Old 04-18-2006, 02:03 AM   #1
blitze
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Default Some welcomed additions

Normalisation when rendering a project and
Id Tag capabilities for rendered Oggs or MP3's

Thanks.
blitze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 11:50 AM   #2
synth
Human being with feelings
 
synth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Synthopia
Posts: 1,729
Default

I've requested normalization before,still there's no such feature in REAPER.
As for the ID tags,I prefer APE v2 tags.
synth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 05:09 PM   #3
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,472
Default

I dont get it, right click an event and chose normalize
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 06:29 PM   #4
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

And presumably do the same with the result of the render if you want the whole render normalised. I guess it would be possible for that to be automated within the program (having done the render, note the peak level and normalise accordingly) but apart from the mouse click, doing it by hand would amount to the same thing.

Personally I tend to get the level just slightly too high in the master track and then tame the odd OTT peaks with a hard limiter.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 06:49 PM   #5
shane
Human being with feelings
 
shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 61.215 -149.8925
Posts: 366
Default

I tend to "normalize" by limiting in the master section, too, but I believe he's asking for the rendered track itself to be normalized, rather just the track in Reaper. Unless I'm mistaken, the source track isn't modified when you hit normalize in Reaper.
shane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 07:28 PM   #6
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Indeed you're right - you'd have to render or consolidate the rendered track with normalise turned on. Still not an insurmountable problem, but a couple of extra steps admittedly.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 07:41 PM   #7
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

It raises the volume fader in the item properties. So, it's non destructive, but it will apply during a render. Consoldiate, I'm not sure about.
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 07:52 PM   #8
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Just checked consolidate and it does work.

Damn, I thought I had the differences between consolidate and render clear in my mind but I've forgotten. In a previous discussion I wrote...

Quote:
You can now...

Render a track
Consolidate a track
Apply FX to items as new take.

Rendering a track as a stem includes all FX etc, I think.

Consolidating a track just creates a single file from all the items but with no FX etc, I think.

Apply FX to items as new take includes all FX, I think.
But I am not sure I was right. Need an idiot's guide to this aspect to match the routing guide perhaps, if only for this idiot.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 08:00 PM   #9
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans
Rendering a track as a stem includes all FX etc, I think.

Consolidating a track just creates a single file from all the items but with no FX etc, I think.

Apply FX to items as new take includes all FX, I think.
These area all correct, Art.

So if you wanted to "glue" the items on a single track together, but still wanted to be able to further tweak the inserts, You would use consolidate. Also useful for cleaning up a project and saving to a new, clean folder.

If you want to bounce induvidual tracks, with fx applied, perhaps for the mastering engineer, you could use stems.

Also note that if consolidating, the new items will REPLACE the current items. Rendering will place the resulting items on new tracks.
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!

Last edited by fluffy; 04-18-2006 at 09:12 PM.
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 09:05 PM   #10
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Thanks fluffy.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.