Old 06-29-2017, 08:05 PM   #1
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,477
Default Looking for left - right delay

Hey Reaper friends:

I am playing around with delay effects, added to a vibraphone. I am looking for something that will send it back and forth from the left to right channel, hard panned.

If you need a reference, check out the main theme for Basic Instinct by Jerry Goldsmith. Notice the percussion synths.

https://youtu.be/m6uCAZFCtTY

I currently have JS Floaty added to my EW HP vibraphone, and it sounds absolutely wonderful ... only thing I'd wish is to have it bounce back and forth.

Thanks!
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 09:43 PM   #2
Aeolian
Human being with feelings
 
Aeolian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Somewhere PRO
Posts: 997
Default

Readelay with two tabs... Each panned hard left and right.
Left does 250ms or whatever, the right does 500ms.

Or

Js ping pong...
__________________
Resistors are futile, you will be simulated ...
Aeolian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 02:03 AM   #3
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 971
Default

iZotope DDLY Dynamic Delay does that afaik.
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 07:50 AM   #4
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,477
Default

Thanks!
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 09:06 AM   #5
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeolian View Post
Readelay with two tabs... Each panned hard left and right.
Left does 250ms or whatever, the right does 500ms.
Have you tried that? It'll work as long as you use no feedback and are cool with exactly one repeat of either side. With more feedback/repeats, you'll find that you've just got the left side repeating twice as fast as the right, and you'll actually hear it on both sides every 500ms.

Code:
...|...|...|...|
.......|.......|.......|.......|
In order to get a real ping pong delay you need two instances of ReaDelay. One you set up like normal. The second you go in the routing pins and disable both input and output on one side or the other and then set the delay time to half of what you set in the first. (Doesn't actually matter what order you put them in, though)


Code:
...|...|...|...|
.....|...|...|...|

Last edited by ashcat_lt; 06-30-2017 at 09:11 AM.
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 01:17 PM   #6
Reason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 725
Default

I've used JS Ping Pong for exactly this, works great IMO.
Reason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 02:06 PM   #7
Aeolian
Human being with feelings
 
Aeolian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Somewhere PRO
Posts: 997
Default

Lol I guess I came up with the equivalent of One Ping Only.

I haven't used a ping pong delay for years.
__________________
Resistors are futile, you will be simulated ...
Aeolian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2017, 05:06 PM   #8
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
Have you tried that? It'll work as long as you use no feedback and are cool with exactly one repeat of either side. With more feedback/repeats, you'll find that you've just got the left side repeating twice as fast as the right, and you'll actually hear it on both sides every 500ms.

Code:
...|...|...|...|
.......|.......|.......|.......|
In order to get a real ping pong delay you need two instances of ReaDelay. One you set up like normal. The second you go in the routing pins and disable both input and output on one side or the other and then set the delay time to half of what you set in the first. (Doesn't actually matter what order you put them in, though)


Code:
...|...|...|...|
.....|...|...|...|

Ping pong delay works well, but I tried this as well, and ran into this issue:

when you add FX in a chain, then the sound is processed sequentially, through the chain.

So, for example: instrument > delay 1 > delay 2.

Now, if you hard pan delay 1 to L, then the signal fed into delay 2 is already panned hard left. What I would like to do is set up something like this:

instrument > delay 1
instrument > delay 2
instrument > delay 3
instrument > delay 4

And pan / process each of them however I'd like. Is that possible?

Of course I can create 4 separate tracks but I wonder if it can be done within one track.
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 05:56 AM   #9
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 611
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter5992 View Post
Of course I can create 4 separate tracks but I wonder if it can be done within one track.
Yep, you could do this with routing - I think you'd need to make the track 8 channel (say) and put yr delay input pins on 1/2 - their outputs on 7/8, 5/6, 3/4, 1/2 then you might use JS 8x stereo mixer to bring it all together on 1/2

Or something like that.
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 09:55 AM   #10
Bri1
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,432
Default

Heyllo-
Once you have recorded audio in the arrange area you can do lots with that--delays/echoing/flanging/chorusing/pitch harmonizing/timestretching/reversing/stuttering/tremolo/distorting/gating/panning/channelling/widening(+monoing)/doubling.
All per item/clip.No fx needed. this can all mainly done with duplications/overlapping and free item positionings,before its even hits a fader.
Plus all the undo's if user is prone to mistaking/misediting.
^Not toooo shabby-

Last edited by Bri1; 07-03-2017 at 09:59 AM. Reason: 1Xtra.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 10:21 AM   #11
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter5992 View Post
Of course I can create 4 separate tracks but I wonder if it can be done within one track.
I'd just hunt down a tool specific to the job, shouldn't be too hard to find something...

http://www.voxengo.com/product/tempodelay/

You can also do it with two FX tracks using feedback routing...



More of a PIA IMHO, still like a dedicated tool for it better me thinks.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.

Last edited by karbomusic; 07-03-2017 at 10:49 AM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.