Old 08-22-2015, 07:24 AM   #1
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 556
Default Simple Tweaks to The V5 Default Theme

I'm really digging Reaper V5 and the Default V5 Theme and have been playing around with the Theme Development/Tweaker and rtconfig to make Reaper more to my liking. YMMV...

I'm no expert Themer but I thought I'd share what I've done so far and hope others would do the same!

FYI: I'm only working with the Large layouts (and deleted most other layouts) so some of this may not work well with other Default V5 theme layouts.

In the Theme Development/Tweaker I played around to see what all of the color/font settings do...

I figured out the main colors used in the Default V5 theme and tweaked the colors to remove all of the lines (shadow / highlight, etc...) in the background, to make the background more flat and interconnected.
https://i.imgur.com/GqEdE2I.png
https://i.imgur.com/KNLQpgz.png

I tweaked the Theme Development/Tweaker and the I/O and Window List colors using the main colors from the Default V5 theme. These settings affect many of the windows in Reaper.
https://i.imgur.com/p2oy4xW.png
*I also deleted the tab images from the image folder so that I could use the main background colors for the docker tabs (see image above).

Increased the volume/pan label font in the Theme Development/Tweaker from 8 to 10 (might not work well with other layouts). This increases the size of all the volume labels, pan labels, rec input labels, TCP value readouts and the track numbers in the TCP. The TCP track numbers are now the same size as the MCP (*only can fit 2 digits in TCP).
https://i.imgur.com/DbAg2oR.png
https://i.imgur.com/oKCH5hB.png


In the rtconfig...

I enabled show borders for MCP & TCP. This makes the line between the tracks more prominent.
tcp_showborders 1
mcp_showborders 1

I added this line (thank you cubic13, for the heads up!) to the rtconfig (after the showborders, near the top of rtconfig) to control the TCP Master track minimum height!
tcp_master_minheight 35

Adjusted the TCP height (the last number) so that when I press record I can see that whole TCP track panel (when using my large layout).
tcp_heights 4 24 34 74 ; supercollapsed, collapsed, small(norecarm), recarm size

I designed a large TCP Master layout with only a Label and meter.

For my large TCP layout, I have rec arm, track label, routing, mute, solo & FX on the top line. On the second line is a volume fader and pan knob (just used for reference). All other elements are available on the MCP. I created a standard layout and a layout with the value readouts activated.

For my large MCP layout, in the rtconfig, I set it so that I can always see the track input, pan & volume labels.
set hide_input [0] ; height below which input dropdown is hidden.
set hide_pan_labels [0] ; height below which pan labels are hidden.
set hide_volume_label [0] ; meter area height below which volume label is hidden.

I set the global MCP minimum height so it could be as short as possible before breaking.
mcp_min_height 258

I set my large MCP Master layout the same except I wanted to hide the input space so the Master could be as tall as possible.
set hide_input [900] ; height below which input dropdown is hidden.
set hide_pan_labels [0] ; height below which pan labels are hidden.
set hide_volume_label [0] ; meter area height below which volume label is hidden.


Finally, I copied my theme to create a dark version...

I copied the black fader image from the Session Mixer to use in my large MCP layout.

I copied the dark mute off & solo off images from the Session Mixer to use in my large TCP & MCP layouts.

I used the width knob as the pan knob in my large TCP & MCP layouts (that knob changes to the color of the track background and doesn't stand out as much as the default pan knob).

Tweaked the Theme Development/Tweaker to darken up the arrange area using the colors of the V5 Default theme.
https://i.imgur.com/oKW4XIJ.png
https://i.imgur.com/0aRnUEe.png

That's it for me so far... Anyone have tweaks / ideas to share?

Last edited by +NRG; 08-22-2015 at 07:35 AM.
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 02:42 PM   #2
sightlessness
Human being with feelings
 
sightlessness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 858
Default

Yeah, looks soooo much better.
__________________
I want to live PEACEFULLY PLEASE WORLD "LEADERS" GET THIS DONE/LET IT BE FOR GOOD AND MAKE HISTORYYYYYYY! Thanks.
sightlessness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 03:14 PM   #3
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 556
Default

Yes, I'm glad that they let us mess under the hood a little bit. B)
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 09:09 PM   #4
HBB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 33
Default

I like the changes.
How difficult is it to make pan and volume detent extend to edge of knob?
Small thing but annoys me.
HBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 03:34 AM   #5
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 556
Default

I'm not sure about that but maybe someone else knows...
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 04:45 AM   #6
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HBB View Post
I like the changes.
How difficult is it to make pan and volume detent extend to edge of knob?
Small thing but annoys me.
According to WALTER: A Themers Guide, the knob lines are drawn automatically for the given knob size. This can be fooled by defining a certain knob size in the theme code and then using the yellow lines to make the actual knob image to appear different size.
http://www.houseofwhitetie.com/reape...mers_guide.pdf
(pages 27 and 41).

Not too easy unless you know something about the WALTER code, how to use yellow and pink lines on the images and are willing to experiment a bit.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 06:46 AM   #7
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,416
Default

Can you share the theme? I'm interested in that colors
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 06:50 AM   #8
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,932
Default

If the image.png boundary size is say 100 and the graphics knob inside it is smack in the middle but with 10 pixels around it with empty alpha-space and you tell Walter the knob is Still 100px then you will get an result with longer knob lines.
In theory..
__________________
:)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 10:42 AM   #9
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Can you share the theme? I'm interested in that colors
Sure, no problem but I have a few things I'm working on and have to figure out first... What colors are you interested in?

Main backgound color RGB: 51 51 51
Darker background color RGB: 40 40 40
Lighter background color RGB: 73 73 73
Text color RGB: 150 150 150 or 170 170 170
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 12:34 PM   #10
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,416
Default

track bar and item color
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 02:05 PM   #11
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 556
Default

Blue track Panel / item color RGB: 90 110 125 or a little darker RGB: 70 90 105
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.