Old 08-07-2009, 07:42 PM   #1
Clownmite
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Default Using Pre-Written MIDI with Waves Morphoder

I've been experimenting with vocoders lately. I've had no problem setting up the carrier and modulator tracks on the free vocoders I've tried - Vocovee and TAL vocoder. In both cases, I take a pre-written MIDI file to use as a carrier/melody, which is sung by the modulator track (my voice).

However, with Waves Morphoder, I can't seem to get it to recognize the pre-recorded MIDI. I can get it to work just fine by using the keyboard at the bottom of the VST, but it won't seem to take the melody that I have created in MIDI and snap the modulator to that melody. I've looked at the manual and it claims it has support for it, but I just can't get it to work. Any ideas?

In case you need more detail, I have the carrier track set as a send to the modulator track (which is set up to include 4 channels). The 2 channels from the carrier track are set to channels 3 and 4 on the modulator track. As I said, the other vocoders work fine in this configuration, but not Morphoder.
Clownmite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 01:33 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,016
Default

Double-check that you are Sending the MIDI from the carrier track to the modulator track.

Perhaps you could compress a simple problem project file (no samples needed) into a ZIP file and post it here as an attachment so we can have a look at it and see what's (not) happening?
  • In XP, right-click the project file, select Send To ... compressed (Zipped) folder).
  • drag any other required media files into the ZIP file,
  • when you reply, scroll down a bit, open the "Additional Options" section if needed by clicking the double downwards arrows,
  • click on [Manage Attachments], browse to your ZIP file, select and Upload it.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 08:19 AM   #3
Clownmite
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Double-check that you are Sending the MIDI from the carrier track to the modulator track.
As I said, I currently have TAL vocoder working fine on this exact track. If I uncheck the box for TAL, and check the box for Waves Morphoder, I don't get anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Perhaps you could compress a simple problem project file (no samples needed) into a ZIP file and post it here as an attachment so we can have a look at it and see what's (not) happening?
I'm a little confused as to how this would help. If I compress just the project files, none of the plugins or MIDI files would be there, correct? How would people who don't have Waves Morphoder be able to help with the project without me uploading it (which is illegal)?

If it's the carrier sending to the modulator that is still the concern, here's a screenshot: [IMG]http://img6.**************/img6/830/vocoder1.jpg[/IMG]
Clownmite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 08:59 AM   #4
the all new rob
Human being with feelings
 
the all new rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: east coast of Kansas
Posts: 681
Default

TAL Vocoder has an in-built synth. If your other vocoder plug is expecting audio (i.e. does not generate it from the midi) you would need another plug to get from your midi to audio, so it gets the audio carrier it's expecting.
__________________
"Well feeling (emotion) combined with an artist's discipline is the rarest thing in the world."
-- Ursula Nordstrom
the all new rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:00 AM   #5
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

Quote from Waves manual
"Morphoder includes an eight-voice polyphonic synthesizer. It is designed to be controlled via the mouse and the GUI keyboard, or by a MIDI Keyboard controller. This functionality is not always available. It depends on the specific plug-in version and host."
Do you have another morphoder plugin?
EDIT If your version can accept midi data it will say midi in a green box to the left of the keyboard.
HTH Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est

Last edited by bradleyfilms; 08-08-2009 at 11:41 AM.
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:14 AM   #6
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clownmite View Post
If I compress just the project files, none of the plugins or MIDI files would be there, correct? How would people who don't have Waves Morphoder be able to help with the project without me uploading it (which is illegal)?
The project would have contained the tracks and the MIDI clips (but not any MIDI files) and no plugins. But it would allow us to get a better idea of what your project is doing..

So, rest assured, nothing illegal at all.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:16 AM   #7
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,016
Default

There looks to be some MIDI CC (or PC) messages at the start of the MIDI clip. Are they zapping the Morphoder ?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 11:37 AM   #8
faze1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Clownmite, did you ever get morphoder working? I have only been able to use that plugin in cubase. The way morphoder works is that you have to insert it as an fx on the audio track and then open up a midi track and select it in the midi channel. I think the problem is that reaper sees it as an fx plugin only.
faze1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:48 PM   #9
dunego
Human being with feelings
 
dunego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 80
Default

Can't get Morphoder to work here too. Seems like Reaper can't send midi to the plugin.
dunego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 01:18 PM   #10
influenced
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southampton UK
Posts: 80
Default

Hey guys
Looks like an old thread till today but I've actually got it working...you gotta use the DXi version of the plug though.

Its straighforward but I'll write it anyway...instantiate the DXi on a new track via "Insert virtual instrument on new track", make sure the track is armed and that Record Monitoring is turned on. The MIDI button on the plug must be green.
Place your audio clip on the track, hit play and start tickling the ivories. You can route some midi notes from another track via the usual sends set-up too.
influenced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:21 PM   #11
bpbpbp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

I can't see how to install Waves as a DXi - maybe I can't, because I'm on Mac - but I found this tutorial:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=arEg8hzoR-0

If you follow this, it works the same using Waves Morphoder.
bpbpbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 06:56 AM   #12
Sergey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Default Same problem in 2017

Hey guys! Same problem here, Morphoder can't recognize midi signal. The video above is not working. Any solution? Thx!
Sergey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 05:08 AM   #13
Ulf3000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 342
Default

so is my guess correct that you´re searching for the best vocoder and try them all out ?

because i already did that, and i must recommend izotope vocalsynth here , the talkbox sektion of it is AMAZING , the second best sounding one is
the freeware "mda talkbox"

for signature oldschool vocoder i also kept orange vocoder
Ulf3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.