Old 10-08-2016, 03:10 AM   #1
godly
Human being with feelings
 
godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium - Gent
Posts: 687
Default Reaper better oriented for LIVE use

Could you guys please consider to look at Reaper to make it better LIVE user friendly?

I'm using it now (see my signature) in this way, but it's missing lot's of functionality and speed to use it in a good way.
You guys could learn allot from Ableton, but without loosing the reaper plus functionality.

I think it's already great, but missing lot's of things.
Mainly speed is now the main problem, the snapshots are to big and load to slow (should be almost instant)

I'm considering other LIVE host software for PC, but so far Reaper is my only favorite but it's no fun using live so far.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeEbWezX0Ps
godly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 03:15 AM   #2
godly
Human being with feelings
 
godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium - Gent
Posts: 687
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXK-0o8dYC4
godly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 03:29 AM   #3
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,772
Default

I don't follow you;
You are talking about lack of easy live use in Reaper but you give a link
which show use of a device rack in Live.

Makes no sense.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 03:31 AM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,772
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godly View Post
Could you guys please consider to look at Reaper to make it better LIVE user friendly?

I'm using it now (see my signature) in this way, but it's missing lot's of functionality and speed to use it in a good way.
You guys could learn allot from Ableton, but without loosing the reaper plus functionality.

I think it's already great, but missing lot's of things.
Mainly speed is now the main problem, the snapshots are to big and load to slow (should be almost instant)

I'm considering other LIVE host software for PC, but so far Reaper is my only favorite but it's no fun using live so far.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeEbWezX0Ps
Check out Playtime :

https://www.helgoboss.org/projects/playtime/
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 03:31 AM   #5
godly
Human being with feelings
 
godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium - Gent
Posts: 687
Default

It's an example for functionality
godly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 07:21 AM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,908
Default

After considering a lot of different VST host software products, I decided to use Reaper to create a "box" that for me works, as the Muse Receptor would do (no monitor/muse/keyboard connected "on stage", just controlled via Midi).

I use "SWS LiveConfigs" and some additional tools, including some special purpose JSFX scripts I did myself. There are no speed problems at all.

Please read my update and extension to the LiveConfigs user guide

-> http:www.bschnell.de/LiveConfigs_1.pdf

and come back if you have any questions.

I also did a patch manager (works but still in progress) to support patch changes when doing live gigs.

-> http:www.bschnell.de/patch.pdf

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 10-08-2016 at 08:58 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 05:21 AM   #7
godly
Human being with feelings
 
godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium - Gent
Posts: 687
Default

Thx Michael,

I'm using it this way and love it, only the loading of snapshots is way to slow.
Also, you have to recall the whole set of tracks, so you cannot have some tracks locked (f.e. input live instruments as guitar or mic so)

Once this is solved, Reaper will be a great Live DAW.

Seems that Ableton Live is better setup for it?
Listen to the differences between mainstage and live
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pfJz0-M0BzQ
godly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 05:46 AM   #8
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godly View Post
only the loading of snapshots is way to slow.
Obviously loading snapshots is just too slow to be usable for live work. I never tried this.

Obviously, that is why "SWS LiveConfigs" simply mutes / unmutes tracks that is doable in no time.

I supposed insisting on using snapshots will lead you to nowhere.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 01:38 AM   #9
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,908
Default

I uploaded the "Slider to Midi PS" plugin to ReaPack, so you easily can try it out. The package does contain a decent documentation.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 10-23-2016 at 03:51 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.