Old 05-20-2009, 10:00 PM   #1
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,168
Default Soundcards and Latency

Since this comes up so much I thought I'd make a sticky and hopefully that will help for buying cards and such

If you want to help, download the Latency Test Utility from CEntrance

http://www.centrance.com/downloads/ltu

Remember to turn off any monitoring so as not to skew the results. Please also check to see if the value changes every time you hit test. State Stable/Unstable according to whether it changes or not

Here's the list, Ill add to it as it grows:

LTU results(in msec) @44.1khz
32/64/128/256 sample buffer size

**NA/12.56/15.46/25.54 - Stable Echo Audiofire 12

**NA/ 7.35/13.15/24.76 - Stable Egosys Wami Rack PCI

**NA/***NA/18.44/27.14 - Unstable Line6 KB37 *

**NA/ 3.06/***NA/***NA - Stable Maudio Delta 44 PCI

**NA/ 3.20/ 6.10/11.88 - Stable Maudio Delta TDIF PCI

**NA/ 5.06/ 7.91/13.72 - stable within .05 msec M-Audio Fast Track Ultra USB

2.04/ 3.85/ 6.76/12.54 - Stable MOTU 896 (measuring digital I/O)
3.79/ 5.24/ 8.14/13.95 - Stable MOTU 896 (measuring analog I/O)

2.49ms/ 3.95ms/ 8.46ms/ 14.26 ms - Stable MOTU traveler driver rev 3.6.7.4 (measuring analog I/O)

3.61/ 5.06/ 7.96/13.76 - Stable RME Multiface

N/A / 6.10/ 9.00/14.81 - Stable RME FF800

* The line6 drivers are acting very screwy and reporting thruput without anything plugged in. In 16 bit mode the measurment appears accurate. In 24 bit mode, there is some internal passthru fudging the numbers
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 10:42 PM   #2
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,555
Default

M-Audio Fast Track Ultra: NA / 5.06 / 7.91 / 13.72

Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 10:58 PM   #3
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

RME FF800, analog

(Gigabyte EP45-DQ6 MoBo FW)

@ 32 : N/A
@ 64 : 6.10 (269 samples)
@128 : 9.00 (397 samples)
@256 : 14.81 (653 samples)

exactly the same results everytime i press "Measure!"
__________________
panda in the desert

Last edited by beatbybit; 05-21-2009 at 04:07 PM.
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:15 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,197
Default

MOTU traveler, driver rev 3.6.7.4

32: 110 samples / 2.49ms
64: 174 samples / 3.95ms
128: 373 samples / 8.46ms
256: 629 samples / 14.26 ms
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 06:03 AM   #5
antiClick
Human being with feelings
 
antiClick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mediterrenean Sea
Posts: 914
Default

RME HDSP9632 PCI

@44.1KHz
32 (156 samples): 3.54 ms
64 (220 samples): 4.99 ms
128 (348 samples): 7.89 ms
256 (604 samples): 13.70 ms

[EDIT]
Always exact same results.
use 64 for recording and 512 for mixing. Usually audio only projects larger than 50 chanels, 24 tracks playin at once. CPU raises to 80-90% when full of fx. Very reliable.

P4 4GigRam
winxp sp3 nlited by dux
Reaper v2.58
[/EDIT]

Last edited by antiClick; 06-11-2009 at 01:24 AM.
antiClick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 03:29 PM   #6
iamamonkeysoareyou
Human being with feelings
 
iamamonkeysoareyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 139
Default

Line6 POD Studio UX1

32 : NA
64 : NA
128: 159 samples / 3.61 ms
256: 281 samples / 6.37 ms
512: 543 samples / 12.31 ms
512: 1061 samples / 24.06 ms

Rather unstable Results keep changing eveytime i click on Measure.
__________________
My music www.reverbnation.com/iamamonkey and www.myspace.com/danlaimusic. Tracks can be purchased at danlaimusic.bandcamp.com

