Old 05-23-2013, 09:13 AM   #1
rictheobscene
Human being with feelings
 
rictheobscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Right between the resonance and the cutoff knob
Posts: 1,907
Default Export MIDI Clip to MIDI file

I have encountered yet another small thing in Reaper that I could use a little bit of help / clarification with. Is there a way for me to export a MIDI clip on a Reaper track to a MIDI file?

For example:
1. I create a track in Reaper
2. I insert new MIDI clip 1 measure long.
3. I record / program the notes / controllers for a common beat that I use.

At this point, I would like to take that clip and export it to or save it as a .MID file. Is this possible?

Thank you for your help.
__________________
R(†)O
http://www.therazorwireballet.com
TAL32.
rictheobscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 09:28 AM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,697
Default

After you have done your edits to the MIDI item, keep it selected and from the main menu File, choose Export project MIDI... There you can choose to export just the selected item, choose the save location and the name.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 09:47 AM   #3
rictheobscene
Human being with feelings
 
rictheobscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Right between the resonance and the cutoff knob
Posts: 1,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
After you have done your edits to the MIDI item, keep it selected and from the main menu File, choose Export project MIDI... There you can choose to export just the selected item, choose the save location and the name.
Ah, cool. I tried using that feature before creating this thread and it exported everything into one MIDI file. I must have fucked it up somehow. I will give it another try making sure to do it exactly as you say. Thank you for taking the time to help me out.
__________________
R(†)O
http://www.therazorwireballet.com
TAL32.
rictheobscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 10:29 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,864
Default

Or, in the MIDI Editor: click [File], select "Export to new MIDI file"
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 10:42 AM   #5
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,697
Default

Indeed, thanks DS. Although, now that I tested the MIDI editor Export option again (I rarely use it from there), I'm only able to export the first item from any track, regardless of which item I have selected in ME (& TCP)? Do you see anything odd there or is it just me?

edit: sorry, never mind, now it works with any selected item. funny.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 06:14 AM   #6
rictheobscene
Human being with feelings
 
rictheobscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Right between the resonance and the cutoff knob
Posts: 1,907
Default

I just wanted to thank everyone again for their help. I got both methods discussed herein to work for me. Again, the problem was me, and not the software.
__________________
R(†)O
http://www.therazorwireballet.com
TAL32.
rictheobscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 07:51 AM   #7
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,632
Default

and... you should be able to hold Cntrl+Alt and just drag the clip to your desktop or a folder and then rename it.

This works on pc's not sure if it works the same on mac.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 08:53 AM   #8
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,697
Default

Aha, that works also (PC here too). Thanks hopi!
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 06:14 AM   #9
Icchan
Human being with feelings
 
Icchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 478
Default

I have to reply to this since I just noticed that this is still an issue with reaper today (over 10 years later).

If I have a bunch of midi items on arrange view, I can't batch export them individually to separate .MID files from the REAPER unless I CTRL+ALT+DRAG them to a folder one by one from the arrange view.

So I can't even select all the items I want to export and then drag them to a folder... nope, it'll only drag the one I started dragging on.

Could we please have "export selected MIDI-items as separate .mid-files" as a functionality? Or at least allow that CTRL+ALT+DRAG action to export all of the selected items... please?

Please? :/
__________________
Support FR's to make reaper more usable!
PRE-Fader Metering, TCP Parameter knobs, Splitting Midi Editor, Big MIDI Indicators
Icchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.