Old 11-02-2006, 08:13 PM   #1
Mr Blues
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default Thinking of buying Reaper

Hi I'm a newbie.

My name is Dave.

I have read a lot about Reaper, I was going to get Traction 2 but someone advised me no get Reaper.

Am I able to purchase reaper in major shops I live in London UK.

Or do I have to buy it over the Internet, the only problem is that I don't have a credit card.

Plus my computor specs are 551 Mhz 256MB Ram will this be enough processing power to download Reaper?


I explain why I want Reaper . I have a Tascam DP-01FX 8 track digital recording studio and I want to connect it to my computor thru' USB and transfer files and then use Reaper to edit , compress add effects and trim etc.


Its great to meet you all.

dave
Mr Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:15 PM   #2
Mr Blues
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

All I want to record is just vocals and stereoing miking my guitar and too add a few harmonies.

How many audio tracks does reaper have?
Mr Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:22 PM   #3
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Your hardware sounds a bit underpowered but it depends what you want to do in terms of the complexity of project involved.

The great thing about Reaper is that you can download a fully functional version and evaluate it until you are ready to make your decision - then buy it using one of the methods suggested in http://reaper.fm/purchase.php, or delete it from your PC.

The only way to really answer your questions about the suitability of the program is for you to download and try it - and have some fun while you do!
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:45 PM   #4
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,446
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Blues
All I want to record is just vocals and stereoing miking my guitar and too add a few harmonies.

How many audio tracks does reaper have?
All the tracks you want
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 05:37 AM   #5
Mr Blues
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you so much for that link.

Man this reaper software is amazing , i am going to get my friend to give me a hand to get started as I am very new to computor recording.

I have downloaded the free trial and will try out out soon. how do I contact the main man so i could send him some dollars or a check and what is the cost . I wish I had a credit card so i can do it over the net.
Mr Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 09:02 AM   #6
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

Reaper run pretty well on my old 500mhz PIII, 256M ram. Assuming you've got an up to date hard disk controller, the limitation will be real time fx. I used to run 32 tracks all the time on that machine, I was limited only by the fx count.
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.