Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2020, 05:23 PM   #761
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westrabua View Post
In case anyone ever thought "Would be nice to have a graphical manager application for the various LinVst bridges...", then this might be interesting to you:
So after installing this and giving it a spin, I just wanted to say this thing is AWESOME. So good. For those of you using LinVST this is pretty much a must have.

@Westrabua do you have a donate link anywhere?
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 06:25 PM   #762
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,755
Default

Thanks Westrabua! That looks awesome. Glad to see that kind of effort happening. Is it your creation?
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 12:53 PM   #763
Westrabua
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
So after installing this and giving it a spin, I just wanted to say this thing is AWESOME. So good. For those of you using LinVST this is pretty much a must have.

@Westrabua do you have a donate link anywhere?
Thanks Klangfarben for the feedback and giving it a try! Nice to see it being helpful to others.
Oh wow, haven't thought about this until now, but sure. I've added one to my signature (and github).

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Thanks Westrabua! That looks awesome. Glad to see that kind of effort happening. Is it your creation?
Thanks clepsydrae for the feedback! Yeah, I'm actually the developer. I guess it's a bit confusing that my name on this forum is Westrabua, but on github it's Goli4thus. It's just that I've had this account for such a long time now. Anyway, I've added some info on that to my signature.

Furthermore I wanna mention that I had a really dedicated beta tester on github (keybreak), who actually pushed me quite a bit with his unusual setup of over 2000 VSTs. So the fact that this application is at the point it is now is also partly due to his feedback and testing.
__________________
Graphical manager application for LinVst: https://github.com/Goli4thus/linvstmanager

A.k.a Goli4thus (on github). Donate

Last edited by Westrabua; 03-06-2020 at 01:06 PM.
Westrabua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 03:06 PM   #764
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westrabua View Post
I've added one to my signature (and github).
Donated!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westrabua View Post
Furthermore I wanna mention that I had a really dedicated beta tester on github (keybreak), who actually pushed me quite a bit with his unusual setup of over 2000 VSTs. So the fact that this application is at the point it is now is also partly due to his feedback and testing.
Um, someone is running over 2000 Windows VST plugins in Linux with LinVST? And has them all working?? That's both impressive and frightening.
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 03:09 PM   #765
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
Donated!
Same! I hope all linux users will support efforts to make it easier for everyone.

Quote:
Um, someone is running over 2000 Windows VST plugins in Linux with LinVST? And has them all working?? That's both impressive and frightening.
That's, like... most of the VSTs! (probably not, I know...)
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 01:47 AM   #766
Westrabua
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
Donated!

Um, someone is running over 2000 Windows VST plugins in Linux with LinVST? And has them all working?? That's both impressive and frightening.
Thanks, really appreciated!
Well, from some local analysis we did on his collection I know for a fact that the number is over 2000. How many of them he actually uses on a regular basis I don't know.
But he did start a project of his own some time ago in an attempt to collect "compatibility" data for lots of VSTs.
https://github.com/keybreak/linux-vs...atibility-list (see the "Project page" link).


Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Same! I hope all linux users will support efforts to make it easier for everyone.

That's, like... most of the VSTs! (probably not, I know...)
Thank you too!
Yeah, most likely not all due to the sheer number of VSTs ever created.
__________________
Graphical manager application for LinVst: https://github.com/Goli4thus/linvstmanager

A.k.a Goli4thus (on github). Donate
Westrabua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 11:00 AM   #767
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westrabua View Post
Thanks, really appreciated!
Well, from some local analysis we did on his collection I know for a fact that the number is over 2000. How many of them he actually uses on a regular basis I don't know.
But he did start a project of his own some time ago in an attempt to collect "compatibility" data for lots of VSTs.
https://github.com/keybreak/linux-vs...atibility-list (see the "Project page" link).
Ok, that's insane. Going to try and get in touch with him to add some tested plugins to this because that is by far the most complete tested list I've seen to date.

