Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Old 11-22-2016, 04:38 PM   #1
Ishaan
Human being with feelings

Default *Openly assignable* OSC controls with bidirectional feedback?

Hello esteemed REAPERers,

I'm trying to build my personal workhorse controller template. This is going to be my first major Lemur project and I am very excited about building it! One thing that is extremely important to me is having as much controller feedback (i.e., when you move a parameter in Reaper, the changes are reflected in Lemur - not just the other way around!) as possible. I want to learn about what will and will not be possible.

All this said, I'm a noob to OSC and programming in general.

Let me get directly to my first (of probably many) questions:

When it comes to controlling FX parameters, instead of an interface that automatically "picks up" (and somewhat arbitrarily assigns) all parameters of the FX in focus to a set of "blank" controls (which is what I've seen on previous controller templates - correct me if I'm wrong!), I'd prefer to pre-define a relevant set of controls and then assign these on a per-plugin basis. However, I'm uncertain of whether controller feedback will be possible in such a scenario.

FOR INSTANCE: I'd like to create a master EQ page. This would include universal EQ commands such as, let's say, HPF and LPF. Then, no matter what EQ you instantiated, these knobs would always affect HPF and LPF (provided, of course, that one has first configured each of the plugins within Reaper to receive these specific messages).

However, as I understand it...Reaper does not provide controller feedback for "learned" parameters as such. Is there any sort of work-around here? Something I'm not seeing? Something I need to incorporate into the OSC configuration file?