Old 05-10-2008, 10:51 AM   #1
suprosuperman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 202
Default 8 input audio interface, best deal, choice?

Hi all

I was wondering about these multi input audio interface with multiple inputs for mics or guitar jacks, so you can sit down and jam and capture a couple of people playing all at once with even a bit of drums and record each of them onto their own track...

there are some budget minded products out their for arround 400 dollars that have ability to record 8 tracks at once onto 8 separate tracks at once.

So far the best deal seems to be the Line6 UX8, $499.99, and the Alesis io 26 , $399.00

anyone seen, heard or know of something better in this price range with as many inputs as 8,,,or more if it exists..

anyone have any opinions on the ones i mentioned above "cons" or "pros"...?????

thank in advance.
cheers.
suprosuperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 11:46 AM   #2
DerMetzgermeister
Human being with feelings
 
DerMetzgermeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,400
Default

That Alesis interface looks cool!
I don't know of other devices but if is of any help I have the UX8 and I love it. The advantage over the Alesis is that it has 2 instrument inputs and Line 6 Modeling that can be monitored with near-zero latency. It includes the VST plugin with models of guitar and bass amps and cabs, effects and mic preamps.
__________________
"Everybody here is going to eventually die with hard drives full of half finished relics." viscofisy
DerMetzgermeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 01:47 PM   #3
SlimSter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default Alesis io26

I have the Alesis IO26 and am still trying to decide how much i like it. It is my first real interface i've used with a computer so i don't really have anything to compare it to, but heres what i've learned about it so far.
First off it too has the 2 channels that you can switch to plug a guitar straight into, or they can be switched to plug microphones into.. It has a ton of other great features like phantom power on all 8 xlr channels, lightpipe conections, ADAT input and a MIDI input channel.
So it has a ton of features, if you are working with a lot of other equipment like midi devices and adat consoles you shouldn't run into too many drawbacks.
As far as actual recording goes with it. It works fine with Reaper on my computer. But sound quality seems to be lacking, maybe its just my lack of mixing skills or my "ok" micing skills. I can get pretty clean signals out of my io26 through my microphones when recording vocals straight into the mics and my guitar through my amplifier. But for my Shure sm57 mic i have to have the gain turned up a little past 9 and the mic has to be really close to the amp in order to capture a full spectrum of sound. I have read a few other people complaining about the mic preamps not being powerful enough.. On the other hand though my AKG Perception 100 condenser mic doesnt have to be turned up past 7 or 8 usualy.. so maybe its just my mics..
When i record straight into the guitar channel with my guitar I still need to turn the gain up to about 8/9 to in order to capture decent quality sound, but the only problem is when i turn in up past 7/8 i start picking up bad noise:/. I have tried a few things to get rid of the noise but it won't go away, so i have decided to stick with micing my amplifier since the sound quality is usualy better anyways....
I have recorded quite a few songs just to play around with while i figure out how best to use my IO26 and how to mix my songs after i record them. My songs sound really good while listening with headphones through the IO26, but after i render them with reaper into wav files they generaly will not play near as loud. Now this part could be all my fault since i am still learning how to mix and that can have a lot to do with how loud the final product comes out as but i don't know... I really want to hear what other people have produced using an IO26 to see what kind of potential it has. I can post some of what i have recorded using it so far, but i'll have to run home and grab the files so... i'll get those for you in a while and you can sample some product to help you decide

Last edited by SlimSter; 05-10-2008 at 01:50 PM.
SlimSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 04:27 PM   #4
bullshark
Human being with feelings
 
bullshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: traîne mes guêtres en Québec...
Posts: 5,390
Default

If you need mobility, the Edirol FA-101 is a pretty good choice. The unit is made of sturdy aluminum, it's compact and light yet very sturdy; The overall latency is very good, so is sound quality (from both the AD/DA and pres), the driver is solid, has very good S/N ratio, it features direct monitoring and can be switched from buss power to included external PSU. I got mine for $374.00 Canadian, which makes it one of the lowest cost 10in/10out Firewire audio interface on the market. Oh, and it looks very sexy

On the minus side, you can't switch sample rate on the fly like most of the others, there's only one high Z input, the driver is minimalistic at the extreme (entirely devoid of any creature comfort that one usually take for granted), there's no facility to rackmount it and, like most, if not all, interface in this price range, the pres can get a bit noisy if pushed very hard.

