Old 01-08-2019, 11:20 PM   #1
cutnpaste
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 292
Default Quick question

1. Is win10's built in dvd burner capable of creating boot disks?

2. Can a DVD-RW be used for a boot disk.
cutnpaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 11:30 PM   #2
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,396
Default

Yes. And yes.
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 04:44 AM   #3
cutnpaste
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 292
Default

That is what I thought, Microsoft has managed to make something that was simple in to a disastrous task now. In win7 it was very straight forward task. I looked at Microsoft site and the instructions are now three pages long to simply take a ISO and make a bootable disk to install win10.
Microsoft must be taking some drugs.
cutnpaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:23 PM   #4
toleolu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Sunshine and palm trees.
Posts: 636
Default

Never heard of needing a boot disk to install Windows 10. Any legit Windodws 10 ISO is bootable.

Did you check your computer boot sequence?
toleolu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 10:58 PM   #5
cutnpaste
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 292
Default

I had the sequence with the DVD drive first then the SSD drive I wanted the install on. I gave up on this way of doing it.

Installing Windows 10 pro was like an adventure.

After pondering what to do next, I remembered the disks that came with the Samsung SSD’s with the migrate software, I got them out and the first attempt failed with an error from the source drive. The second attempt to Migrate the system disk worked, the second time I started the Migrate software as an admin then it worked.

I started Windows 10 pro install with explorer from my currently installed system. At first I thought this is not going to work since the Windows 10 pro install said it was going to install Windows 10 Enterprise, I look at the screen and thought to myself “so much for Enterprise not on a DVD anywhere”, and it did install Enterprise, but not activated saying I needed to have my service activate Enterprise. So I thought what the hell I have nothing to lose so I changed the key to the Window 10 Pro key and I was very surprised that it did work and report that Windows 10 Pro is activated, with a very unusual statement in the activation, “Window 10 Pro has been activated by your service”. I have no idea what that means.
cutnpaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 01:50 AM   #6
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 577
Default

Win XP forever...........
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.