Old 09-19-2008, 08:34 PM   #1
artkau
Human being with feelings
 
artkau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Posts: 271
Default 'Upgrading' Reaper on Mac

Hi all, absolute Mac noob here.

When I download the latest build of Reaper, I find that the upgrade process is stupid with a Mac... Please correct me if I am wrong, but the only way to upgrade is to copy the Reaper folder onto my Mac and replace the old one, manually copying out my folder structure from the current installation. Copying and replacing DOES NOT MERGE THE REAPER FOLDERS but rather deletes my old folder contents.

What a drag?!

How are the rest of you upgrading? I keep my convolution library and of course all my plugs in the Reaper folder, so I don't really want to be manually rebuilding my Reaper folder each time.

The best thing I have come up with so far is to simply replace the Reaper application alone, but that's not the greatest idea for obvious reasons.

Otherwise, loving Reaper on Mac, don't touch Logic and am wowing the guys at work.

Art
artkau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 04:49 AM   #2
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,786
Default

Noob here too, but afaik you can not drop a folder with the same name and have the content merged. OSX will completely replace the old folder with the contents of the new one. This happens in finder too. I fail to see the use of this behaviour, but seems to be how OSX is intended to work...
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 11:41 AM   #3
kerryg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 328
Default Correct.

And honestly, as a 17-year Mac user I never saw this as an important omission up until the day I started working with PC and saw the obvious benefits - and wondered "how have we ever done without this on the Mac?".

As a "second best" suggestion, it's possible there might be some free third-party utilities that will sync folders on the Mac on versiontracker.com; if I get a little free time today I'll see if I can't recommend something that might help.
kerryg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 04:24 PM   #4
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,913
Default

how about this automator action: http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos...ncfolders.html ...
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 04:48 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,435
Default

Suppose we need to make a little installer, eh?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 04:54 PM   #6
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,913
Default

thx in advnce!
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 11:34 PM   #7
zakco
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Default

The lack of merge functionality in the finder is a complete joke. Apple should be ashamed for the obvious omission.

Luckily there's Copydrop.
http://www.filmscouts.com/software/cpdp.html

Great little utility. Very fast with logging.

Enjoy!
zakco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:24 AM   #8
artkau
Human being with feelings
 
artkau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Posts: 271
Default

Justin, I would kill for an installer!

Just give me a street address...

PS, I am recording a HUGE worship event this weekend on 2.51pre through two FireStudios. Punting Reaper everytime someone asks, 'so are you using protools?'

Last edited by artkau; 09-26-2008 at 06:26 AM.
artkau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:33 AM   #9
Tonehenge
Human being with feelings
 
Tonehenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 741
Default

I love it when Reaper gets used for church stuff...just love it!
Tonehenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:47 AM   #10
artkau
Human being with feelings
 
artkau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Posts: 271
Default

Straight up dude, what can I say, if Christians have a sense of quality, then Reaper is the tool of choice I say!
artkau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 08:40 AM   #11
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,913
Default

amen ! .
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 01:23 PM   #12
artkau
Human being with feelings
 
artkau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Posts: 271
Default

I'm not going to fire up an entire new thread for this, is there a reason to be cautious about 2.51pre? I see it's no longer available on lol?
artkau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 04:25 PM   #13
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
mrelwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artkau View Post
I'm not going to fire up an entire new thread for this, is there a reason to be cautious about 2.51pre? I see it's no longer available on lol?
2.51 is already official. Justin outruns everybody.

Reapers born at Landoleet.org and when they have matured enough to leave home, they go to Reaper.fm.
__________________
______Announcing__mrelwood plugins______
.. MacBook Pro 15" Late '13 .. Scarlett 6i6, Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000) .. FCA610 .. EVE: SC207 .. Focal: Alpha 65, CMS 40, Listen Pro ..
mrelwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 09:39 PM   #14
artkau
Human being with feelings
 
artkau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Posts: 271
Default

Yet another reason why I will have absolutely no hesitation in buying my version 3 license.
artkau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 11:11 AM   #15
thebigcheese
Human being with feelings
 
thebigcheese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by semiquaver View Post
how about this automator action: http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos...ncfolders.html ...
I'm still a little mac illiterate... how do automator actions work?
__________________
Nick Glover
www.techniciansdc.com
thebigcheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:38 PM   #16
toots
Human being with feelings
 
toots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 40
Default Double finder window install

In an attempt to keep reaper contained, I just use two finder windows, one with the "Installed" Reaper folder expanded to show the "plugins", "Data" etc.. folders. And the other containing the new version. Then, entering each folder of the "new" Reaper finder window, and grabbing the contents to drag over to the respective folders of the "Installed" finder window.

This way only pertinent files are updated, not the folder being replaced. Not perfect, but only a couple of minutes out of your day.

And as a back-up, I also keep a separate "Reaper Betas" folder with the previous versions themselves in separate folders, as well as folders for my found content, i.e., third party plugins, impulse responses and colour themes.
__________________
"Don't Fear the Reaper!"

:O myspce.../constantpainband
toots is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.