Old 01-20-2019, 08:57 AM   #1
Bluebottle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: England
Posts: 94
Default Short Cut ...Play Rate Fader SOLVED

I managed to add a keyboard-key short cut to the Play Rate to return it to 1.0 ....all okay.
But is it possible to add a short cut to decrease it to 0.5 ?

I've looked in Action Menu but there's nothing listed for PLAY RATE FADER RANGE 0.5-2.0 as I expect
it's a variable command.

But can it be done somehow in Reaper customise? It would be really handy.

Last edited by Bluebottle; 01-24-2019 at 07:18 AM. Reason: Solved
Bluebottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 09:14 AM   #2
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,682
Default

X-Raym made a script called "Set master playrate to 50%" in ReaPack.

Last edited by cfillion; 01-20-2019 at 11:06 AM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 10:39 AM   #3
Bluebottle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: England
Posts: 94
Default

Thanks...I was hoping for a simpler way ..I'm not sure about attempting X-Raym scripts ..in fact I didn't know they existed ..at first glance it looks quite complicated.

I thought there might be a simple midi/controller way of turning that Play Rate dial
Bluebottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 11:02 AM   #4
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,682
Default

Scripts are additional actions made by users. They are run the same way as the native actions (such as the action to reset the playrate to 1.0 you found).

Here's how to install and use it (using https://reapack.com):



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluebottle View Post
I thought there might be a simple midi/controller way of turning that Play Rate dial
The SWS extension provides such an action: "SWS/BR: Adjust playrate (MIDI CC only)". http://sws-extension.org/
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 01:27 PM   #5
Bluebottle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: England
Posts: 94
Default

This is very good of you..many thanks for your time...Ill have a good look at this.
Bluebottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 05:12 PM   #6
Bluebottle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: England
Posts: 94
Default

Totally lost with extensions. I got the Extension to show up in the menu and also downloaded SWS..

But I downloaded the Reapack and got two folders full of files ...so what do I do with these. ? No help given,

There's a lot of info about Extensions out there...but no clear step by step how to proceed for beginners new to this.

Tried to follow the enclosed video clip but it goes too fast and haven't a clue what it's describing,

Is there any start up beginners link tutorial extensions anywhere ? The Reapack tutoriol doesn't help at all.
Bluebottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 02:07 AM   #7
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluebottle View Post
But I downloaded the Reapack and got two folders full of files ...so what do I do with these. ? No help given
Mhh not sure what you mean by "two folders full of files".

When you download ReaPack from the website, you get only one file (for example: reaper_reapack64.dll). To install it, go to REAPER's Options menu > Show REAPER resource path in explorer/finder, open the UserPlugins folder, and move the reaper_reapack file previously downloaded from the website there. After restarting REAPER, a "ReaPack" submenu should appear in the Extensions menu.

The following is what I did in the video above:

Go to Extensions > ReaPack > Browse packages. Type "set playrate" in the filter box. Right click on "Set master playrate to 50%" (X-Raym's script) and choose Install. Click on OK and wait for the download to complete. The script is now installed & added to the Action List, ready to be used.

Last edited by cfillion; 01-22-2019 at 10:19 AM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 05:40 AM   #8
Bluebottle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: England
Posts: 94
Default

Okay...I see what I need to do ....but I did put the Reapack dll in the plug ins as described but no matter
what I do, Reapack is not showing up in the Extension menu.

All my dll 's work fine and are recognised but not the Reapack.

I saw on the forum that maybe I need to be connected to the web for it to show up and work ??

Again thanks for your help ...I really do appreciate your time.
Bluebottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 10:16 AM   #9
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,475
Default

screenshot of the Userplugins folder please
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 03:34 PM   #10
Bluebottle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: England
Posts: 94
Default

Spent ages getting a screen shot...sending it to iPad...editing...

Now ...it won't load to the forum because it's too big ! Why do these things have to be self defeating ?

Anyway you would have seen ...my VST folder with the file

reaper_reapack64 DLL file

In it. But as mentioned it isn't recognised at all and doesn't show up in the Extenstion menu.
Bluebottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 05:27 PM   #11
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,475
Default

reapack is not a VST it is a reaper extension like SWS.

VST folder is for instruments and effects

reaper extensions go in the USERPlugins folder inside the reaper folder.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 05:40 PM   #12
Bluebottle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: England
Posts: 94
Default

Many thanks....I guessed I was doing something wrong with the dll.

I'll try again tomorrow and if it works I'll add SOLVED to the thread.

Again, thanks for everyone's help and guidance ..I really appreciate it.
Bluebottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 02:25 PM   #13
Bluebottle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: England
Posts: 94
Default

Finally got Reapack to show in Extensions .

So....

In the Browse Packages....

Typing in filter "set Play Rate" ...nothing happening. All Boxes are blank.

(There is a message appearing saying 7 errors... each one has..."couldn't resolve host name" ...this appears
after the ..Browse Packages box.

Seems I'm getting quite some bad luck with this.
Bluebottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 07:19 AM   #14
Bluebottle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: England
Posts: 94
Default

Just needed to connect to internet ! Solved
Bluebottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.