So, just a question about LinVST Manager. You are able to use multiple bridges at the same time without issue? I'm using Manjaro and when installing LinVST from the AUR it only lets you install one version at a time of the 4 versions (LinVST, LinVST-X, LinVST3 and LinVST3-X). If you try and install another version it deinstalls the others. I'm assuming this is just a mistake by the person adding LinVST to the AUR, but just wanted to make sure.
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 12:08 PM   #768
Westrabua
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
So, just a question about LinVST Manager. You are able to use multiple bridges at the same time without issue? I'm using Manjaro and when installing LinVST from the AUR it only lets you install one version at a time of the 4 versions (LinVST, LinVST-X, LinVST3 and LinVST3-X). If you try and install another version it deinstalls the others. I'm assuming this is just a mistake by the person adding LinVST to the AUR, but just wanted to make sure.
I'm on Manjaro myself, but I've never installed Linvst (including any of its versions) using the AUR. I've always download official releases from github or cloned the master branch.

I just gave it another look.
Technically is definitely possible to install all four versions alongside each other at the same time, because osxmidi named their associated install files all differently.
I currently have all 4 versions installed by using the "manual install" method described on github.

I also had a quick look at the PKGBUILDs regarding all four bridges.
- linvst2.git: conflicts=('linvst' 'linvst-stable' 'linvst2x')
- linvst2x.git: conflicts=('linvst' 'linvst-stable' 'linvst2')
- linvst3.git: conflicts=('linvst3x')
- linvst3x.git: conflicts=('linvst3')

I suppose the maintainer of those AUR packages might simply not be aware that all those versions can coexists alongside each other and be used at the same time.
Furthermore it's not like he is renaming any "output files" from the build. So it might really just be a matter of removing those "conflicts" lines.

EDIT:
I've just sent the maintainer of those packages an email regarding that circumstance.
__________________
Graphical manager application for LinVst: https://github.com/Goli4thus/linvstmanager

A.k.a Goli4thus (on github). Donate

Last edited by Westrabua; 03-07-2020 at 12:28 PM.
Westrabua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 12:11 PM   #769
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westrabua View Post
Yeah, most likely not all due to the sheer number of VSTs ever created.
That would be an interesting number for someone to estimate...
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 01:54 PM   #770
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westrabua View Post
I've just sent the maintainer of those packages an email regarding that circumstance.
Man, thank you so much! I was about to do the same. Yeah, the only reason I get LinVST from the AUR is 1) someone seems to be keeping it very much up to date and 2) I get notifications when there are updates so I can update everything right in Pamac, which is pretty convenient.
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 04:41 AM   #771
Westrabua
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
Man, thank you so much! I was about to do the same. Yeah, the only reason I get LinVST from the AUR is 1) someone seems to be keeping it very much up to date and 2) I get notifications when there are updates so I can update everything right in Pamac, which is pretty convenient.
Good news: The maintainer of those packages already updated those packages as suggested and as a bonus created a package for LinVstManager as well.
So that should be even more confinient for Arch/Manjaro users right now.
__________________
Graphical manager application for LinVst: https://github.com/Goli4thus/linvstmanager

A.k.a Goli4thus (on github). Donate
Westrabua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2020, 03:43 AM   #772
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,355
Default

Ah-ha!.. Massive X prefer if you run it as a dedicated process, who-ho! it works
__________________
:)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 03:25 PM   #773
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 387
Default

Not sure if this is a Linux bug:

Make midi item, draw notes, split item, copy, glue item.
Result: notes are not on the same level:



Version 6.09.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Buster / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 05:04 PM   #774
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
I can't reproduce that behaviour with 6.10. I haven't tried 6.09.
Thanks. I posted in the wrong section. I will check 6.10
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Buster / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 02:07 AM   #775
Aries1985
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 55
Default VST3 Naming

Hello guys,
thank you for this thread! I am considering migration to Linux from Mac and this is a well of wisdom.

Westrabua, thank you for the LinVstManager. It is great!

If I might, two questions / or maybe feature requests:
- If there is only one wrapper configured (e.g. LinVst but not LinVstX), would it be possible to automatically select the wrapper upon adding a new plugin? Just a convenience nitpick.
- When adding VST3 plugins, would it be possible to convert them without adding [vst3] to plugin name? Not sure if this is related to LinVstManager or LinVst. It happened to plugins from Analog Obsession (on Patreon, free to download).

The second request is for easing the migration of projects.

In the RPP file, there is plugin name and also plugin library. It seems that when REAPER does not find the library, it searches for plugin by its name and if found, it loads it and feeds it configuration data, which is correct.

When having project from Mac and having effect there, there is path to file with .vst3 extension. When opening it on Windows, it can have .dll extension and it is still loaded.

When installed for example ValhallaRoom through wine, it seems to work fine, as it does not have the [vst3] part in name and REAPER is able to load it. However, for plugins from Analog Obsession, REAPER fails to load them, although it sees the converted plugins with [vst3] in name.

