome action (#40364). In each theme, I have provided 3 files for this :

toolbar_metro_off.png
toolbar_metro_on.png


These two have exactly the same name as what appears in the official image list : they are there to be used with the default main toolbar and consequently appear, instead of the embedded ones in Reaper. Additionaly, I added this one :

toolbar_C_metro_[l/m/r].png

which appears if the user wants to use the bundled toolbar1 in the pack which have additional actions, compared to the default toolbars (at their reseted state) : it baheves exactly as the official ones and only one graphic file is needed for this.


So, it seems that the rule is :
1) if we want personal icons for the main toolbar, we have to provide graphic files exactly named as in the official list, otherwise 'embedded' icons will be used (two files are needed for one function, for most cases).
2) If we want personal icons for other toolbars such as the default piano roll one, we have to provide graphic files that are named exactly as the ones present in the \data\toolbar_icons Reaper installation subfolder (one graphic file is enough).
3) If we want personal icons for actions not integrated in one or other reseted toolbar, we also have to provide graphic files but can name it as wanted (one graphic file is enough).

At least, this is what stays in my mind, concerning this. But we never had a decent documentation about it : it's probably considered as obvious...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 12:59 AM   #8
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default

Yes, it's obvious to me too.
What is not obvious that some of the buttons requires 2 sliced files, while other only one. While I know when to use which one, it leads to graphical inconsistency or limits a themer while creating a theme.

I don't know... maybe it's only me who cares about such visual inconsistencies (since I've seen no related bug report or FR)

Last edited by MaXyM; 04-16-2019 at 01:17 AM.
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.