Gear: AMD Athlon 3200 / M-Audio Oxygen 64 / Line6 POD Studio UX1 / M-Audio Studiophine AV40 / Korg PadKONTROL / Novation Nocturn / Ibanez Universe UV777 / Epiphone Les Paul Custom Plus / REAPER!!!!!!
iamamonkeysoareyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:11 PM   #7
Wulftone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 12
Default Measurement Setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatbybit View Post
RME FF800, analog

(Gigabyte EP45-DQ6 MoBo FW)

@ 32 : N/A
@ 64 : 6.10 (269 samples)
@128 : 9.00 (397 samples)
@256 : 14.81 (653 samples)

exactly the same results everytime i press "Measure!"
Just curious, how did you guys set up your Fireface(s) to measure this? Did you use a cable, or the internal routing matrix?

-Trevor
Wulftone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 12:13 AM   #8
barbaroja
Human being with feelings
 
barbaroja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 258
Default

TC Electronic Konnekt Live

44100Hz

@128s = 496 samples / 11.25 ms
@256s = 752 samples / 17.05 ms
@512s = 1265 samples / 28.68 ms
@1024s = 2895 samples / 65.65 ms
barbaroja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:56 PM   #9
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,662
Default

presonus firebox - unstable. provided latencies are worst case out of five rounds for each buffer size. sorry, the firebox buffer sizes aren't standard.

buffer size setting in samples - 88/132/176/264
actual latency in ms (unstable, worst case) - 14.44/15.92/18.46/22.27
presonus control panel setting in ms - 2/3/4/6

can you say 'bah!'? noisy, not very low and unstable latency

edit:

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
if you are using a laptop, run your latency checking program (such as dcplat.exe) and go into your devices and disable acpi battery method and study the difference.

this may not work for everyone, but give it a try if you haven't already.

peace.
nice! firebox is stable with acpi disabled, at least without restarting centrance ltu. here are the stable numbers:

buffer size setting in samples - 88/132/176/264
actual latency in ms - 13.74/15.71/17.71/21.70
presonus control panel latency setting in ms - 2/3/4/6

now what about that damned noise? https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/279948/firebox-noise.wav

edit 2: don't buy one of these pieces of crap.

Last edited by brainwreck; 02-10-2010 at 06:07 PM.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 04:23 PM   #10
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,660
Default laptops versus desktops, latency will differ.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pipelineaudio View Post
Since this comes up so much I thought I'd make a sticky and hopefully that will help for buying cards and such
it is perhaps also good to know that latency and other issues will differ depending on whether you are using a laptop or not. (esp. with pc's) >>>laptops use acpi to check the battery and that service causes dropouts as well as added latency. also, having wifi enabled adds latency. i have found that users' desktops almost always coast in comparison to what their laptops do.

if you are using a laptop, run your latency checking program (such as dcplat.exe) and go into your devices and disable acpi battery method and study the difference.

this may not work for everyone, but give it a try if you haven't already.

peace.
__________________
thanks!
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 04:43 PM   #11
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,717
Default

You are maybe confusing DPC latency with audio latency. There is only a faint connection between these two as in "raising ASIO buffers may or may not help avoiding dropouts due to DPC related usurpation of the CPU".

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
>>>laptops use acpi to check the battery and that service causes dropouts as well as added latency.
Not laptops in general. Some models suffer from this, others don't. It's also not always the ACPI battery services causing DPC problems in laptops.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
also, having wifi enabled adds latency.
These problems are not confined to Laptops, some desktop PCs have problems with DPC latency as well. This is a rather complex issue and generalizations are not possible since the culprit can be a lot of things from faulty hardware to bad BIOS implementations and of course drivers.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 05:17 PM   #12
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,379
Default

this is what i get:
d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 10:32 PM   #13
hannebambel
Human being with feelings
 
hannebambel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
Default

d.gaus,
on my tests the sample size is allways the same. maybe there is a driver issue with your device since your sample size seems to be oddly high varying from 1066 to 1114 @ 256 samples where on my system it reports constantly 513 samples. In all the tests at any sample size and sample rate the measured sample size is allways close to twice the tested sample size where yours is allmost four times the sample size ... how are your dcp latency results ?

