Old 04-30-2011, 03:06 PM   #1
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default Toolbar docker annoyances

1. The "dragging a tab to a floating window undocks that window if possible" feature that was added needs to be seriously reconsidered...

It's extremely frustrating to not be able to redock that floating window to a new dock without entering a convoluted context menu to do so. It is much easier for the user if the window gets floated in a docker so that there is still a tab to click and drag to a new area.

2. I get fairly frequent crashes when changing docker positions. It isn't 100% reproducible but fairly often when switching from a toolbar docker to docking at the top of the main window or vice versa I will get a crash.

3. Floating toolbars don't appear in the same space that the grey "ghost window" indicates they will appear when floating them. If I drag a toolbar out of a side or top/bottom docker into the main arrange space, it shows up in a completely different part of the screen compared to what is indicated by the ghosting.

4. Resizing floating toolbars on OSX is the ugliest thing I've ever seen, with flickering white bars going crazy on the top and right sides while you resize. No other OSX apps seem to have this problem with redraw frequency not keeping up with the user dragging.

This is a screenshot taken while resizing:


5. Also, the command+drag to create a split toolbar always seems to place the toolbar in the opposite location I would expect. If I do it and it shows a ghost grey bar in the top right of the screen, the toolbar gets docked to the left of the existing toolbar instead of to the right. It's almost as if I have toolbars in docks 1 and 3 at the top of the screen with a phantom dock 2 or something like that, it's just weird.

Overall it's a very unpredictable experience :/
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 03:57 PM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,088
Default

it's chaos theory code
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 05:27 PM   #3
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,121
Default

wtf, until i read this post i didn't even know about ctrl+dragging the toolbars and was wondering why there was only ever one or two options on where to drag them to (never where i wanted).

seems redundant to have to hold a modifier to get expected behavior.

but yea those floating toolbars need to be dockable by dragging for sure. i've been putting them back in the docker via context menu just so there's a tab to drag. silliness.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 02:47 AM   #4
Amazed
Human being with feelings
 
Amazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, W.A.
Posts: 1,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
Also, the command+drag to create a split toolbar always seems to place the toolbar in the opposite location I would expect. If I do it and it shows a ghost grey bar in the top right of the screen, the toolbar gets docked to the left of the existing toolbar instead of to the right. It's almost as if I have toolbars in docks 1 and 3 at the top of the screen with a phantom dock 2 or something like that, it's just weird.
/
Whats a split toolbar plse?
Amazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 03:13 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,354
Default

This, for example:

[IMG]http://img716.**************/img716/7650/splitg.th.png[/IMG]
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 04:12 AM   #6
Amazed
Human being with feelings
 
Amazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, W.A.
Posts: 1,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Thanks.
Amazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 04:56 AM   #7
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,306
Default

Arranging icons on vertical toolbars is very very difficult too.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.