Old 07-18-2019, 11:06 AM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,582
Default v5.981rc1 - July 18 2019

v5.981rc1 - July 18 2019
+ Automation items: obey preference to pool automation items when duplicating or pasting tracks [t=223104]
+ LTC generator: fix 29.97DF timecode drift
+ LTC generator: fix glitch when starting timecode mid-frame
+ Media items: avoid creating inconsistent take lanes when deleting takes from adjacent media items [t=222309]
+ Media items: fix hang when displaying media item source ruler and setting media offline
+ Notation editor: better handling for custom accidentals in key signatures that are enharmonic to C major [t=222761]
+ Render: fix render source resetting when opening region manager [t=223074]
+ Takes: always delete media items when deleting the last non-empty take
+ Tempo envelope: fix tempo map edits incorrectly inserting time in certain situations [t=223126]
+ Tempo: support lower tempos when auto-detecting tempo from time selection

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 11:08 AM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
+ Media items: fix hang when displaying media item source ruler and setting media offline
This is the main reason we're putting out 5.981 so soon.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 02:20 PM   #3
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
+ Tempo: support lower tempos when auto-detecting tempo from time selection
I suggest that the actions' original behavior, which supported tempos slower than 40bpm, should be restored, since such slower tempos are not entirely unheard of. Even standard tempo indications such as Grave go down to about 25bpm.

If a user wishes to insert multiple measures, the "(new time signature)" variants can be used, since these explicitly supports multiple measures.

(It may be helpful to change the names of the "new time signature" actions to "measures" instead of singular "measure".)

A related, small bug in the "new time signature" actions: If the tempo is too low, and two measures of double tempo will be inserted, the dialog box displays "Bars: 1" instead of "Bars: 2".

Last edited by juliansader; 07-18-2019 at 02:32 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 03:30 PM   #4
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,924
Default

There appears to be an upper tempo limit to the "Create measure" actions too: I have just been working on a Presto piece that goes above 180bpm, and couldn't use these actions for tempo mapping.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 05:41 AM   #5
lyrex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 19
Default

Strange behavior with automation lines. If drawed only one point, then if try to draw another point in the freehand draw mode, the previous one is disappear.
Is it normal behavior or a bug?
Attached Images
File Type: gif bug Automation_02.gif (61.9 KB, 133 views)

Last edited by lyrex; 07-21-2019 at 07:40 AM.
lyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 07:11 AM   #6
Arthur
Human being with feelings
 
Arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lyrex View Post
Strange behavior with automation lines. If drawed only one point, then if try to draw another point in the freehand draw mode, the previous one is disappear.
Is it normal behavior or bug?
The same in version 5.980
I think it's a bug.
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 08:25 AM   #7
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lyrex View Post
Strange behavior with automation lines. If drawed only one point, then if try to draw another point in the freehand draw mode, the previous one is disappear.
Is it normal behavior or a bug?
It seems you are inserting the first envelope point right on the current lane, IOW not changing the actual envelope value with it? In that case it will be redundant until you insert other points which will need also that point.

Now, the case with freehand drawing is that usually you draw the whole curve yourself. You have currently one redundant point, but then you insert one more point with freehand draw (without actually drawing any curve). So now Reaper decides to draw the rest of the curve for you and does this simply by adding one more point to the lane both sides of the drawn point. Your earlier redundant point disappears, because you didn't draw anything starting from there.

If the first point would've been close enough for the 2nd one you draw, Reaper would've used that one as a start for the curve. This is already old and afaik, intended automation behavior.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 08:32 AM   #8
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,486
Default

Edit: These problems went away with reaper5981rc1_x64-install

Has anyone else reported a change in the media item icons and also the MCP send knob stack? The media item icons are about half the original size and the MCP knob stack is about twice its original size. I rolled back to an earlier REAPER version and these issues go away. I'm not sure which version introduces them.

Thanks.
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.

Last edited by mikeroephonics; 07-21-2019 at 09:48 AM.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.