cheers,
hb
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2 GHz, 4 GB Ram
ST Audio DSP2000 C-Port w/V 8.4
hannebambel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 07:37 AM   #14
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hannebambel View Post
on my tests the sample size is allways the same. maybe there is a driver issue with your device since your sample size seems to be oddly high varying from 1066 to 1114 @ 256 samples where on my system it reports constantly 513 samples.
yeah, this isn't good. i hooked up a mackie onyx firewire mixer and the results were rock solid (see below). echo hasn't been much help yet. and all this time, i thought the audiofire was stable/reliable?

anybody else have an audiofire 8 or 12 that they've tested?

d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 06:37 PM   #15
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steindork View Post
You are maybe confusing DPC latency with audio latency. There is only a faint connection between these two as in "raising ASIO buffers may or may not help avoiding dropouts due to DPC related usurpation of the CPU".
"Thesycon's DPC Latency Checker is a Windows tool that analyses the capabilities of a computer system to handle real-time data streams properly. It -MAY- help to find the cause for interruptions in real-time audio and video streams, also known as drop-outs."

If you are using a laptop, there will be a battery monitoring service (acpi battery method.) As for my own laptop (dell inspiron 1720,) and for another friend who has a gateway laptop, the infamous (and MADDENING!!) dropouts and gaps in firewire audio completely disappear as a direct result of disabling this service. That evil service can cause giant spikes in latency every 20 or 30 seconds. Also, disabling the wifi brought our numbers even lower. Hope this helps someone with the same problem.

i didnt know there was a difference between one stream of data or another, as far as a computer is concerned. if you feel like explaining that, i am all ears. well, uh, eyes.
__________________
thanks!
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 06:30 AM   #16
natcamp10
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
"Thesycon's DPC Latency Checker is a Windows tool that analyses the capabilities of a computer system to handle real-time data streams properly. It -MAY- help to find the cause for interruptions in real-time audio and video streams, also known as drop-outs."

If you are using a laptop, there will be a battery monitoring service (acpi battery method.) As for my own laptop (dell inspiron 1720,) and for another friend who has a gateway laptop, the infamous (and MADDENING!!) dropouts and gaps in firewire audio completely disappear as a direct result of disabling this service. That evil service can cause giant spikes in latency every 20 or 30 seconds. Also, disabling the wifi brought our numbers even lower. Hope this helps someone with the same problem.

i didnt know there was a difference between one stream of data or another, as far as a computer is concerned. if you feel like explaining that, i am all ears. well, uh, eyes.
Hope this helps someone....... yes it did yes it did
natcamp10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 01:27 AM   #17
grover115
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Default

really good reaper track ............fine
grover115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 02:06 AM   #18
rmm
Human being with feelings
 
rmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: in the cellar
Posts: 351
Default M-AUDIO Audiophile 2496

M-AUDIO Audiophile 2496

44100Hz

@ 64 - 195 samples / 4.42 ms (works fine with roundabout 15 active plugins while having only one track inside the project)
-------------------------------
@ 128 - 322 samples / 7.30 ms (works fine with roundabout 15 active plugins while having only one track inside the project)
-------------------------------
@ 256 - 579 samples / 13.13 ms (works fine with roundabout 15 active plugins while having only one track inside the project)
-------------------------------
@ 512 - 1090 samples / 24.72 ms (with a few clicks if many tracks inside the project (roundabout 40 tracks))
-------------------------------
@1024 - 2114 samples / 47.94 ms (works fine unless to many plugins)
-------------------------------
@2048 - 4163 samples / 94.40 ms (latency to high for MIDI)
rmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 10:42 AM   #19
harry mudd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default Focusrite Saffire Pro14 & Saffire 6 USB (USB2.0 Model)

Saffire Pro14 w/Saffire Mix Control 3.2

32 164 samples / 3.72 ms
64 228 samples / 5.17 ms
128 356 samples / 8.07 ms
256 612 samples / 13.88 ms


Saffire 6 USB w/Focusrite USB 2.0 Audio Driver

32 491 samples / 11.13 ms (Buffer 1ms)
128 674 samples / 15.28 ms (Buffer 2ms)
256 1017 samples / 23.06 ms (Buffer 3ms)
512 2147 samples / 48.68 ms (Buffer 10ms)

Win7/64 Q8300@2.5GHz 4 GB
harry mudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 11:54 PM   #20
oweng
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Default heya

32 303 - 6.87
64 367 - 8.32
128 495 11.22
256 751 17.03
512 1263 28.64
1024 2287 51.86
2048 4335 98.30





@48

32//255//5.31
64//319//6.65
128//447//9.31
254//703//14.65
512//1215//25.31
1024//2239//46.65
2048//4287//89.31

now go back and see if the tweak improved @44

32//255//5.78

lets go tweak again ...