Appreciate your work and support. And many thanks to Cockos for having REAPER available for Linux as well.

Once migrated to Linux, I'll also port my two device support libraries to Linux as well.
__________________
Control surface libraries: Launchpad Pro, Yamaha MOXF
Aries1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 05:11 AM   #776
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries1985 View Post
Hello guys,
thank you for this thread! I am considering migration to Linux from Mac and this is a well of wisdom.

Westrabua, thank you for the LinVstManager. It is great!

If I might, two questions / or maybe feature requests:
- If there is only one wrapper configured (e.g. LinVst but not LinVstX), would it be possible to automatically select the wrapper upon adding a new plugin? Just a convenience nitpick.
- When adding VST3 plugins, would it be possible to convert them without adding [vst3] to plugin name? Not sure if this is related to LinVstManager or LinVst. It happened to plugins from Analog Obsession (on Patreon, free to download).

The second request is for easing the migration of projects.

In the RPP file, there is plugin name and also plugin library. It seems that when REAPER does not find the library, it searches for plugin by its name and if found, it loads it and feeds it configuration data, which is correct.

When having project from Mac and having effect there, there is path to file with .vst3 extension. When opening it on Windows, it can have .dll extension and it is still loaded.

When installed for example ValhallaRoom through wine, it seems to work fine, as it does not have the [vst3] part in name and REAPER is able to load it. However, for plugins from Analog Obsession, REAPER fails to load them, although it sees the converted plugins with [vst3] in name.

Appreciate your work and support. And many thanks to Cockos for having REAPER available for Linux as well.

Once migrated to Linux, I'll also port my two device support libraries to Linux as well.
If you want to remove the [vst3] from the name, then search for getName() in lin-vst-server.cpp

Then alter (put // at the beginning of the line)

if(strlen(buffer) < (kVstMaxEffectNameLen - 7))
m_name = m_name + " [vst3]";

to

// if(strlen(buffer) < (kVstMaxEffectNameLen - 7))
// m_name = m_name + " [vst3]";

and then make it (instructions are on the LinVst3 Github page).

Same sort of thing also applies to LinVst3-X.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 05:21 AM   #777
Aries1985
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 55
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
If you want to remove the [vst3] from the name, then search for getName() in lin-vst-server.cpp

Then alter (put // at the beginning of the line)

if(strlen(buffer) < (kVstMaxEffectNameLen - 7))
m_name = m_name + " [vst3]";

to

// if(strlen(buffer) < (kVstMaxEffectNameLen - 7))
// m_name = m_name + " [vst3]";

and then make it (instructions are on the LinVst3 Github page).

Same sort of thing also applies to LinVst3-X.
Thank you - for this advice and also for LinVst!

I'll change it and will try opening the project again to see if it fixes the compatibility problem for me.
__________________
Control surface libraries: Launchpad Pro, Yamaha MOXF
Aries1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 01:17 PM   #778
Westrabua
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries1985 View Post
Hello guys,
thank you for this thread! I am considering migration to Linux from Mac and this is a well of wisdom.

Westrabua, thank you for the LinVstManager. It is great!

If I might, two questions / or maybe feature requests:
- If there is only one wrapper configured (e.g. LinVst but not LinVstX), would it be possible to automatically select the wrapper upon adding a new plugin? Just a convenience nitpick.
Thanks for the feedback!
Sorry for the late reply. Somehow wasn't subscribed to this thread.

Anyway, I just had another look to make sure, but that's actually what the "Defaults" setting within Preferences dialog is intended to do.
Whatever you have set as a default i.e. for VST2 (LinVst or LinVst-X) will be the default bridge assigned to newly added VSTs.
If you only have one bridge setup for VST2 (i.e. LinVst), then that should automatically be the default bridge for new VSTs added.

If you think there's a bug, it would be helpful to get a detailed description of what you are doing to get that unintended behaviour.
__________________
Graphical manager application for LinVst: https://github.com/Goli4thus/linvstmanager

A.k.a Goli4thus (on github). Donate
Westrabua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 09:40 PM   #779
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westrabua View Post
In case anyone ever thought "Would be nice to have a graphical manager application for the various LinVst bridges...", then this might be interesting to you:

https://github.com/Goli4thus/linvstmanager

Tried to install this but everytime I enter the cmake .. command I get....
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
"CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:31 (find_package):
By not providing "FindQt5Widgets.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this project
has asked CMake to find a package configuration file provided by
"Qt5Widgets", but CMake did not find one.

