Old 05-21-2007, 10:13 AM   #1
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default note namer plugin for midi editor

----

Update July 2008: This plugin still works, but is obsolete in Reaper, because Reaper now lets you edit MIDI note names individually (double-right-click the note in the MIDI editor) or in bulk (MIDI editor file -> load note names from file).

The Reaper MIDI note name file format is the same as the one used by the plugin, so all of the note map files posted in this thread should work in Reaper.


----

<old post follows>

Note: this is not a JS effect, it's a VST plugin that must go wherever you keep your VST plugins.

----

Here is a basic plugin to name notes in the REAPER midi editor.

Write a note name txt file that consists of lines of "number name", like

100 kick
101 snare rim
102 snare drag

etc, as many or as few notes as you want. Then load the plugin onto a track, bring up the midi editor, select view -> named notes, and those note names should appear.

By default the plugin looks for the note name file in REAPER/Data/MIDI_note_names.txt, but if you press the "change file" button on the plugin, you can browse for a new note name file.

You can load different note namer maps on different tracks, the maps will all be saved with the project.

Some people posted some different midi drum maps (GM, etc) lower in this thread.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MIDINoteNamer.zip (118.0 KB, 3169 views)

Last edited by schwa; 08-01-2008 at 12:39 PM. Reason: note on obsolescence
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 12:05 PM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,623
Default

nice schwa.. suppose I should just add this native though.. damn you putting the pressure on!!!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 12:35 PM   #3
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 658
Default

hello schwa,
well done, but your DLL requires that configuration TXT file is to be located at fixed place on HDD (in this case as I see in hex editor it is C:/local/Program Files/REAPER/Data/MIDI_note_names.txt). Should use relative paths instead absolute ones. I don't have REAPER installed on drive C either. Anyway good work, and if you can recompile and reupload with better path lookup (= any startup reaper directory followed by "/Data/MIDI_note_names.txt" , that would be fine :-)

akademie
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 12:44 PM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default

Yeah this was just a quick knockoff, I spent about 4 seconds trying to find dir.h on windows and then said screw it. I'll make it more general but by the time I fix it Justin will have released 12 new Reaper versions...

OK here, relative pathname. Wherever REAPER is, it looks for /data/MIDI_note_names.txt underneath it.

Last edited by schwa; 05-21-2007 at 01:11 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:31 PM   #5
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,414
Default

Heeey !
great
thanks a lot, mister !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 12:43 PM   #6
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
nice schwa.. suppose I should just add this native though.. damn you putting the pressure on!!!
Woohoo!


Cheers,

Billy Buck
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 09:17 AM   #7
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
suppose I should just add this native though
agreed


we should be able to directly enter the names in the gui (rightclick on the text-field or so). and we should be able to save and re-load such assignments as preset(s). and in the preferences there should be an option to select a default preset for this ...
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 10:03 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default

I think this note namer plugin works now (link in the first post in the thread). Sorry for the false start! And thanks Justin for the multithreading advice. Please let me know if this gives any further trouble.

Last edited by schwa; 05-22-2007 at 10:09 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 11:39 PM   #9
DaveS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Shropshire, UK
Posts: 86
Default

Hi

Working nicely here now.
DaveS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 03:39 AM   #10
Jed
Human being with feelings
 
Jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 916
Default

Thanks heaps for this Schwa - and DaveS for the AD text file!

Cheers
Jed
__________________
Jeds Music:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Stratguy10
Jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:46 PM   #11
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Anyway, write a file called REAPER/Data/MIDI_note_names.txt, which consists of lines of "note_number note_name", like

100 kick
101 snare

etc, as many or as few notes as you want, then load the plugin onto a track and when you bring up the midi editor those note names should appear.

LMK if doesn't work or whatever.
Tried loading the plugin three times (after making and saving the txt file with the standard GM drum map; 35 - 81), but alas it made REAPER totally freeze 3 times in a row...

Saved the file in ANSI code in Notepad. What could the problem be?
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:51 PM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default

pm me your map file?

I'm sure I just need to make the file reading "safer" ... will fix.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:57 PM   #13
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
pm me your map file?

I'm sure I just need to make the file reading "safer" ... will fix.
I can't send an attachment with pm, so I'll just post the txt
file (from the REAPER/Data/ folder) here.
Attached Files
File Type: txt MIDI_note_names.txt (756 Bytes, 1541 views)
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:18 PM   #14
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default

That oughta work now. Sorry for the trouble.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:26 PM   #15
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
That oughta work now. Sorry for the trouble.
great! working perfectly fine now, many thanks schwa!
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 08:53 PM   #16
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default

The note namer plugin now remembers the active note name file and reloads it when you close and reopen the project. So you could have separate note namers on separate tracks with different note names in them, and the whole thing saves and restores properly.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 05:50 AM   #17
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

OK here's a text file with the full 9 octaves of notes (C0,C#0,D0 - A9,A#9,B9,C10) for schwa's plug and REAPER's named notes mode.
Attached Files
File Type: txt MIDI_notes.txt (909 Bytes, 953 views)
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:24 AM   #18
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,505
Default

Now that we can have customized drum maps in REAPER, maybe we ought to have a sticky where we can all place user created drum maps to share. Here are (3) I created for the EZdrummer kits that I have. Once I get the Nashville kit I'll add that one too.

