Old 08-25-2018, 04:32 PM   #1
Steviebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 406
Default toolbar text icon background

I have toolbars that utilize many text icons. I would like to change the background color of these icons without having to create separate icons with the text for all of the buttons.

In the menu toolbar PNG folder I see something called composite_overlay.PNG. Is this the appropriate file?

It appears to have a transparent background the same on all three phases.
Steviebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2018, 03:30 PM   #2
Steviebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 406
Default

bump: so is there no way to change the background of a "text icon" on a toolbar button?

The above png wasn't the answer. I figure Reaper must be using some png for the background. I don't have time to try and photoshop 100 buttons. Besides, I've never gotten the text readable on a 30 pixel icon like it is using OS font over background. I like the readability but just want the bkg to be different than the Reaper bkg.

Maybe there's another way to go about it by changing the background of that part of the reaper interface?
Steviebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2018, 03:47 PM   #3
lucas_LCS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 693
Default

are you changing the 'composite_toolbar_overlay.png' ?

this is normally located in Reaper's 'DATA/TOOLBAR_ICONS' folder.
You need to also check if there is a copy in the theme's image folder as well.
lucas_LCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2018, 07:54 PM   #4
KINGBEAT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 6
Default

In theme folder, you must replace this image.

"toolbar_Blank.PNG"
KINGBEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2018, 05:59 PM   #5
Steviebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 406
Default

I tried the composite toolbar overlay. No love. I'll look at the blank one, see if that does it. I'm still using the default theme I think.
Steviebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2018, 07:02 PM   #6
Steviebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 406
Default

Still no love. I tried replacing both composite_overlay and blank png in both reaper install dir and c drive appdata roaming (resources folder). I searched for those files and those were the only two locations found.

I noticed when opening other toolbar_pngs they all have transparent backgrounds.

I can create a toolbar png with bk colors fine, but text rendering is sub optimal and I really dont want to have to create all the pngs this way. But I cannot seem to see how to change what Reaper uses as background for text icon...

Anyone have any luck changing the background color of a text toolbar icon? I'm beginning to think it's not possible.
Steviebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2018, 08:51 PM   #7
Steviebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 406
Default

Solution: Use a vector graphics program to create the png icons. The problem was the bitmap editors did a lousy job of scaling text (of course). Experimenting with Inkscape (free svg) I was able to create a usable template and rapidly generate 100+ text based icons with 3 phase indicators. Very readable and visible.
Steviebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 05:41 AM   #8
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 197
Default

Hi Steviebone,

Could you please describe the steps you follow to get it to work ?

thanks
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 09:50 AM   #9
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,081
Default

similar prob. here... my solution, as mentioned by others, has been to create new png's that are themselves the txt lines I want to use...

I do it in photoshop, and I make them both db wide and triple wide which lets me have enough room for longer text.

I can have an upper and lower line of text that is readable enough...

probably vector based done in inkscape or illustrator would be better, but I'm a PS guy...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 11:45 AM   #10
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 197
Default

Hi,

Yes, tweaking "toolbar_Blank.PNG" with paint.net works for me....not the most convient way...but it works!
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.