Old 01-22-2019, 08:49 AM   #1
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default Glue Selected Takes?

Is it possible to glue selected takes of multiple items and keep the other takes?

So gluing the selected takes (indicated with a dash):

[-i1t1-][ i2t1 ][ i3t1 ]
[ i1t2 ][-i2t2-][ i3t2 ]
[ i1t3 ][ i2t3 ][-i3t3-]

Would result in this:

[-i1t1-][-i1t1-][-i1t1-]
[ i1t2 ][ i2t1 ][ i3t1 ]
[ i1t3 ][ i2t3 ][ i3t2 ]

Writing this out I can see it gets complicated for the other takes that are not selected for gluing at that moment, although possibly need to be combined later.

Use case would be if you have recorded multiple versions of multiple song sections and would like to combine different ones into easily switchable whole versions.

Maybe is there another way to go about achieving a similar result?
Playlist > convert playlists into takes?
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 10:59 AM   #2
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,223
Default

Isn't this pretty much what Comps are for?
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 11:07 AM   #3
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
Isn't this pretty much what Comps are for?
^Probably one of the better routes. There is also "render items as new take" which I 'think' renders a new take of the currently selected/active takes. But there is no naming or organization for those if you render several of them, but comps does have that organization to an extent since you can name them etc.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 04:43 PM   #4
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Thanks, I'll try the comps and see how I get along with them.

Visually it would be nice to have a continuous takes on top of each other - sort of WYSIWYG way.
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 08:13 AM   #5
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 906
Default

Hi,
I find it helps if you have a main toolbar button for show takes on/off. Trust me:-)
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 09:13 AM   #6
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LugNut View Post
Hi,
I find it helps if you have a main toolbar button for show takes on/off. Trust me:-)
Yeah, I use Ctrl+L for that.
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.