Cheers,

Billy Buck

Last edited by billybk1; 11-22-2014 at 04:57 PM.
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 09:48 AM   #19
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billybk1 View Post
Now that we can have customized drum maps in REAPER, maybe we ought to have a sticky where we can all place user created drum maps to share. Here are (3) I created for the EZdrummer kits that I have. Once I get the Nashville kit I'll add that one too.

Cheers,

Billy Buck
Woo Hoo! You rock Billy Buck. I need those for EZD. Schwa... what can I say man? Awesome, awesome work. Thanks a TON!

D

EDIT: Just finished loading 'er up. Works a treat with EZD. Thanks again!

Last edited by Diogenes; 05-24-2007 at 10:13 AM.
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 01:32 PM   #20
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogenes View Post
Woo Hoo! You rock Billy Buck. I need those for EZD. Schwa... what can I say man? Awesome, awesome work. Thanks a TON!

D

EDIT: Just finished loading 'er up. Works a treat with EZD. Thanks again!

Your welcome and yes, they do work quite well. You can even save your custom drum maps along with your Track Templates





Thanks again to schwa for providing this very useful plugin!

Last edited by billybk1; 05-24-2007 at 02:01 PM.
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:38 AM   #21
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The note namer plugin now remembers the active note name file and reloads it when you close and reopen the project. So you could have separate note namers on separate tracks with different note names in them, and the whole thing saves and restores properly.

I was just going to request that the active state be saved and then I saw that you uploaded a new version last night that does just that. Kudos to you, schwa! I have been waiting for customizable drum maps in REAPER and you pulled a rabbit out of the hat and created a plugin that does just that and works great.


Cheers,

Billy Buck
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 06:38 PM   #22
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default

I updated the plugin (in the first post) with a version that properly redraws the file name text after moving the modal file selector window. Otherwise functionality is the same.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 06:42 AM   #23
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 835
Default

Hi schwa,
no matter what I do or where I put the plugin (Reaper/plugins/, ...Prog~/VST Plugins/...), I get no GUI at all, ergo no funcionality.
The second version (_lice) however does work AFAICS.

Cheers
Raphael
__________________
ASUS Notebook N751 i7/4710HQ, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD//512 GB SSD//1 TB HDD/7200 RPM, Win 8.1 fully up to date // Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, KORG Micro X, BEHRINGER BCR2000, Nektar LX88+, KRK Rokit 5, AKG K171 MKII
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 07:10 AM   #24
drew
Mobile
 
drew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London & São Paulo. Hardcore commercial REAPERite
Posts: 1,648
Default

schwa - this is awesome.. a "bolt on" that doesn't feel like it's bolted-on!

I can actually see a real benefit in doing it this way since you want different maps for different instruments - so is this were to be made native it would certainly need to allow a "per track mapping" and maybe the VST plug is actually the clearest way to do that!

I'm curious to know - how the hell are you changing elements of the UI in another REAPER .dll!? I had no idea that was possible. Are you able to see a list of UI elements and interract with them?

It must mean there are a lot of other exciting possibilities. As I guess you don't plan to post the source for this, maybe you'd be kind enough to give some other examples of what could be done.
drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 07:41 AM   #25
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default

I already posted the source! This is all done in IPlug.

There's no magic here, reporting names for midi notes is part of the VST standard, and if a plugin says it can give out midi note names, Reaper asks for them and uses them in its midi editor. This plugin isn't reaching into Reaper's innards or anything.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 10:01 AM   #26
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,415
Default

I can't seem to get this to show up as a VST plugin. Is it incompatable with windows 2000?
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 07:43 PM   #27
mac
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Default

please help, I can not get this to work. I suspect I have installed it the wrong place. I have the plugin in my vst folder and the textfiles in reaper's data folder. But when I open the plugin there are no controls to select anything and It says invalid header when I try to open the text files as "presets".

any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong?
mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 09:45 PM   #28
mac
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Default

all sorted out now. I took the time to read the whole thread
mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 04:16 PM   #29
BaldByChoice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 34
Default

Very cool idea schwa! Although I'm not sure where to put the dll...?
I'm totally new to REAPER as of today but I like what I've seen/heard so far! I'll probably buy this excellent DAW and use it as my main tool.
BaldByChoice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 04:22 PM   #30
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaldByChoice View Post
Although I'm not sure where to put the dll...?

I put the .dll in REAPER's own default FX plugin folder:

C:\Program Files\REAPER\Plugins\FX


Works like a charm.

