Old 05-29-2019, 12:50 PM   #1
kgbeat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 129
Default Sustain Pedal not fully responding

So I splashed out £60 for the Alicia Keys piano plugin from Native Instruments but unfortunately I cannot get it to respond fully to the sustain pedal. I am using a Roland FP30 piano and the pedal that was supplied with it. I have also tried a Yamaha pedal that came with my Yamaha keyboard - both have the same result.

The pedal works (creating sustain) when it is pressed down - but it does not come off when the pedal is released. This creates a continuous sustain on every note and chord when the pedal is used - which of course is unacceptable.

I've tried all the settings available within the plugin and although I don't know much about midi, I can see that it is set to cc64. If I change that setting I get no sustain at all.

I realise that this may not necessarily be the fault of the plugin but as yet have no answer from NI and would appreciate any suggestions.
kgbeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 02:22 PM   #2
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,095
Default

First test though … record some MIDI notes using sustain on and off and then look at the Event list in the midi editor. It should show pedal on and off, hopefully.

Then you can look at the midi implementation of the VSTi and try to figure out why it's not responding to pedal off, assuming you are getting that sent and recorded.

dB
Dr Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 02:46 PM   #3
lunker
Human being with feelings
 
lunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lucas, TX, USA (via Luleå, Sweden)
Posts: 956
Default

Is there an option in the FP30 to set up the pedal as “momentary” or “latched”? (Check the user manual)

It sounds like the FP30 is treating it as latched when you want momentary.
__________________
Best Regards, Ernie "lunker" Lundqvist
BDSM (Bad Dog Studio Musicians)
Windows 10 running on Z390 + i7-8700
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 03:01 PM   #4
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,095
Default

Is your pedal the simple switch with a TRS jack or is it the 3 pedal unit?

dB
Dr Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 06:39 PM   #5
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Bob View Post
Is your pedal the simple switch with a TRS jack or is it the 3 pedal unit?

dB
Also make sure you're pluging it into a "sustain" plugin on your Roland and not a "pedal" plugin.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 07:57 AM   #6
kgbeat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Bob View Post
First test though … record some MIDI notes using sustain on and off and then look at the Event list in the midi editor. It should show pedal on and off, hopefully.

Then you can look at the midi implementation of the VSTi and try to figure out why it's not responding to pedal off, assuming you are getting that sent and recorded.

dB
As I say, the problem is now sorted but I did try and find the event list in the midi editor and came across an option for 'note cut off at start of next note'. I've applied this to tracks already done an d that helps too. thanks
kgbeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 08:07 AM   #7
kgbeat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 129
Default Sustain Pedal...

Thanks everyone for your help and input on this.

However before I had read your replies this morning I went into the Komplete Keys plugin interface and found some weird 'Utilities' menu which I had never seen before. it had a Midi sub menu and inside I found various Midi options including 'Note on' and 'Note off' functions. Needless to say I discovered that the 'on' option was on, but the 'off' was not on! So I switched the 'Note off' to on - and of course the pedal now works fine.

The odd thing is that I now can't find that menu anywhere!

Thanks again.
kgbeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 08:23 AM   #8
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,095
Default

Great! Glad you got it sorted.

dB
Dr Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.