Old 11-11-2014, 10:07 AM   #1
acemclaud
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6
Default Midi Trouble with M-Audio Fasttrack Pro

I'm loving Reaper but having the hardest time getting it to recognize midi signal through my Fasttrack Pro. The interface is recognizing midi data from my old Roland EM-10 but Reaper is not receiving it. I'm pretty familiar with midi in general, and I'm following all of the directions for Reaper to a t. (a) monitoring on, (b) midi input set to fast track [all channels; also tried channels 1-16 individually], (c) track record armed, (d) midi configured and enabled to receive input and control data.

If I change the input to use the Virtual Keyboard, it works.

Any help would be met with my deepest gratitude
acemclaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 04:39 PM   #2
Ashenwraith
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acemclaud View Post
I'm loving Reaper but having the hardest time getting it to recognize midi signal through my Fasttrack Pro. The interface is recognizing midi data from my old Roland EM-10 but Reaper is not receiving it. I'm pretty familiar with midi in general, and I'm following all of the directions for Reaper to a t. (a) monitoring on, (b) midi input set to fast track [all channels; also tried channels 1-16 individually], (c) track record armed, (d) midi configured and enabled to receive input and control data.

If I change the input to use the Virtual Keyboard, it works.

Any help would be met with my deepest gratitude
Hmmm do you have the Fastrack literally plugged in the same as Roland and swapping before start-up or is it set up in a different slot? Does your Fastrack have up-to-date drivers that work with other ASIO (or whatever sound driver you're using) software?

Are you getting power--is there an issue with your usb controller/power. A lot of USB devices crap out when a few devices are plugged/unplugged--especially without good drivers.
Ashenwraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 06:49 PM   #3
acemclaud
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6
Default

now that i've had some time to work with it, it seems to definitely be related to the driver for the fasttrack pro. Everytime I unplug the fasttrack pro, the audio buses work fine, but the midi craps out. This is sometimes remedied when I restart the computer, but it seems to work consistently when I uninstall and reinstall the latest driver. maybe it's a windows 7 compatibility issue. thanks for the help.
acemclaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.