Last edited by bullshark; 05-10-2008 at 04:33 PM.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 04:35 PM   #5
Baer
Human being with feelings
 
Baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 335
Default

I’ve got an iO26 as a more portable alternative to my RME FF800 for those situations where I don’t want to lug around the 60 lb rack. For the money I think it’s a great little unit. Quiet and sounds good; very flexible with lots of inputs and outputs and gain/level controls on everything. I had a little trouble getting a good one (search the forum for iO26) but I attribute that more to MusiciansFriend screwups than the iO26. It doesn’t provide extraordinary amounts of gain, but it is certainly as good as anything else in its price range. I wouldn’t hesitate recommending it.
Baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 07:47 PM   #6
SlimSter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Here is what i recorded today with My IO26

http://www.myspace.com/gullove

I think the 2nd song turned out pretty clear and good..
But the mix on the 1st one gone away sucks... i'll probably delete when i make something else good, anyways hope these samples help...
SlimSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 07:59 PM   #7
Sonic Vampire
Human being with feelings
 
Sonic Vampire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 593
Default

Tascam 1614 8mic pre's and 6 line ins (14 inputs) through USB 2

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/produ...ace?sku=245002

looks pretty cool, maybe in the near future for me
Sonic Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 02:12 PM   #8
hardplay
Human being with feelings
 
hardplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South
Posts: 901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suprosuperman View Post
Hi all


there are some budget minded products out their for arround 400 dollars that have ability to record 8 tracks at once onto 8 separate tracks at once.

anyone seen, heard or know of something better in this price range with as many inputs as 8,,,or more if it exists..

If you do serious audio and want some advanced routing and don't want to sell your soul i reccomend the Terratec EWS88MT,it's the first version of the Phase 88. I got one on ebay for only 150 euro's and that's a bargain, i've always seen them on sale up there !

The EWS88MT is a fantastic solution, it has 8 channel (RCA) analog I/O with 24-bit, 96 kHz , digital in and out, an indipendent windows sound system solution, a breakout box and many other top notch features, another great thing is that you can cascade another 3 cards under a master/slave configuration.

Last but not least it has ASIO 2.0, GSIF Multiclient support and Reaper had no problem with my two master and slave ews88mt cards

follow the link and read the review:

http://www.pcrecording.com/ews88review.htm
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TUTORIAL:CONTROLLARE REAPER DA CELL/TABLET https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207711
hardplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 10:04 AM   #9
AME06063
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default

You're all paying WAY too much. Check out the Multicord USB interface....

affordablemusicalendeavors.net23.net
AME06063 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:54 PM   #10
nerdfactormax
Human being with feelings
 
nerdfactormax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: A-town, Australia
Posts: 633
Default

umm... 7?
Everyone knows that odd numbers mess up the feng shui of a studio.
A few tips:
-you may want to actually say what bitrate/frequency your product is cabable of.
-Are the inputs balanced/unbalanced?
-can multiple modules be used concurrently?
-does it work with any software that regular people use?
-purple makes me want to vomit
-use a tripod if you can't hold the camera still.
You've obviously spent a lot of time developing your products. A couple more minutes to think about web presentation/content/layout/etc would be worthwhile.

If you're going to post on the reaper forum, you could at least say whether your product works with reaper.
nerdfactormax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 01:33 AM   #11
daal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 397
Default

As for me, I got a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 and it's quite a good interface. Like all of them I think, it has pros and cons.

In the pros, you got 8 jack/xlr, the preamps are very clear, the routing/mixing options are really impressive (can create 8 different mixes to route to 8 differents or same outputs etc.).
In the cons, the buttons look cheap, the software part is quite complicated (but powerful), given VST are quite useless.

Latency is well under xp (3-5 ms), in vista it's hard to go under 6.5ms.

For the price (400€), i'm really really happy with it. I'm producing a cd with it and reaper and for now it goes well. On vista it's a lot more stable than my previous firebox.
__________________
"you need to be comfortable with your tools" - RobRokken
daal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:58 PM   #12
robg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Atascadero, CA
Posts: 305
Default

For firewire (which, as discussed above, and elsewhere ad nauseum) gives the best throughput & latency), MOTU & RME FireFace are the way to go.

I love my MOTU 8pre.
robg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:24 PM   #13
AME06063
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default

> umm... 7. Everyone knows that odd numbers mess up the feng shui of a studio.
Heh, yeah I know, it seems random. The story behind that is that the USB circuitry is based around a USB hub controller chip, which for some reason is always a max of 7 channels, not 8. Hopefully the functionality of the product will make up for the lack of studio feng shui

> A few tips:
Absolutely! Always open to constructive criticism.

>you may want to actually say what bitrate/frequency your product is cabable of.
It has a max sample rate of 48Khz. Not top of the line, but not too shabby. Thanks for that though, that really should be on the website.