Cheers,

Billy Huck
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 04:24 PM   #31
BaldByChoice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 34
Default

My God! That's the fastest reply I've seen!
Thanks a lot.
BaldByChoice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 06:58 PM   #32
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default

OK, I updated the note namer plugin so it will load a name for note zero as well.

It would be pretty easy to extend this plugin to do note mapping and folding as well, for instance if you have only a few notes you want to name but the vsti that's receiving them expects them scattered all over the place (like 0=kick, 100=snare or something), you could set it up so the display shows 0=kick, 1=snare, and midi input note 1 will get mapped to output note 100.

On the other hand you can already do that, mostly, with the IX midi keymap JS. so maybe it's better to keep this plugin totally simple and mono-functioned.

__________
Cockos: Online Community, Key Of Success
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 07:14 PM   #33
drew
Mobile
 
drew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London & São Paulo. Hardcore commercial REAPERite
Posts: 1,648
Default

hey schwa - just grabbed the updated version..

This is a good opportunity for me to say - thanks for a great utility!
__________________
Proudly using REAPER exclusively for...
* Media and event music composition & production, sound design + auto-processing at Qsonics.com
* Broadcast branding, promos, education & training and narration voice-overs at DrewWhite.com
drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 07:54 PM   #34
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,459
Default

Also! Credit where due -- the button was drawn by a nice fella name of Mr. John Pig.

Last edited by schwa; 08-05-2007 at 07:57 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 09:28 PM   #35
cjfoster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Default

cool.

thanks schwa - what a quick response!!

chris
cjfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 02:02 PM   #36
hannebambel
Human being with feelings
 
hannebambel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
Default workflow ....

great tool ...

wouldnt it be awesome though to just combine all .txt's so far and make them accessable in the dropdown box in fx preset view where right now only 'program' is being displayed ? is that possible ?

like this f.e.:

-Addictive Drums
-EZ Drummer Latin Percussion
-whatever .txt file i put into a certain folder
-whatever .txt file i put into a certain folder too
-and so on ...

Right now i allways have to click to the directory where my AD_MIDI_note_names.txt is stored .

click scroll click scroll click scroll click scroll . argh ...
hannebambel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 07:40 AM   #37
hannebambel
Human being with feelings
 
hannebambel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
Default a couple suggestions ...

Right now im trying to get the EZD Latin Percussion done, but its just a pain in the butt because certain sounds are scattered across the keyboard outside their specific instrument groups f.e.
Code:
127 Crescendo Shekere
126 On Beat Shekere	
125 Off Beat Shekere	
124 Beat Shekere
...
70 Beat Shekere
and that would make this totally stressy to work with. Now Schwa said
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
... It would be pretty easy to extend this plugin to do note mapping and folding as well, for instance if you have only a few notes you want to name but the vsti that's receiving them expects them scattered all over the place (like 0=kick, 100=snare or something), you could set it up so the display shows 0=kick, 1=snare, and midi input note 1 will get mapped to output note 100.

On the other hand you can already do that, mostly, with the IX midi keymap JS. so maybe it's better to keep this plugin totally simple and mono-functioned.
Can you pretty please give us the feature to easy-peasy change mappings in the *.txt files?

Imho its is such a bummer having to remap single notes via an additional js plugin every time.

And while working a lot with the notename feature and tweaking *.txt's to my needs i would like to propose a sort of 'grouping' feature where text included in cornered brackets f.e.
Code:
45 [smth] smthelse
in the *.txt files could be displayed bold [edited] in the midi editor [/edited] or in any other way different from the rest so one could easier scan for the right note ...

Please share your actual thoughts about this ...

Cheers,
hb.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2 GHz, 4 GB Ram
ST Audio DSP2000 C-Port w/V 8.4

Last edited by hannebambel; 10-05-2008 at 07:42 AM. Reason: clearfication
hannebambel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 01:59 PM   #38
ArdeII
Human being with feelings
 
ArdeII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 239
Default Steven Slate v3.0

Is there something in v3.0 which replaces this note namer plugin?

Here is the name map for Steven Slate v3.0 though
Attached Files
File Type: txt Slate 3.0_MIDI_note_names.txt (1,008 Bytes, 158 views)
__________________
MIDI performer plugin
Kirnu - Cream
ArdeII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 02:22 PM   #39
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,180
Default

You don't need the note namer plug since Reaper 2.something.
You can load note name files directly from the MIDI editor's file menue. Or change any single note name on the fly by double-rightclicking on the piano key.

Any new namefiles are very appreciated, thanks a lot, ArdeII. You might consider to put it up in the DrumMap section of Reaper stash: https://stash.reaper.fm/tag/MIDI-Drum-Maps.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 12:57 AM   #40
ArdeII
Human being with feelings
 
ArdeII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 239
Default

Thanks Gofe for the info! Didn't know that you don't need note namer plugin anymore

The drum map is now in Reaper Resources section
__________________
MIDI performer plugin
Kirnu - Cream
ArdeII is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.