Old 03-22-2018, 01:00 AM   #1
Tycho
Human being with feelings
 
Tycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 461
Default FX list filter string boolean AND?

I'm trying to hide all VST waves plugins from the fx list so that only the VST3 versions are showing. adding this as a filter "waves NOT VST:" to the normal add fx dialog filter works fine but I need to add something like "NOT VST:*Waves" to the prefs only show matching filter string section. Is there a way to specify a string beginning with "VST:" and ending with "Waves" and having anything in between?

This doesn't work
NOT ( "VST:" AND "Waves" )

thanks
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 06:25 AM   #2
wolfdogg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 89
Default

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=141305
wolfdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 06:30 AM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

This one should work:
Code:
waves NOT VST:
Go to Preferences->Plug-ins and insert it into the box on the bottom.
Update the list in FX browser using F5.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 06:37 AM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,721
Default

AND is implied (valid keywords are OR and NOT, a lack of a keyword means and), what you probably want is:

Code:
NOT ( VST: "(Waves)" ) NOT ( VSTi: "(Waves)" )
Or, on mac if you also want to hide the Audio Units:

Code:
NOT "AUi: Waves:" NOT "AU: Waves:" NOT ( VST: "(Waves)" ) NOT ( VSTi: "(Waves)" )
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 06:39 AM   #5
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,827
Default

does it work for x86 versions has well, i mean, leaving the vst 64 bits only and vst3...normally what i do is take them of the x86 Program files folder! eheh
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 06:44 AM   #6
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
does it work for x86 versions has well, i mean, leaving the vst 64 bits only and vst3...normally what i do is take them of the x86 Program files folder! eheh
Just add similar rule using (x86), because in 64-bit Reaper 32-bit plugins have (x86) in the end of their names.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 07:23 AM   #7
wolfdogg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
AND is implied (valid keywords are OR and NOT, a lack of a keyword means and), what you probably want is:

Code:
NOT ( VST: "(Waves)" ) NOT ( VSTi: "(Waves)" )
Or, on mac if you also want to hide the Audio Units:

Code:
NOT "AUi: Waves:" NOT "AU: Waves:" NOT ( VST: "(Waves)" ) NOT ( VSTi: "(Waves)" )
Nicely done. Had to remote in to my DAW computer because I was intrigued. Worked perfectly. I didn't ask the question here.. but thanks for a great answer!
wolfdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 01:51 PM   #8
Tycho
Human being with feelings
 
Tycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 461
Default

Thanks for the help everyone! worked great. ended up with this (per justin's suggestion):

NOT "AU:" NOT "AUi:" NOT ( VST: "(Waves)" ) NOT ( VSTi: "(Waves)" )

Last edited by Tycho; 03-22-2018 at 01:56 PM.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 02:43 PM   #9
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
AND is implied (valid keywords are OR and NOT, a lack of a keyword means and), what you probably want is:

Code:
NOT ( VST: "(Waves)" ) NOT ( VSTi: "(Waves)" )
Or, on mac if you also want to hide the Audio Units:

Code:
NOT "AUi: Waves:" NOT "AU: Waves:" NOT ( VST: "(Waves)" ) NOT ( VSTi: "(Waves)" )
The OSX Default for this feature is broken since the dev and category changes in fx browser.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 07:53 PM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
The OSX Default for this feature is broken since the dev and category changes in fx browser.
Ah thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2023, 09:31 AM   #11
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,326
Default

Reviving this... I am noticing something strange in the fx chain window when trying to add a new plugin.

I am browsing the VST category, I have some plugins with "(mda)" as developer.

If I set as plugin filter NOT "mda" it doesn't work - the mda plugins are not excluded.
If I set NOT "(mda)" it works. Is this expected?

Thanks,
Mario
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2023, 09:36 AM   #12
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 4,937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
If I set as plugin filter NOT "mda" it doesn't work - the mda plugins are not excluded.
If I set NOT "(mda)" it works. Is this expected?
Quotes makes it match a whole word. NOT mda, NOT "(mda)" and NOT (mda) should all work. NOT "mda" would only match if there are spaces around mda in the plugin name.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2023, 10:14 AM   #13
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,326
Default

OK, I tried quotes because I'm pretty sure without quotes it didn't work.
Now simply NOT mda is working. Go figure...

Thanks,
Mario
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.