Old 06-20-2007, 10:26 AM   #1
mr. moon
Human being with feelings

Default ADK Pro Audio "Quicky" Review

Hey, just thought I'd write up a review to post on several of the forums I frequent about the ADK Pro Audio PC that a buddy of mine recently received, which I helped him add some free VSTs and such to over the weekend. This is the first ADK system I've ever been able to get my hands on, and I know that they're gaining a rep around the boards for being able to do this stuff well, so I thought I'd let you know what I found in a 100% honest, “no-fear-of-loosing-advertising-dollars” way.

Here are the ADK system specs:

Antec Solo Case with 550W Power supply
Intel 975 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
DDR2 667 memory
Seagate 80G and 320G HDD
XFX Nvidia 7300 GT Dual DVI Fanless
Pioneer 112 DVD-RW
Windows XP Home
Audio Interface: RME Fireface 400

I'd like to start this whole thing off by acknowledging that I build and maintain computers for a living. ...Not in the audio field specifically, but some of the PCs I maintain are used to run ArcGIS, AutoCAD, and other “meaty” applications, along with standard workstation-grade PCs. So I kind of have a feel for what makes a solid PC, and what doesn't. I personally like PCs to be lean and mean, and I make them to work, not look pretty. Consider them to be “utility” machines, they are not created and pimped out to add to the aesthetic quality of whatever space they're used in, but just to perform well.