>Are the inputs balanced/unbalanced?
Wow, I left a lot of stuff out of the product description on the website...they're 1/4 inch unbalanced. props once again for an important detail I overlooked

>can multiple modules be used concurrently?
Theoretically, yes, but only if your computer has the USB bandwidth and system resources to support 14 audio devices simultaneously. I'm going to do some system requirement benchmarks on the units I have, see if I can get 2 units running on one computer, and get back to you on that one.

>does it work with any software that regular people use?
I don't know how you define "regular" but it works with any multi-track recording software that allows the simultaneous recording of multiple audio devices. I personally use N-track, my band's drummer has the package from adobe, adobe producer I believe it's called. But yeah Cakewalk or any of those mainstream multi-trackers will work with this.

>purple makes me want to vomit
I suppose I should do a study to find out what the most common favorite color of musicians is so that I can increase my earning potential.

>use a tripod if you can't hold the camera still.
well, I CAN hold it still, but not after 5 cups of coffee like I had right before I took the picture.

>If you're going to post on the reaper forum, you could at least say >whether your product works with reaper.
Wow. I'm really beginning to feel the sting here. I don't even know what reaper is yet. I stumbled upon this forum in an opposite fashion of the way you apparently did, looking for support for reaper, whatever it may be. I saw the logo and figured reaper was just the name of an audio equipment forum.
Ok let's see....yup. This would work fine with Reaper. Pretty much any standard multitrack recording software will do the trick.

Last edited by AME06063; 04-17-2009 at 10:33 PM. Reason: did some reasearch
AME06063 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 12:10 AM   #14
nerdfactormax
Human being with feelings
 
nerdfactormax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: A-town, Australia
Posts: 633
Default

Sorry if my response seemed a bit sharp, but we're not used to blatant self-promotion here in reaper-land. As a general rule, the inhabitants are a little more modest.

while you're here, a few more points:

is it 16bit or 24bit?
if two more modules are used simultaneously, is there any way to clock them from the same source?
nerdfactormax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 04:07 PM   #15
Krismarsel1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Default 8 inputs on line 6 ux-8 but none of them are sterio??

So yesterday i went out n bought a line 6 ux-8 because i wanted 8 xlr inputs..y'know, the more the marrier. But to my surprise (and aggrivation) when i record with studio one, only way i can do micing is in mono, and its either mono left or right, and so i cant record 1 mic in sterio! Witch sucks so much because everything is off to one side or the other! Any solutions?

The way it apperantly goes is
Input1
- paired.
Input 2

Input 3
-paired
Input 4

Input 5
- paired
Input 6. Ect
Krismarsel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:45 PM   #16
nerdfactormax
Human being with feelings
 
nerdfactormax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: A-town, Australia
Posts: 633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krismarsel1 View Post
when i record with studio one, ...
... Any solutions?
Use Reaper









Well, you asked.
nerdfactormax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 10:30 AM   #17
mymymetrocard
Human being with feelings
 
mymymetrocard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 220
Default

i use a edirol UA101 which works fine, but has only 2 pre-amp, so if you want to record drums and stuff too you'll need more pr-amps
__________________
------

mymymetrocard - PHYCOLOGY
mymymetrocard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 10:40 AM   #18
ramses
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 584
Default

I love my Steinberg mr816x thingy. Great converters, great pre's, and it works great with Reaper. Recommended.
ramses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 05:30 AM   #19
Gizzmo0815
Human being with feelings
 
Gizzmo0815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krismarsel1 View Post
So yesterday i went out n bought a line 6 ux-8 because i wanted 8 xlr inputs..y'know, the more the marrier. But to my surprise (and aggrivation) when i record with studio one, only way i can do micing is in mono, and its either mono left or right, and so i cant record 1 mic in sterio! Witch sucks so much because everything is off to one side or the other! Any solutions?

The way it apperantly goes is
Input1
- paired.
Input 2

Input 3
-paired
Input 4

Input 5
- paired
Input 6. Ect
I hesitate to troubleshoot your Studio One issues on this board because it might be inappropriate. But I can certainly answer your question. PM me and I can help you out with Studio One routing. Or head over to the S1 forums TONS of good folks will help you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdfactormax View Post
Use Reaper









Well, you asked.
^ Lame
Gizzmo0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 05:32 AM   #20
Gizzmo0815
Human being with feelings
 
Gizzmo0815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 509
Default Presonus's Stuff

I'd check out Presonus' line of products. They all work great with Reaper, for one, and they've got great support. Preamps are excellent for this price range, and the control software that goes with them is slick.

http://www.presonus.com/products/pro...?ListingType=1

Highly recommended.

- Gizz

P.S. If you like firewire the Firestudio is great and is probably a bit cheaper now that they've released their newer USB systems.
Gizzmo0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.