Old 04-11-2006, 05:21 PM   #1
manning1
Human being with feelings

Default a question for justin (developer).

firstly justin let me congrat you on the effort your putting into reaper. excellent effort.
i LOVE the small footprint.
please dont loose that focus. like so many programs do.
when i started coding decades ago we were forced to use minimal resources in those times for obvious reasons. it wasnt available....lol.
anyway..to the question. when i invoke the built in plug ins in reaper...is this 64 bit processing ??
out of curioisity how many man hours has reaper been to date ??
heck of a nice effort. a labor of love obviously.congrats.
manning1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 05:52 PM   #2
Justin
Administrator

The Jesusonic effects included all use 64 bit floating point math..

Man hours, I don't know, but approximately 5 or 6 man-months...

-Justin
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 06:42 PM   #3
manning1

justin...
thanks...on the 64 bit info. THATS NICE !!!
ive had folks tell me one needs the new vista to do 64 bit math.
i try and tell them its not needed necessarily....cos normal windows lets a programmer
do 64 bit math ....but what the heck do i know.
i'm just a dumb engineer.
do you see any advantages of useing vista for reaper out of interest ??
what is reaper done in... assembler ?? C++ ??
just technical curiosity.
dont worry...ive done my share of coding in my young days.
if i never write another line of code i'll be happy.
the mantle is being passed on to the younger generation.
i'm retired now. and my wife just retired.
i just enjoy writing songs now.
just a couple of teeny ideas.
could we have a button M for mute and S for solo ??
i think most folks are used to that.
pretty please...a huge thing that would put reaper way up there in my opinion would be if i'm playing back a midi drum track...
and if i could press F(for drum fill) on pc kbd at any point...