Could not find a package configuration file provided by "Qt5Widgets" with
any of the following names:

Qt5WidgetsConfig.cmake
qt5widgets-config.cmake

Add the installation prefix of "Qt5Widgets" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set
"Qt5Widgets_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files. If
"Qt5Widgets" provides a separate development package or SDK, be sure it has
been installed.


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 06:16 AM   #780
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pax-eterna View Post
Tried to install this but everytime I enter the cmake .. command I get....
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
"CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:31 (find_package):
By not providing "FindQt5Widgets.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this project
has asked CMake to find a package configuration file provided by
"Qt5Widgets", but CMake did not find one.

Could not find a package configuration file provided by "Qt5Widgets" with
any of the following names:

Qt5WidgetsConfig.cmake
qt5widgets-config.cmake

Add the installation prefix of "Qt5Widgets" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set
"Qt5Widgets_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files. If
"Qt5Widgets" provides a separate development package or SDK, be sure it has
been installed.


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!

That error happens when the libraries in the Readme are not installed.

The libraries need to be installed first before running cmake.

For Debian it's

sudo apt install cmake gcc g++ git qt5-default (see the Readme for other distros)

then

mkdir build && cd build
cmake ..
make -j4
sudo make install
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 11:46 AM   #781
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 37
Default

thanks -would that work for Ubuntu as well?
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 12:05 PM   #782
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 37
Default

okay, done all of the above, changed into the correct directory, but still getting all the messages about this file does not exist or that folder does not exist, blah de blah - I have double checked syntax and that these files are indeed in the downloaded folder but this thing refuses to do anything!!!
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 12:24 PM   #783
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 37
Default

for example the instruction calls for creating a build folder,changing to that folder then running cmake BUT when I do that I get the message "linvstmanager-1.0.2/build" does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt."

This file is indeed in the linvstmanager directory but NOT in the build directory???

It is all so confusing
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 12:29 PM   #784
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pax-eterna View Post
okay, done all of the above, changed into the correct directory, but still getting all the messages about this file does not exist or that folder does not exist, blah de blah - I have double checked syntax and that these files are indeed in the downloaded folder but this thing refuses to do anything!!!
The very reason I blew off ever trying to compile anything but my own source code. Not one thing I've ever attempted to compile on Xubuntu has finished with success. I don't want a shitload of stuff I don't need on my machine either, so I always seek out a compiled, drop it in place and it works version of whatever it is I'm trying to get and use. I'd rather be working on music!
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 12:29 PM   #785
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 37
Default

Okay, finally got it sorted - the instructions were a little off...firstly it showed cmake .. when the correct command (in eOS) was cmake . and further the make dir build is redundant as the cmakr command worked in the linvstmanager folder directly without the need to mkdir build.
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 12:06 PM   #786
Westrabua
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 66
Default

@osxmidi: Thanks for giving support!


Quote:
Originally Posted by pax-eterna View Post
Okay, finally got it sorted - the instructions were a little off...firstly it showed cmake .. when the correct command (in eOS) was cmake . and further the make dir build is redundant as the cmakr command worked in the linvstmanager folder directly without the need to mkdir build.
The actual build instructions should work on all distributions the same. It's only about installing the right dependencies (as osxmidi pointed out above), whose names can differ between distributions.

And here's a quick rundown of that 'cmake ..' command.
The double dot '..' means "one directory up from the current one".
A single dot '.' means "the current directory".
This applies to any distribution you might be running in general, so it doesn't hurt to know about it.

You are right about that one can run cmake in the base directory without that 'build' directory just fine.
The reason why one would prefer to create a 'build' directory and then run 'cmake ..' (which basically says "cmake, please run and look one directory above for your 'CMakeLists.txt' file"), is that by doing so, all the files created during the build process itself are then stored within that 'build' directory, away from the actual source files.

So it's not so much about it wouldn't "work" without that build directory, but more about it keeps your source files etc. clean of any temporary build files.
Without using the 'build' directory (like you've done yourself), you simply end up with all files in the same base folder mixed together. That's about it.
__________________
Graphical manager application for LinVst: https://github.com/Goli4thus/linvstmanager

A.k.a Goli4thus (on github). Donate
Westrabua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.