32//191//4.33 @44.1 ----


very very simple and easy tweak for ... i doubt i can get much more ...

******************
1.6 times faster .... - and simple and easy to do ...
******************
don't know it is is ... solid -- but - looks fine from here ....

... you can bug me for a bit - -- i will eventually tell .... --
i will work on the number a bit more


focusrite 24 -

Last edited by oweng; 09-14-2013 at 01:30 AM. Reason: new results
oweng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 11:07 PM   #21
Naji
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 646
Default M-Audio C400 Fast Track

128 / 5.2 MS
256 / 8.1 MS
512 / 13 MS
1024 / 25 MS

I am content. I mainly use SPDIF I/O connection.
During Recording I apply 128, I have heard if you want to hear yourself during playing and recording
without latency MS must not exceed 6 MS ?!
__________________________________________________ ___
REAPER 454 WIN 7 64 bit 8 GB RAM

Last edited by Naji; 01-17-2015 at 05:20 AM.
Naji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 01:44 PM   #22
josh gura
Human being with feelings
 
josh gura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gothenburg Sweden, Berlin Germany
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heaths View Post
I was having this same problem until today. I thought that was the issue, then I found this post - sure enough it works now.
dropouts on your laptop?

Last edited by sstillwell; 08-07-2009 at 12:17 PM.
josh gura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 02:19 PM   #23
Faderjockey
Human being with feelings
 
Faderjockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Baltimore,MD
Posts: 825
Default

spam once again on here...
__________________
www.barberelectronics.com

Last edited by Ollie; 03-14-2015 at 04:37 PM. Reason: removed quoted spam link
Faderjockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 01:20 AM   #24
Daniovan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 561
Default

Hello,

I have RME UCX, had Metric Halo ULN-8 and now Apogee with no latency issues at all.
__________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/daniovan/w...ad-3rd-version
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...bandID=1389041
[url]http://www.soundclick.com/paypal/default.cfm?bandID=1389041[/url

Last edited by Daniovan; 06-02-2015 at 01:41 AM.
Daniovan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 11:11 PM   #25
pjayton79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Default RME Fireface UCX Latency

Great Unit, The CEntrance measure tool reported.
This has worked flawlessly with reaper.
Currently using.

Input 1-2 Microphones.
Input 3 Bass
Input 5-6 Stereo in from Zoom g7.1ut Pedal +4 out then thru (output 3-4 bypass) to a fender FM212R Amp, which is mic'd up (input 1).
Optical Out - Edirol MA-10D (A/B speakers)
Line Out 1 & 2 - +4 Line to ADAM A7X monitors

Latency

192khz - 192samples - 3.51ms
96k -96sample - 3.68ms
44.1k - 48samples - 4.14ms
44.1k - 128samples - 8.08ms
44.1k - 1024sample - 40.48ms
pjayton79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 05:46 AM   #26
drumphil
Human being with feelings
 
drumphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,187
Default

Any chance this thread can be merged with the other one in the Reaper General Discussion Forum? The one titled "Round Trip Latency Roundup".
drumphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 09:16 AM   #27
johnss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: DK
Posts: 71
Default Motu 828x

Windows 10
Asus tuff z270 i7 770 4.20, 32 gb ram

44.100khz

64 samples - 1.45ms
96 samples - 2.18 ms
128 samples - 2.90 ms
192 samples - 4.35 ms
256 samples - 5.80 ms
512 samples - 11.61 ms
1024 smles - 23.22 ms

i did it twice and same results
johnss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.