Old 08-05-2006, 09:36 AM   #1
ruprecht
Human being with feelings
 
ruprecht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
Default In Place MIDI editing please!!!

REAPER is excellent b/c it is simple and "lightweight." Please don't bog it down with a bunch of editor windows. Let me edit everything right in the main project window. It's simpler, more intuitive and more musical. I want to see my MIDI along side my audio when I'm editing it. I want to know exactly where I am in the timeline of the song without having to check the midi editor timeline and compare it to the project window timeline, etc, etc.

Here's my dream: Just take the midi editor you're working on and slap that baby right into the midi track and keep improving it there. Just have the midi grid with the velocity bars underneath right in the track. I'll just zoom in when I need to edit something. Put all the advanced functions in a right click context menu. Please don't make me open up some editor that has it's own transport and is confusing timewise and removes me from the rest of the song to go work on my MIDI in some quiet corner of the room. I want to do it right in the track.

I love how you're making the actual midi editing easy - just click to add an event click to remove. This is great and is in keeping with the awesomeness of REAPER. Just let me do it right in the track.

Last edited by ruprecht; 08-05-2006 at 09:43 AM.
ruprecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 09:52 AM   #2
koolkeys
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 952
Default

I think the new standard seems to be in-line MIDI editing with the option sometimes to have the window. I don't know of many sequencers left that don't have it.

However, I get the impression from messing with the MIDI editor that it is almost like a separate program working as a plugin. Kind of like an external editor that launches in the same window. Hence the reason it asks if you want to save the file before exiting.

So maybe it would have to be rebuilt from scratch if that is the case.

Brent
koolkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 10:03 AM   #3
ruprecht
Human being with feelings
 
ruprecht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
Default

oh yeah I forgot about the asking to save thing - that's gotta go to.
ruprecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 10:15 AM   #4
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,435
Default

There are some good reasons for the save deal..We had some catastrophes early on

Hopefully we will be seeing inline editing.

The way Acid 6 is handling it seems very nice to me
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 10:30 AM   #5
kejkz
Human being with feelings
 
kejkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruprecht
oh yeah I forgot about the asking to save thing - that's gotta go to.
Strange thing, today I have edited about ten files and there were many editors, some of them even for same file. When I was about to exit my confusion was huge: from where are all those edit windows comming from? There must be even more clever way to do midi editing.
And I like inline editing. For my kind of quick and dirty edits, it's a gift from heaven (or hell)
kejkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 11:09 AM   #6
kLyon
Human being with feelings
 
kLyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 435
Default

Inline midi editing is a must. The other way -- external editors -- never made sense at all either conceptually or in practice; I'm surprised it took developers so long to get it right. Now even Sonar has it; Acid has it. Tracktion always had it. I haven't used Cubase in years, but I believe it has it as well.
I have every confidence that Reaper will reattach the dislocated limb to the body eventually. (The sooner the better.)
kLyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 01:30 PM   #7
Jed
Human being with feelings
 
Jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 916
Default

Totally agree with the inline editing

Cheers
Jed
Jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 05:34 PM   #8
Stringer
Human being with feelings
 
Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: State of California
Posts: 542
Default Like FL Studio

I'm used to doing midi in the FL Studio piano role, which in concept is not too different from the Reader midi editor I guess, although I really like being able to left click notes in and right click them to delete. The Reaper system seems clumsy to me. By inline midi editing, do you mean right in the track view? That would probably solve the other problem I have, which is that I like to click in drum parts in a blank piano role. Maybe I am missing something, but it seems like you have to record some midi first before you can get the editor to come up, which is a pain.

John
Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 06:04 PM   #9
kejkz
Human being with feelings
 
kejkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer
By inline midi editing, do you mean right in the track view?
Yes!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer
it seems like you have to record some midi first before you can get the editor to come up, which is a pain.
There is option under insert menu to to create a new midi file, so you don't have to record anything if you don't like
kejkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 06:48 AM   #10
Stringer
Human being with feelings
 
Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: State of California
Posts: 542
Default

Quote:
There is option under insert menu to to create a new midi file, so you don't have to record anything if you don't like
Thanks. I saw that, but I thought it was for importing a file.

In Fruity, if you want to put in say a measure of 1/8 note high hats, it's just click, click, click . . . In Reaper, it's right click, insert event, move the note, right click, insert event, move the note. That's what I mean by clumsy.

Thanks,

John
Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 07:04 AM   #11
kejkz
Human being with feelings
 
kejkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 226
Default

I understand you perfectly, to much mouse and menu hussle.

It could be great that reaper creates new midi file with just a double or triple click in track. And that new midi lenght is not arbitrary, that it have the lenght of selected loop for example... or until next midi file if there is one
kejkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 12:32 PM   #12
Odin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 221
Default

Bump. Any news about inline editing?
Odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 12:35 AM   #13
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Only Justin's recent message from his holiday hideaway that he's had some thoughts on midi.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 04:07 PM   #14
undertone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 130
Default

Funny: I was trying to figure out how to propose this when I read down the list and noticed this thread.

Absolutely! The ability to edit midi in a timeline, in context, aligned with and while auditioning audio tracks is definitely one of my wishes too.

u
undertone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 04:37 PM   #15
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,850
Default

i found inline editing in tracktion to be sort of lackluster.

i like both options, i like a window AND i like inline.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 05:33 AM   #16
undertone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill
i like both options, i like a window AND i like inline.
That's the best, but I'd want the windowed version to still run in parallel with the other midi and recorded tracks, with an option to solo.

u
undertone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.