Old 01-19-2019, 11:09 AM   #1
gunny
Human being with feelings
 
gunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Posts: 48
Default Any trick how to display chord names in main view?

Hello,

I'm not sure whether this is a question or a feature request... =)

Is there any trick (a script, maybe?) how to display chord *names* in main view?
(I mean other than a bunch of static markers created one by one. =)

It would be even more great if the chords could be taken from a selected midi track and the names could move with its MIDI clips.

It could look like this:
Attached Images
File Type: png reaper-chords_cr.png (58.6 KB, 368 views)
gunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 10:07 PM   #2
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,562
Default

I often create cue tracks for chords or lyrics. It helps some performers do a better take.

Create a track, insert an empty item, then add a text note (on my system, it's a little symbol above the item). Check the box for 'expand to fill available space'.

Since it rescales and hides text when zoomed out horizontally, it is necessary to duplicate the item throughout the song, one item for each chord (or short lyric phrase). Each item is positioned to start on the beat it happens. For chords, it's fastest to create one item for each chord, then copy/paste to drop each chord where it belongs.

Tip: after typing some text, hit tab 3 times before hitting enter. That avoids starting a new line in the text box.

It helps to make the track color black for better text contrast.

This is all pretty manual - it won't read the midi notes to generate chord names (though that would be cool, it would probably require a LUA script or something).
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news

Last edited by Philbo King; 01-19-2019 at 10:17 PM.
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 08:50 AM   #3
gunny
Human being with feelings
 
gunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks for the suggestion. =)
The notes in empty items work quite well - especially with "Stretch to fit".

Now I just need to find enough motivation to learn scripting... =}
gunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 07:20 AM   #4
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 267
Default

I use REGIONS to create chord names.

The GOOD: The regions can be seen in both the track view and the midi view. And you can be very precise in locating the chord name in relation to the music.

The BAD: The regions show their region ID# before the chord name. At a certain zoom level that ID# will disappear.

I've said it before - I wish we had a dedicated CHORD LANE that could be toggled on/off.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 02:02 PM   #5
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,088
Default

well here is a thought....

you could make a set of png files, each one a chord name... hey they could even include gtr fingering if desired... make them all the same size... put into their own folder where you can get at them fast

drop them on an empty track as desired.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 02:26 PM   #6
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
well here is a thought....

you could make a set of png files, each one a chord name... hey they could even include gtr fingering if desired... make them all the same size... put into their own folder where you can get at them fast

drop them on an empty track as desired.

Pretty cool idea!
This would work great for most stuff, but my originals have a lot 'made up' chords, like this Bm11 x22232 - I'd end up putting a lot of time into drawing .png's - but that's my problem...
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 03:59 PM   #7
Pinknoise
Human being with feelings
 
Pinknoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Around Montréal
Posts: 877
Default

Maybe some script from Heda can help. Note reader, text import and region from item : https://reaper.hector-corcin.com/
Pinknoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 05:02 PM   #8
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,088
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philbo King View Post
Pretty cool idea!
This would work great for most stuff, but my originals have a lot 'made up' chords, like this Bm11 x22232 - I'd end up putting a lot of time into drawing .png's - but that's my problem...
well two thoughts... use a combination of something like FastStone Capture [google for it] and photoshop or something like it...
In PS you could set up a template for chord names and also for gtr string positions and have layers for each where you just turn on or off some layers then save out that png by file name.

with capture, find some PDF of detailed chord charts and copy those out as pngs....

try to google for chord pdf's or online chord generators or similar
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 08:48 PM   #9
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,562
Default

Thanks Hopi!
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 11:38 AM   #10
gunny
Human being with feelings
 
gunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Posts: 48
Default

I just wrote a simple batch script and it generated a bunch of images with different chord names using ImageMagick.

Here's the script and the generated images:
https://uloz.to/!3h0e8luuBrXQ/chords-zip
gunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 11:49 AM   #11
gunny
Human being with feelings
 
gunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
I use REGIONS to create chord names.
I should have mentioned regions in my initial post too. =} Unfortunately they are too similar to markers. As far I as know they can't be easily moved or copied.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
I've said it before - I wish we had a dedicated CHORD LANE that could be toggled on/off.
Yes, a dedicated lane would be the most comfortable solution.
gunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 05:45 PM   #12
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,088
Default

I can agree with a dedicated chord lane but since in reaper a track is a track is a track, I can also see where that would become difficult...

compromise is what we have I guess....

I did make a very basic Photoshop template that can be used to generate png files with some chord detail and those can all go into a folder from which they can either become an item or can be used as the image file in the notes for an item...

what would be nice if when used as the image in notes, we did not have to 'Load' but could just drag and drop into the notes window

the real problem comes when changing zoom levels... doing that drastically changes what you see on the 'chord' track

One solution is to put the pngs on their own track and place and size their item length as desired and then see them in the video window

None of these are 'ideal' but we got what we got
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 03:57 AM   #13
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 564
Default

I too use the notes in empty items.
Sometimes I have 3 note tracks at the top of a project, one for chords, the other 2 for arrangement, cues or mix notes.

Having a (snap to) chord lane would be great, but I think in 98% of sessions I would not use it to snap my midi to any chord /scale lock < not fun.
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 07:47 AM   #14
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
I can agree with a dedicated chord lane but since in reaper a track is a track is a track, I can also see where that would become difficult...
But lanes and tracks are quite different.

Using a track to show text or image is a work-around, but those methods still fail to display when using the midi editor. (Well I only tried it with text, but I am presuming an image will fail...let me know if I am wrong.)

On the other hand, lanes display in both the track view and the midi editor. I would like to see the chord symbols when I am writing in the midi editor. (And I don't have any need for my input to snap to the chord - I just want a reminder as to the harmony at that moment in the tune.)

We have discrete lanes for regions, markers and tempo that all appear in both views. (There is even an option in the midi view to select what lanes you wish to see.)

So I would believe that adding a chord lane would certainly be an enhancement to Reaper. And hopefully, it would not be terribly difficult to establish.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 12:30 PM   #15
gunny
Human being with feelings
 
gunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
But lanes and tracks are quite different.

Using a track to show text or image is a work-around, but those methods still fail to display when using the midi editor.
Amen to that. =)
gunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 12:35 PM   #16
gunny
Human being with feelings
 
gunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristopherT View Post
Having a (snap to) chord lane would be great, but I think in 98% of sessions I would not use it to snap my midi to any chord /scale lock < not fun.
I did not even dare to think about it =) but it would be useful for some quick prototyping or arps.
gunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 02:40 PM   #17
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,040
Default

Check out ReaTrak
and Easy Chord Diagram Generator Tutorial for Guitar, Ukulele, Banjo, Mandolin etc...
I will make it so ReaTrak fills the track with chord diagrams from the chord region names also.



MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.